Customer Reviews for

Intertwined (Intertwined Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 356 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

Aden Stone is a sixteen-year-old boy with four souls living inside his body.

One can time travel, one can raise the dead, one can tell the future, and one can possess another human being.

He has spent most of his life in and out of institutions, never really makin...
Aden Stone is a sixteen-year-old boy with four souls living inside his body.

One can time travel, one can raise the dead, one can tell the future, and one can possess another human being.

He has spent most of his life in and out of institutions, never really making friends. He doesn't like having the souls sharing his body. A lot of problems have been caused due to Aden not being able to control the powers that the souls have.

Aden soon gets sent to a ranch for troubled boys, and his first week there he meets a girl, Mary Ann. Mary Ann is the exact opposite of Aden. She has friends and he spends most of his time alone. Being around Mary Ann quiets the voices.

They form a bond of friendship that neither really understands. She meets a werewolf shape-shifter and he meets a vampire princess. Two forbidden romances begin amidst the dangerous lives that the friends have found.

INTERTWINED contains beautifully written characters that keep you entranced from page one. I simply could not put this book down until the very end. Gena Showalter's characters are an engaging and exciting group that, when woven together, form a beautiful tapestry that adults and teens alike will enjoy.

If this is just the beginning of Harlequin's new teen line, then we the readers will definitely not be disappointed. We have much to look forward to!

posted by TeensReadToo on May 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not a book I would recommend

I read the synopsis of Intertwined and expected to love it...I was wrong. The plot had the potential to be fascinating however it wasn't. Nothing seemed to really happen. There was this "WOW" moment between Aden and Mary Ann that made you wander what would happen. But i...
I read the synopsis of Intertwined and expected to love it...I was wrong. The plot had the potential to be fascinating however it wasn't. Nothing seemed to really happen. There was this "WOW" moment between Aden and Mary Ann that made you wander what would happen. But in the end it (as well as the whole book) seemed pretty much anti-climatic. The bright spot of the book is Aden who is a great character. I felt so empathetic towards him and his situation. I didn't quite understand the reasoning behind Mary Ann's decision concerning Penny. It didn't seem realistic to me. Without giving anything away, the relationships seem to lack depth. Ok, so I understand that Aden had a vision of The Girl but still it doesn't make his and her feelings towards the other believable. There seemed to be no basis except the vision (and perhaps the final acceptance from another being?). All in all, I would encourage you to bypass this one unless you have absolutely NOTHING else to read.

posted by 1762549 on November 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

    Aden Stone is a sixteen-year-old boy with four souls living inside his body.

    One can time travel, one can raise the dead, one can tell the future, and one can possess another human being.

    He has spent most of his life in and out of institutions, never really making friends. He doesn't like having the souls sharing his body. A lot of problems have been caused due to Aden not being able to control the powers that the souls have.

    Aden soon gets sent to a ranch for troubled boys, and his first week there he meets a girl, Mary Ann. Mary Ann is the exact opposite of Aden. She has friends and he spends most of his time alone. Being around Mary Ann quiets the voices.

    They form a bond of friendship that neither really understands. She meets a werewolf shape-shifter and he meets a vampire princess. Two forbidden romances begin amidst the dangerous lives that the friends have found.

    INTERTWINED contains beautifully written characters that keep you entranced from page one. I simply could not put this book down until the very end. Gena Showalter's characters are an engaging and exciting group that, when woven together, form a beautiful tapestry that adults and teens alike will enjoy.

    If this is just the beginning of Harlequin's new teen line, then we the readers will definitely not be disappointed. We have much to look forward to!

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    OMG!

    okay, first off, this book was amazing! i got it at the store not really for sure if i would like it or not...i came home and started reading...i could NOT put it down!!! and when i first picked it up, i thought it would be another predictable romance like Twilight and all the other remake vampire books...but the relationships were different than you'd think and way better than the books where you KNOW they're gonna get together! i cannot wait until the second book comes out! I would TOTALLY reccomend this book! it has a mixture of vampires, werewolves, and ghosts all at the same time that makes the plot full of twists and turns that will leave you hooked and begging for the sequel!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Clever & Charming New Young Adult Paranormal Series!

    Move over Harry Potter there's a new kid in town, Aden Stone in INTERTWINED (Harlequin Teen/Sept. 2009), penned from the fertile imagination of super talented New York Times bestselling author, Gena Showalter, which should be a big hit with young as well as adult paranormal fans! In present day Crossroads, Oklahoma, Aiden Stone is one unusual 16-year-old as he battles the waking dead in the local cemetery. If that's not bad enough, he has four souls trapped inside his head, and their chatter is driving him crazy. Which is exactly what he's been labeled all his life, having been diagnosed with schizophrenia from a very young age. His parents didn't know how to handle him and gave him up at age three; he's lived in mental institutions until recently, and he now resides at the D and M Ranch, a halfway house for "wayward" teens. All Aden wants is a normal life. Instead, he has those souls: Eve, a mother-figure who can time travel; Julian, who can raise the dead; Elijah, who can foretell the future and has even predicted Aden's death; and Caleb, who can possess another human. While they are battling the graveyard demons, a pretty brunette girl walks by and all four souls quiet. When the girl rounds the corner, the noise starts up again. Aden becomes desperate to know how - and why -- this particular girl aids him, but only when she's nearby. He also wonders if she's the shadowy girl from his dreams. The one Elijah has told him that he will kiss. The one he's half in love with already. Or is that girl the one he meets in the dead of night? One with secrets and abilities of her own? One whose shifter bodyguard follows Mary Ann's every move? Soon, the four teens will find themselves immersed in a world of vampires, demons, werewolves and power-stealing fairies. Aden, Mary Ann, and their two extraordinary friends will have to band together to figure out why the souls inhabit Aden's body - and how to free them. Clever, unique, charming, touching, witty are just some of the superlatives that describe Gena Showalter's amazing young adult paranormal debut, INTERTWINED, which will delight young and adult readers everywhere! It will also have them greatly anticipating Book #2 in the Intertwined Saga, UNRAVELED scheduled for Sept. 2010.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intertwined was amazing! I loved it so much more than I expected!!!!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was refreshing to read a book with two love stories in it (like two for the price of one - lol). I really liked how Gena Showalter "intertwined" the characters in this story. Aden searches for answers to so many questions in this book: Who are the souls inside him? How did they get there? Why is he drawn to Mary Ann? How does she quite the souls? Can he prevent his prophesized death? All of the answers may not be fully explained in this book but you are not left completely hanging like some other series do. I think that most will enjoy this book if they like supernatural themes. I can't wait for Unraveled (book 2 in the series) which is due out Sept 2010.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    InterTWINED

    Intertwined was a fun read but it got kind of tangled(if that make any sense), let me explain,i LOVED Gena's writing style but the storyline had too much going on. I got a little confused here and there. I think this is one of those books that would probably get untangled in the next book.What kept me reading was the World that Gena put me in. Fairies,flesh eating goblins, throw in a couple hot guys. This book was good but it had it's flaws.


    I liked all the characters, even the souls in Aden's head. Aden kept the story interesting. Although the focus shifted off him to Mary Ann. I found the characters well developed in the world of crazyiness.

    As for the two romances,it was kind of rushed, O.k So it goes like this: the first people we meet in this book are Aden and Mary Ann. They meet the other two main characters and BAM crushes have been formed.I understand the soulmate thing but, there has to be a development in the relationships. Call me old fashion but i like the I getting to know you to happen first. So the romances didn't do it for me, but there was a couple of cute moments.I can totally see all of them being together. Just take it a little slower.


    There was alot of action in the book, from the first page.There was alot of biting, stabbing, time traveling, and well kicking some evil butt! lol It was fast paced but at the last 2 chapters the book sort of fast forwarded to a quick ending that left me still looking for the last page. It wasn't a cliffhanger, but it felt well....rushed again. Like o.k BYE! you know?


    A biggest problem I had with the book was that there was a lot of ideas being thrown at the reader,it kind of worked for the story because it keep you on your toes. But at some parts it was a little too much.I would have liked that the author concentrate on Aden and his story.Intertwined is promising, i'll be reading the next book in the series.I know the next book would be better. Plus, i hope it would be, because I LOVE paranormal books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a book I would recommend

    I read the synopsis of Intertwined and expected to love it...I was wrong. The plot had the potential to be fascinating however it wasn't. Nothing seemed to really happen. There was this "WOW" moment between Aden and Mary Ann that made you wander what would happen. But in the end it (as well as the whole book) seemed pretty much anti-climatic. The bright spot of the book is Aden who is a great character. I felt so empathetic towards him and his situation. I didn't quite understand the reasoning behind Mary Ann's decision concerning Penny. It didn't seem realistic to me. Without giving anything away, the relationships seem to lack depth. Ok, so I understand that Aden had a vision of The Girl but still it doesn't make his and her feelings towards the other believable. There seemed to be no basis except the vision (and perhaps the final acceptance from another being?). All in all, I would encourage you to bypass this one unless you have absolutely NOTHING else to read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Too Much Plot

    Gena Showalter's writing and imagination does not fail in this book. *But* there was too much plot. Way too much going on. Aden's story was fascinating, as was Mary Ann's. How their lives intertwined and all the elements that went with it was intriguing and intense and . . . too much. You have the alternating POVs, the different story lines, subplots for each POV, and, on top of the main aspects of the story, you have *their* subplots. Does that make sense? And honestly, I could guess the plot from the very beginning. Way to go for not masking the hints very well. Sometimes NO hints are the best. Could have flat out told me exactly who Eve was the first time Aden sees Mary Ann. Also, I really hate poetic, cryptic sentences that make you scratch your head afterward.

    Yeah. It was just a lot to have in one book. Hope the next is less of a tangled web and more of a flowing story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent new series!!!

    Ever since I first heard about this book, I've been counting down for the release. When I was finally able to get my hands on it after how many long months... I died after I read the last line and deemed the book worthy of the wait! It had everything you could ask for... Supernatural powers, ghost, vampires, werewolves, faeries, witches, goblins, school bullies, action, and of course ROMANCE! What I found most intriguing, were the two romances. Usually in books with romance... we're only focusing on 1 main couple. Here, we got to fall in love with two couples... where neither was underdeveloped and had enough to grow together and you find yourself rooting for the both equally. Our two main characters, Aden & Mary Ann, are very lovable and easy to relate to. They're counterparts, Victoria & Riley are just as equally charming with an extra added air of mystery, which makes their characters that much more enjoyable. Even the 4 souls trapped in Aden's body are lovable! With each soul having their own gift and own quirks... I found that they provided some comedy to the story. With all that being said, the story has easily earned a spot on my top favorites and I'll be dying everyday until Fall 2010 for the release of the follow up... Unraveled!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Twisted start to a new series

    This book starts with a crazy chapter that will immediately pull you to the edge of your seat. We meet troubled teen Aden and learn about the four souls trapped inside him, each with their own unique power, and Mary Ann, the only girl who can silence them. Aden enrolls at Mary Ann's high school, bringing with him non-stop action and adventure. Friends are quickly made, alliances are formed. Layers of the story peel away as Aden and Mary Ann learned just how twisted together their lives are.

    Showalter has created a very complicated world and pulls it off effortlessly. Still, readers have to pay close attention to detail if they want to be able to understand what, why, and how everything is happening. If you are picky about your super-natural beings, have no fear. INTERTWINED has a little bit of everything paranormal- from vampires, werewolves, and undead, to possession, time-travel, and of course, romance. Keep your eyes peeled for a sequel next year!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Do Not Read or Buy.  The Author has decided not to finish this s

    Do Not Read or Buy.  The Author has decided not to finish this series.  She will not be completing book 4.  Do not waste your time or your money on another unfinished story.  The story itself is very well written, with good characters, but unfortunately it will not be completed.  Invest your money and time into a story that will be finished, hopefully by an author that will not abandon the readers that follow them.  I would be wary of buying any additional books by Gena Showalter.  She may choose to abandon another project before the final book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    love this series. i can't put the books down. got in trouble a f

    love this series. i can't put the books down. got in trouble a few times but they're worth it. can't wait til the final book!♥

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    diss appointing Disappointing...

    When i read the synopsis my firdt thought was that it would be different than the redt of the books i had read. Boy was i wrong. The beginning i thought was really good then all the sudden a werwolf and a vampire pop up and i lost intrest. I couldve been a great book but the author decided that everyone lved to read about vampires werwolves fairies goblins an demons all in one book. I was hoping this book would have nothing to do with those thing and i would have never guessed from reading the summary and the first few chapters. After a while it felt like a generic book that was just written to make money and i had a hard time finishing it. The relationships felt forced and the plot was predictble.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Intense and Surprising (Reviewed by TheBookworm)

    Intertwined
    By Gena Showalter
    Pub. Date: September 2009
    4.5 out of 5 stars
    PG-13 Violence
    Recommended

    "Both attracted and repelled, he thought. Were they like magnets? And if so, did that mean she was like him? Or his opposite?"

    Aden has always been the outcast, but never alone. Four drastically different chatty souls reside in his head. They don't know how they got there or why, all they know is that none of them can get out. Left unable to do anything else, the spirits resign themselves to a life were all they do is narrate and criticize everything Aden does. There is never a moments silence in his head, until Mary Ann crosses his path. Whenever she is near, the voices disappear. He doesn't understand how it works, but he does know that if he wants more quiet he needs to spend as much time with Mary Ann as he can. Unbeknownst of them, their meeting caused a power surge that hurt every supernatural creature across the world. None of them are happy about the aching tug Aden created and they are about to let him know that.

    Intertwined immediately drew me in. Not only did I never want to put it down, I also completely lost track of time.

    Every fight was intense, horrible, and quick, taking me faster and faster along. The best of logic was torn apart by unanswerable questions. Romance budded within their midst and blossomed into passionate, loyal love. Intertwined ran from the beaten path of common love triangles and replaced it with unexpected romances, mutual untrusting tolerance, sibling-like caring, and ultimately. friendship. It was very refreshing to have characters who knew what they wanted and weren't afraid to chase after it. even when everything went downhill. The characters' supernatural abilities and nonhuman divisions, were amazingly well-developed. They were authentic and palpable.

    Awkward moments of misunderstanding and touching intimate conversations were perfectly executed in present tense, allowing me, the reader, to feel them first hand. The ending was unexpected, gruesome, and left me wanting more.

    I cannot wait until the next book comes out, and not just because of the cliffhanger last page. I hope it turns out just as intense, unputdownable, and unpredictable as Intertwined was.

    Date Reviewed: June 14th, 2009

    For more book reviews and book information check out my blog at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Book nerd

    Must read. Best book ever and also she is a great author.trust me this book will blow your mind, things u wil never imagin is in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Amazing!

    This book will keep you guessing, an dit is an amazing read! As soon as i was done reading the first chapter, i was hooked. And now i cant wait to read the second!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Good book, but too much like Twilight

    This was a very intricate book that kept me wanting more. I like how there are twists and turns, but there were too many twilight names in this book. I mean, come on! How many times do you hear Victoria the Vampire, Riley the protecter, and Dmitri the vampire warrior in a book? And at first I REALLY WANTED Aden to go with Mary Ann, but then Riley came along, and I wanted RILEY to be with Mary Ann. I am not a fan with Victoria. I just tolerate her. And since Eve was one of my favorite characters, I was pretty sad to see her go. It ruined my perspective on the book. And I hope you readers out there dont make this into another Twilight with sides and everything, because that would make me MAD. Like the Hulk mad. I cant wait for the next book, Unveiled. If you like this, you should read Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter too. Good readings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Great

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Amazinger

    The new, bigger, better version of twilight!!!"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended-you MUST check it out!

    I loved this book! Interesting from the beginning to the end-I couldn't wait to read the next installment : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    8DAri

    Anyone care to be nook buddies?
    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18