Customer Reviews for

Intern: A Doctor's Initiation

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Great Book

    It was a very easy read. My husband is going through residency and it gave me great insight as to what he has to deal with in the hospital. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has a loved one in the medical field as well as the new interns (they can learn a lot from Dr. Jauhar's scenarios).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pity Party

    Life is too short to waste time reading this book....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This is an excellent book. I am a prospective medical student who works in an emergency department and have witnessed many situations that Dr. Jauhar went through. After reading this book, I can't wait to experience the medical field.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    Vindictive

    Dr. Jauhar has heard it before and he still doesn't have a clue. In his book Intern, he used 'the power of the pen', to retaliate against those who most likely, unknowingly, made him feel insecure. It is obvious to the reader that he never felt 'good enough' to be there. The character known as 'Dr. David Klein' (not his real name) was one of the most beloved physicians at NYH - anything but an elitist. Most of his patients were of the low-middle class socioeconomic status. He was kind to everyone, patients and staff alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    Eye opening reading for a nono-physician

    I am an MBA who has very limited contact with physicians except for my yearly checkup. However, I have always been fascinated by the medical profession and especially how doctors 'survive' the training. This book was truly amazing because it allowed a non-physician to understand, appreciate and become a part of the training process. Kudos to the author. A great book for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Baffled by the praise...

    I really don't understand the string of five-star reviews that this book received. The writing, for instance, is very poor, and the book reads like a rather dull episode of 'Grey's Anatomy' which it seems fairly clear the author is trying to imitate. The narrative skips around frequently, not for purposes of clarity but instead, seemingly, to make it impossible to follow the story chronologically, and the other characters are completely flat and one-dimensional, coming across as nothing more than a series of bland facial descriptions. Worst of all, however, is the narrator himself. I found his constant apathy towards his chosen profession wearying, rather than inspiring, and he seemed to have very little empathy for his patients, as he kept finding convoluted ways to compare his uncertainty to their pain or grief- in places it became nauseating. Perhaps, as a literary scholar and not an aspiring med student I am simply not the target audience for this memoir, but I took nothing away from this other than a mild feeling of annoyance and the knowledge that if I had ever been treated by an intern as inept as the author, I probably would have sued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    Dr. Jauhar captures not only the essence of the medical internship year, but bravely and boldly shares his inner conflicts with career choice, patient care dilemmas, the injustices of the medical care system, and some of the inhumanity of the training environment. After more than 30 years as an educator of medical interns and residents, I found Sandeep's book to be a veritable 'tour de force'...bringing a fresh, insightful perspective to this topic. This is 'must' reading for every medical student, all residents and training, the general public with an interest in the field, and also for those of us deeply involved in careers in post-graduate medical education

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    I picked up this book with some trepidation. Another doctor book!! However, I could not put it down. It describes in vivid, honest detail the struggles of a 1st generation immigrant from India who has to deal with the family pressures of pursuing a career in medicine with his own intellectual concerns about medicine. Jauhar writes in beautiful prose and is able to put to words that most physicians actually feel and went through during their internship. It is a great read and must reading for physicians, want- to-be physicians, college students considering a medical career, and the general public who are interested in the struggles of a physician and the inner workings of a medical system that is more concerned with throughput than academic curiosity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    A Must Read!

    Dr. Jauhar tells his story of 'coming up' as a newly ordained man of medicine. Not only does he offer a great deal of insight to the non-medical reader what these young physicians go through after they are able to call themselves Doctor, he paints the picture of the struggles that young people go through as they emerge into their careers. This is a must read for any aspiring or currently training physician. In addition new college graduates in any field should read this story of the struggles that one must go through when they come down from the academic ¿ivory towers¿ and emerge into the real world. Dr. Jauhar tackles the ethical, professional and personal dilemmas of not only becoming a physician but becoming a balanced human being, advice which young people could certainly use in these ever confusing times in our society. A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2007

    Brilliant and touching

    This book is a brilliant, honest and touching memoir of one man's journey through his medical internship at New York Hospital. I could not put it down. I had no idea how grueling the process was. He has shared intimate details of his daily life on the wards, the stresses as well as the rewards. It will surely become a classic in its field. I also recommend it as one of the best books I have ever read. This book deserves as many stars as there are in the sky. DWD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1