Customer Reviews for

Internationalization with Visual Basic

Average Rating 3.5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    Very poorly written

    I am very dissappointed and do not recommend this book; very poorly written and organized. Also, the VB code does not work on our platforms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2000

    A vademecum for the i18Ner

    Remember the fable about 7 visually challenged fellows and an elephant? Now, I have done projects which were originally conceptualized to be 'localizable' or even, to use Mr Kaplan's word, 'multi-nationalized' (i.e., one self-adapting distributable), and so I knew this beast of i18N (internationalization: i + 18 letters + N) was like a wall _and_ like a firehose _and_ like a tree, but a week ago I sure didn't know it was _also_ like a rope and like a fan etc . . . (In fact, I would have snickered at the fool who said 'fan'!) Having read this book, I finally have an idea of what this elephant is really like, and with that knowledge comes a sense of power that it can be tamed. Everybody in the business seems to know something about internationalizing software, but this book brings it all together between two covers: what we know, what we thought we knew (and were wrong about!), and probably quite a bit of what we never thought about at all. For instance, I knew a bit about Unicode, but I had not heard about the new 'surrogate range' designed to break the 64k-character barrier. I knew that different languages sort their alphabets differently, but I did not realize there are cases where the same language has 2 different sort orders (user-option). I have been impressed that Windows is capable of working with various calendars and adding/subtracting dates correctly in any of them, but I certainly didn't know that there is a case where even Windows throws up its hands and lets the user correct it! But that's the arcana, or the envelope that Mr Kaplan touches, and I cite these curiosities only to indicate that this book is extremely well researched. There is plenty of substance within the envelope: code pages, fonts, character sets, date/time and numerical formats, resource files, the distinction between translation and localization (L10N, of course), LCIDs, Uniscribe, BiDi languages, good and bad UI design, common 'sub-optimal' decisions (i.e., mistakes), and much more. Frankly, just the charts and tables (in the book and on the CD) are worth the price to me. Finally, despite the title of the book, I must believe it will more than pay for itself no matter what language an application is being developed in. Perhaps a third of the book deals with VB-specific issues, but the greater part is concerned generally with Windows OS products (especially Win2K) and the relevant API, and, as I attempted to illustrate earlier, a large part of its value is in just giving shape to the questions and issues i18N involves. So, if your organization has ever wondered if its software product might not be so well-designed and so deftly implemented that it _transcends_ nationality and even culture - and show me the organization that doesn't meet this criterion! - then this book belongs in the organizational library. On second thought, a personal copy belongs on the desk of each of the managers and developers who are going to do the work to prove this concept - heck, with the information and guidance provided by Mr Kaplan, you may even find out that it's true!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    The definitive international work, finally!

    I have been developing with Basic since VB 3.0 was released. One complaint I always had was that it simply did not support anything international. Sure, they added a few functions with each release and StrConv could do some nice tricks, but you were on your own if you wanted to do anything complicated. MSDN would include documentation that was great for C++ developers, but the people in VB had to suffer. <p>Now, Michael has produced a text that has the same power as Nadine Kano's book on International C++ development, only in VB. It discusses all the concepts you need to understand. in plain english. Then it takes you through important international issues: <p> *Formats for numbers, dates, and currency values <br>*Calendars <br>*Fonts on VB forms <br>*Calling Unicode APIs <br>*Localization <br>*Jet 4.0 <br>*SQL Server 2000 <p>He takes you through Unicode and the confusion of multiple code pages. He is the only person who has ever documented using MLang and Uniscribe; Microsoft support claims you cannot do it! He even dabbles in VBScript and its SetLocale function. The book includes important issues on content and how to make sure it will be acceptable in other countries. Perhaps most importantly, he includes information on testing international applications I have not seen in any book, ever. Most VB books do not even mention testing at all. The woman he credits with helping him with the chapter on testing gets my thanks, too! <p>Best of all, he provides the international keyboard layouts! Just like Nadine's book, only he has a lot more of them. I guess that is the advantage of a book that is released later? <p>I have seen Michael actively answering questions in the newsgroups. He fulfills an important need for people who have questions on international issues. It is obvious that there is no one who has the same breadth of knowledge as he does. To quote Microsoft's Chris Pratley from his foreword: 'If you do globalization work, you'll find just a single page of this book worth the price.' <p>I am a bit confused about the negative reviews he has gotten. I definitely think the claims that it is all in MSDN are completely untrue, since none of what he discusses is covered there. The guy who works in support will have to talk to the people who work for him -- you know, the ones who told me that you could not call Uniscribe from VB? <p>This book is the definitive work on making VB an international product. By the end of the book, I felt like I could take over the world with a VB app or something. It was quite simply that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    Lots of good information on localization

    <p>The key thing our company needed was the ability to translate all our UI to other languages, but we really had no idea where to go (and the samples in the product were pretty lousy). But this book actually took us through how to design an application that will be presented in other languages, which the author calls 'LOCALIZATION'. I am really digging into the code samples now and how to integrate a localization plan into our applications. <p>I do not actually focus on a lot of the core functionality, but I showed the sections on internationalization and databases to the people who have to manage those parts of the project and they both tried to steal my copy of the book. They finally gave up and decided to go buy their own - I think I should have gotten a royalty for the extra sales I generated. <p>I am not sure about some of the negative reviews I see, they do not really include very much detail on what they found wrong with the book. I do notice that the author seems to ramble sometimes, but I think that is just because he really seems to genuinely enjoy the 'global' arena so much. His rambling seems very much on topic to me. <p>One of my co-workers saw him at the Informant conference in Phoenix and said he clearly knew his stuff when it came to Access, and I think its pretty clear after reading the book that he knows about VB as well. From what I see this is a 'must have' if you are doing anything that needs to cross the borders in Visual Basic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2000

    Visual Basic goes global (with Michael's help!)

    This book is the one that makes it happen. I was at the PDC where they talked about VB7 and they were not saying much about what the features would be next version - only two talks that even mentioned it - and they did not say anything about the features in VB6. <p>But this book made it possible to make the jump with our product today. I especially found all of the information on 'multinationalization' useful since that is the very type of application that I need to put together (one that supports many languages). The book pointed us to several Unicode controls that could be used for this, and took me through all the font and other issues that must be taken care of for the controls to work. <p>Michael's talk on databases was also really useful, especially all of the information about SQL Server 2000's COLLATE keyword. I was able to convince the company I work for to move from SQL Server 7.0 with this information and how it could be used. He is obviously also a big fan of Jet 4.0, but he is very clear on its limitations (though the fact that he can run his site on it is very impressive). <p>The one thing that I was disappointed as that there was not as big of a discussion about XML encoding as I would have liked, I think that would have been something to include, especially with all of the ocus on XML (he talks about it briefly but does not go into a lot of detail). <p>Overall, a wonderful effort, and I am really glad Michael wrote the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2000

    A good book overall

    I'm a little surprised at the negative comments. This book compiles a lot of useful information and many examples that anyone can use to build enabled VB applications. Internationalization and localization are not easy topics and I suppose some sections of the book may be oriented to an audience who has already a basic understanding of those subjects. But I certainly didn't find anything that could justify harsh criticisms, especially when there are so few books on the topic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    Catchy Subject, Poor Presentation

    I expected a bit more. It suffers from the lack of good, solid editing. He rambles over some points and glosses over others. I can only recommend it to people who already have a slightly better than basic understanding of the material. This isn't a book a novice or hobbyists could learn from without a great deal of effort. For them I would suggest waiting until someone else tackles the topic and does so a little more clearly and a lot more concisely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1