Customer Reviews for

The Interruption of Everything

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2007

    Awesome book

    I could totally relate to Marilyn Grimes. I am a 56 year old women who has experiance many of the same things that she did, with the same ending results. When I finished the book, I missed her very much. It was like having to say good bye to a dear friend. This author has never let me down!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    Ms. McMillan did not disappoint!

    Empty nest syndrome, midlife crises, the "change", family issues, loneliness, and just plain boredom creep into all of our lives at one point in time or another, but it seems that the forties are riddled with these issues. Marilyn Grimes is no different from any other woman in her forties and as we get a peak into the issues of her life, we learn that those of us who are facing the same issues are not alone. Terry McMillan creates real characters and places them in real-life situations, making the reader feel like a fly on the wall as the events of their lives unfold. I absolutely loved this page-turner. Ms. McMillan has proven that her talent just gets better with time! This book reminds me why she's my literary idol!

    Adrienne Thompson - Author of Bluesday

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Really good and so worth reading

    I absolutely love Terry McMillan, the only "problem" with her work is that her characters make you take a look at your own life and see issues that need work and changes that you should consider. Thats not really a problem though, is it? A very good book...not to be missed. Enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    she does it again

    as expected

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    In True Terry Form!

    Thought Provoking, Riveting, Introspective, Light and Witty, I loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    Enjoyable Read

    I am a McMillan fan and though I wouldn't rate this as one of my favorite McMillan books, I still think it was a really good novel. I enjoyed the detail & enjoyed Maryiln. I like the fact that it wasn't typical and I didn't know where the story was going, necessarily. I like the pace, though not as dramatic as one might want it still had a nice arc. The only thing, I kinda wished the family were more involved with Maryiln's tapestry, but I understand the difficulity in doing that. All in all, I think it's a great book to pick up and read at your lesisure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    It's a great read, as usual.

    It's a great read, as usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    As Feisty as Ever.

    The plot, although very detailed, is interesting and fast moving. There are several sub-plots all held nicely together. My favourite was the one with Marilyn and her sister Joy, which became quite a tear jerker. As usual the author is full of humour and great with descriptions. At times the story was philosophical and spiritual and yet at other times it was rough and base.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Not one of her best

    I've read most of Ms. McMillan's books and after getting used to her prose, just flew through them. This one felt like I was climbing up a mountain. The ending was not satisfying at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    horrible, horrible, horrible...

    i expected so much from this book being that mcmillan is a well known author and i was recommended this novel by a school teacher... the plot was good but she could've done way more with the story line like allow marilyn to have an affair with her ex teach her immature no good husband a lesson... marilyn had a very boring life and i hope when i reach her age i've accomplished more and am satisfied with my life more than anything... it took me a month to finish this as simple as it was and when i was done it left a sour taste in mouth for ever reading any of her novels again... seems like she lost her touch... this better not ever end up in the movies...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2006

    Disappointed, disgruntled, and dissatisfied

    What do you get when you take some psycho-babble, add a thousand clichés, and 11 doses of unbelievable (even for a work of fiction) character dialogue? I don¿t know what you get, but all I got was the INTERRUPTION of my streak of reading good books. This was horrid. How does an author like Terry McMillan `evolve¿ to this story? She doesn¿t. I cannot believe Terry McMillan wrote this book¿.her sister Roslyn maybe, but not Terry. It¿s hard to find words to describe how absolutely horrible I thought this novel was. There was no character growth, and there was too much incongruency in character development. And you would think that, as a 40-year-old woman, I would have some sympathy for Marilyn. NOT!!! Couldn¿t stand her. And what crackhead (Joy) do you know sits still long enough to watch a documentary? AND writes out a will? Come on!!! And to top it all off, how do you misspell MOREHOUSE?!?!?!? If this novel is indicative of things to come, I can guarantee that this will be the last Terry McMillan book I ever purchase or read. In the immortal words of Charlie Brown...AAARRRRGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    I THINK

    I THINK THIS BOOK IS VERY IMPORTANT TO READ BECAUSE CERTAIN PEOPLE HAVE MANY DREAMS AND FANTASIES THAT THEY WANT TO COME TRUE, BUT NEVER TOOK TH TIME TO UNDERSTAND WHAT MIGHT COULD HAVE HAPPENED TO SOMEONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    The world has changed... Can we change with it?

    This story was flat & it became too much of the same old story line ... woman bored with life & husband troubles. C'mon where's the creativity? I was expecting something with a little substance, perhaps some mystery, or just some food-for-thought, that would provide me with a lesson in life. I thought this book would keep me reading & wanting more. We've all read these type of stories and it's quite boring when you know the ending before you get there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    Waiting for the Excitment

    Because I enjoy reading and always hopeful for a climax in a book I continued reading 'Interruption of Everything'. Personally, it took too long to get to the point. As soon as I spotted some excitment (Marilyn getting pregnant) I was again stuck in this tunnel of boredom. All in all it was a good read if you are patient. The storyline turned out to be a decent one, but just not outstanding.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    Boring and Sedate

    There was no rising action or climactic moments in this book. It was so sedate and conversational that I was thoroughly bored. I did finish it because I felt that something extraordinary would happen, however, nothing ever did. This book droned on and on. The conversations were so boring, the characters are boring. The best storyline was with Arthurine and Prezelle, and they are senior citizens. Also, Joy would've made an awesome main character. I don't get the title. I don't see 'what' interrupted 'everything'. There was nothing to interrupt. Sorry, Terri. This one really reeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Couldn't put it down!

    I loved this book because it is so 'real-life', with a wonderful, witty sense of bittersweet humor. Any woman over 35 or 40 will be able to relate to the main character, Marilyn, and the issues she faces in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    I was not impressed

    The most thrilling part of this book was knowing I didn't purchase it! Page after page of dribble is the best I can explain. I was so determined to finish in hopes that at some point things would errupt, explode, peak or climax, but nothing. I think I've read my last TerryMac for quite sometime. Sorry 'T,' this was not the one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2005

    True to life

    As a loyal fan and fellow writer, I understand the emotions of these characters. Terry has been a role model for me and I'm sure thousands of others. Terry Mcmillian is phenominal and courageous. Love her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    This one didn't hit the spot.

    Terri is one of my favorite authors and I have read each and every one of her novels. However, this one didn't do it for me. I was hoping it would improve as I went along but it just didn't. However, I will always be one of her faithful supporter so I am waiting for her next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    Sister to Sister Book Club

    The book club thought the book was interesting,easy to read and relate too. We did not enjoy it as much as her other books. There were tons of issues/topics to discuss and the book club discussed each one, i.e. midlife crisis, menopause, in-laws and marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4