Customer Reviews for

Interred with Their Bones

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

On Par with the DaVinci Code

If you enjoyed the DaVinci Code, you'll love Interred. It has the same exciting pace and historical attention to detail. I'm not a Shakespeare buff but enjoyed learning about the history and mysteries that abound around this famous writer. This would make a great movie....
If you enjoyed the DaVinci Code, you'll love Interred. It has the same exciting pace and historical attention to detail. I'm not a Shakespeare buff but enjoyed learning about the history and mysteries that abound around this famous writer. This would make a great movie.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I was looking forward to this novel. Ever since Byatt's Possession, I've been looking for the next great literary mystery. This, however, was not it. The writing is uneven, and the plot is ridiculous in that the characters behave in ways that don't make sense and don...
I was looking forward to this novel. Ever since Byatt's Possession, I've been looking for the next great literary mystery. This, however, was not it. The writing is uneven, and the plot is ridiculous in that the characters behave in ways that don't make sense and don't seem to fit with how they are characterized elsewhere. Specifically, I find it absurd that Kate Stanley would pursue this the way she does. Moreover, Carrell draws on 'occult Shakespeare' in a way that is ludicrous--I nearly fell of my chair with laughter when the whole Psalm 46 theory was actually brought up and treated with some seriousness by Kate and the others. As an academic, I find this treatment of academics to be completely unrealistic. This novel smacks of conspiracy theory in a way that only Dan Brown comes close to, and no, I didn't think much of The Da Vinci Code either. I'm all for fantasy, but this kind of pseudo-historical fiction just doesn't work in many cases, especially not when as ill-thought-out and poorly written as Carrell's work.

posted by Anonymous on February 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Outstanding

    I personally enjoyed this book very much. While the first couple pages were slow, the storyline picked up fast and kept me intrigued throughout the whole novel. I found myself gasping out loud several times with the plot twists near the end of the story--overall, I would recommend this book to anybody.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    On Par with the DaVinci Code

    If you enjoyed the DaVinci Code, you'll love Interred. It has the same exciting pace and historical attention to detail. I'm not a Shakespeare buff but enjoyed learning about the history and mysteries that abound around this famous writer. This would make a great movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Intelligent and fun writing

    Readers who enjoy Katherine Neville's The Eight and other similar works will love this series. Meticulously researched, but the research never overshadows the fast-moving plot as we learn more about Shakespeare's life, works and historical speculation about that work. There is a second, interwoven story set in Shakespeare's time that helps frame the contemporary story. A page-turner, with many twists and improbable-yet-fun mysterious benefactors and old friends popping up at just the right time. Followed by an equally good sequel, Haunt Me Still.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Loved it

    I dont like shakespeare. But this book has given his works new life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This book kept me guessing right up to the end...unpredictable,and curiously intriguing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Shakespearian Treasure Hunt

    Shakespeare's lost plays? Do they exist? And wouldn't it be astounding to find one of them hidden in an out-of-the-way place or in an old chest? To paraphrase the Bard, "the play's the thing~~~"; that's the core of this fantastic mystery novel. And it is superb ~~ a treat for the mind, philosopical or otherwise. Ms Carrell's style is immensely readable, her research superb, her knowledge of all things Shakespeare equally superb. And, in the grand British tradition of who-dunnits, nothing is given away until the end & the reader is left only with clues to solve the puzzle. A grand tale told the old-fashioned way by a superb writer & a must for anyone's library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Fast paced and exciting

    The plot moves quickly and really sucks you in. It is great for lovers of historical (with liberties) mysteries and Shakespeare enthusiasts alike. Although it explores unconfirmed theories about Shakespeare and who he was (or wasn't), it was a thrilling ride and a must read! I loved it and I am looking forward to reading her next novel. I just received it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent first novel by Jennifer Lee Carrell

    I was never a Shakespeare fan and was not sure how I would receive the book, however, the plot was engaging and captivating. It also entwined many facts about Shakespeare, the time and the cities it was set in. Carrell hedges plausible theories of the identity of Shakespeare in a dramatic twist. Her characters share different opinions of his life and identity, although, the reader is left to choose for themselves. The plots and twists are definitely worthy of The DaVinci Code incorporated with impeccable research! As soon as I was done with the book, I carted out 4 Shakespeare texts from college with a whole new perspective and focus!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Intriguing, well-developed thrilling plot, hard to put down

    I hope this is just the beginning for Jennifer Lee Carrell! What an outstanding first novel, in my opinion, the story is very interesting and the characters are easy to empathize with. The concept of the mystery surrounding Shakespeare and the many theories over the years regarding the possibility of another writer or group of writers being responsible for his plays is intriguing. She does a brilliant job of helping the reader visualize the story. Such a thrilling adventure it was the first book I've read that quickly in a while, as I just couldn't tear myself away from the excitement... every page led to another mysterious situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent mystery

    In 2004 at London¿s renovated Globe Theater Katharine Stanley directs a production of Hamlet. Attending is her friend Harvard Shakespearean Professor Rosalind Howard who gives Katharine a small gold-wrapped box before the production.--------------- That same evening, a fire breaks out at the Globe soon after it is put out, Roz is found dead in the same way that Hamlet¿s father was killed. Kate is stunned by her friend¿s death and the fire, but is over the edge with the gift, a Victorian mourning brooch decorated with flowers mindful of Ophelia. Needing to know the truth, Kate investigates traveling on a trek across the Atlantic in which a killer accompanies her murdering potential witnesses and attempting to add Kate to the list.-------------------------- INTERRED WITH BONES is one of the best thrillers of the year as the plausible twists keep coming. Kate is terrific as the prime character struggling with her friend¿s death and the eerie related symbolism to Shakespeare that makes her feel her life has turned into a tragedy with no third act comic relief. As she travels across the pond to Arizona and more, Kate begins to learn what the Holy Grail is: a lost Shakespearean play. Readers will enjoy this entertaining amateur sleuth in which the Bard¿s legacy is proving deadly.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1