Customer Reviews for

Interpreter of Maladies

Average Rating 4
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A guaranteed source of joy, even for thos of us who aren't fans of short stories!

I picked up Interpreter of Maladies after having fallen in love with Lahiri's writing style in The Namesake . I normally am not a fan of the short story, as it usually lacks the depth that comes with getting to know characters over the course of a longer novel. However,...
I picked up Interpreter of Maladies after having fallen in love with Lahiri's writing style in The Namesake . I normally am not a fan of the short story, as it usually lacks the depth that comes with getting to know characters over the course of a longer novel. However, I must say Lahiri manages to capture her readers' feelings and captivates their senses through her short stories in very much the same way she does in The Namesake. Her short stories may give those of us who aren't fans of this style of writing a new appreciation of the art that of luring & engaging readers over the course of only a few pages. This marvelous collection of short stories makes you forget this is Lahiri's very first work!

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Want an interesting book to read, then dont read this!

Do you get fustrated when trying to figure something out, and just feel like giving up? Then this book isn't for you!Jhumpa Lahiri's Interpreter of Maladies is an extremely confusing, complicated, and contemptible series of stories, as it contains unfamiliar settings, m...
Do you get fustrated when trying to figure something out, and just feel like giving up? Then this book isn't for you!Jhumpa Lahiri's Interpreter of Maladies is an extremely confusing, complicated, and contemptible series of stories, as it contains unfamiliar settings, miscellaneous characters, a displeasing plot, and because the novel was so poorly written it was impossible to make connections throughout the book. Interpreter of Maladies is not a fun book to read.

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    like melting chocolate

    She captures one's imagination with her vivid details and plots. Each word is like melting chocolate- with each passage creating a more rich tale than one can imagine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    just beautiful !

    A beautiful, charming book, definitely worth every award it has recieved, and every cent spend. Deeply recomended to teens and adults alike. As i'm an asian, (though not indian) i am familiar with few tradituons and events, but this gives you a deeper insight into the beautiful Indian life....everywhere!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    Simple yet profound

    I do believe that Lahiri is one of my favorite writers. She makes it all seem so simple- the beauty that her words convey is just breathtaking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    Clean, fluid, and very human storytelling

    With her unique gift of perception, Jhumpa Lahiri has captured the human condition from various angles. Even in the most familiar settings and circumstances, a tactile sense of conflict exists within each character. Her writing is clean and precise, but with a rhythm so natural it breathes emotion and atmosphere while the reader forgets they are reading. A very human storyteller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    READ THIS

    INTERPRETER OF MALADIES is a stunningly simple, eloquent, and humane collection of stories. Each one is unique, and ends somewhat openly, allowing for the story to continue as it would in real life. Lahiri's attention to detail and her eye for minute intricacies are phenomenal and enchanting. Cheers to Lahiri!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    The Best Collection of Short Stories

    This is one of those books that no matter how many times you reread any of the stories in the novel you get something more out of it than you did before. I have lost track of how many times I have picked up this book and just reread one of the stories in the novel. The first story in the book reminds me of one of O Henry's stories. There is no doubt that this novel should have won the Pulitzer Prize.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2002

    An Instant Classic

    This collection of short stories is possibly the best literary work of the 1990s. The plots are thickly planned, the characters come alive, and Lahiri's prose is beautifully flowing. Simply phenomenal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2002

    Beautiful and Unique

    I read it because it won a Pulitzer. I loved it because the award was deserved. I was drawn into the beauty and hardship of Indian people far from home. Each character's life was very interesting. The novel portrayed elements of life that are common to people regardless of culture - and serves to bind all of humanity together. Plus, the writing was phenomenal. The book offers a glimpse of a different culture from nine different perspectives. Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2001

    A talented writer

    I bought and read this book while travelling around India. I was delightled when I reached Calcutta ; after one and half month on the road, I could at least see this city she had so much written about. The prose is brilliant and Jhumpa Lahiri possess a huge vocabulary. Once again, a Bengali writer assert herself as master of the English literature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    one of the best books I've read in my life

    Poignant ,sesitive beautifully written , this young woman is a wonderful story teller I read the book in one sitting the stories are beautifully crafted wonderful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    Indian 'Ranee' Writes of Characters Co-existing in Two Cultures

    Ms. Lahiri, a thirty-something Bengali with a Ph.D. in Renaissance Studies has written in her first collection of nine short stories tales of countrymen and women who experience simultaneous lives in two cultures. In America or India the characters are animated with incredible craftmanship, and the settings are brought to life through familiar smells, colours and nuances. Ms. Lahiri's ability to empathize with and bring life to her stories is quite extraordinary; her talent lies in her ability to literally bring the reader inside the story to experience and feel the moment as if it was evolving in front of us. For these reasons and many more, Ms. Lahiri won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, the O. Henry Award and the Pen/Hemingway Award in her first published work. It's a MUST READ that you will want to share with an intimate friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2001

    Is it really the pain that you feel or the guilt ?

    A few months ago, on one fine day I went to B&N. It was Saturday and I was expecting to spend the whole afternoon there. I grabbed that book since I had heard about it from my cousin. I sat at the cafe, got some coffee and read first two stories. I thought let's get some more coffee and finish couple more. Then it was the title story. I read it and when I left the store I had finished the book and I bought it. I couldn't put it down after the third story. I still remember the question that Mr. Kapasi asked Mrs. Das to 'interpret her maladies.' -Is it really the pain that you feel or the guilt ? I was oblivious after I read this ...I was, at that time Mr. Kapasi ...trying to interpret her maladies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2001

    One of the best books I've read in a long time

    I'm not someone who sits in coffee shops and reads. actually, I went into Barnes and Nobles to pick up Car and Driver, and I saw it in the front of the store, with a big sign next to it reading, 'Pulitzer Prize', and then noticing the author's name is indian, it captured my attention....I mean literally, I found myself actually annoyed at the fact that I had to stop reading. I would wait until I knew I had a ample amount of time, where I wouldn't have to put the book down...I thought I was a good story teller, until I read her writing, you actually find yourself sitting in one of her stories, and watching them unfold...Her stories are simple but the feelings and ideas are so elaborate, you end up sitting there and smiling or crying....from England to Boston to India...an incredible piece of work...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2001

    One of the best books I have read in a while

    I just read this book, and even though I know that this book has been out for some time, and has already garnered impressive kudos, I just had to add my own thoughts. I really loved this book, it was beautiful, thoughtful and moving. I can't wait for Jhumpa Lahiri's next book. She is definately one of my new favorite writers. I recommed this book to everyone who likes books that affect them both intellectually and emotionally.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    Unbelievable!!

    go buy this book now. One of the most well-crafted books I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    Could not put it down 'til 'twas done!

    A beautiful collection of short stories, Interpreter of Maladies is definitely 'the' book you'd want to read if you're craving for light yet insightful reading. The various stories give a very accurate picture of the myriad flavors of NRI life (which I as an NRI have experienced over the years, and continue to see around me). One is able to picture every narrative Lahiri goes through in the book. A must read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2001

    No Single Thread of a Tapestry...

    .... can prepare you for the beauty of the whole. This collection weaves the co-mingling of cultures and leads the reader regardless of birthplace to that place of identity. At one point Ms. Lahiri's voice startlingly transcends her fictional encasements. Devoid of uncomfortable disruptions and as satisfing as a novel, these stories will stick to your ribs when you forget you even have ribs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    Beautiful

    A wonderful book of beautifully written short stories by an unknown writer. These stories will stay with you a long time. Some moved me to tears, some I completely I identified with,some I had to search for the meaning of. I'm so glad it won the Pulitzer Prize, I might not have discovered it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2000

    Refreshing reading!

    I enjoyed reading the book mainly because of the clear, simple style of writing employed by Ms. Lahiri. 'A temporary matter' has a beautiful theme which every married couple around the world will be able to relate to. I also sent the story (available on this site) to a friend, by e-mail. My next favourite is 'The Third and Final Continent' which makes the reader also reminisce on the narrator's past. On the whole, a refreshing book, handling sensitive themes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2000

    Experience the New World

    'Interpreter of Maladies' has its unique way of unfolding a fascinating Indian culture and weaving the two worlds--east and west--together. The settings and the cultures might seem foreign to a large number of readers, yet the principal ideas captured in each story are familiar and universal. An extraordinary book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9