Customer Reviews for

Intertwined (Intertwined Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 356 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

Aden Stone is a sixteen-year-old boy with four souls living inside his body.

One can time travel, one can raise the dead, one can tell the future, and one can possess another human being.

He has spent most of his life in and out of institutions, never really makin...
Aden Stone is a sixteen-year-old boy with four souls living inside his body.

One can time travel, one can raise the dead, one can tell the future, and one can possess another human being.

He has spent most of his life in and out of institutions, never really making friends. He doesn't like having the souls sharing his body. A lot of problems have been caused due to Aden not being able to control the powers that the souls have.

Aden soon gets sent to a ranch for troubled boys, and his first week there he meets a girl, Mary Ann. Mary Ann is the exact opposite of Aden. She has friends and he spends most of his time alone. Being around Mary Ann quiets the voices.

They form a bond of friendship that neither really understands. She meets a werewolf shape-shifter and he meets a vampire princess. Two forbidden romances begin amidst the dangerous lives that the friends have found.

INTERTWINED contains beautifully written characters that keep you entranced from page one. I simply could not put this book down until the very end. Gena Showalter's characters are an engaging and exciting group that, when woven together, form a beautiful tapestry that adults and teens alike will enjoy.

If this is just the beginning of Harlequin's new teen line, then we the readers will definitely not be disappointed. We have much to look forward to!

posted by TeensReadToo on May 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not a book I would recommend

I read the synopsis of Intertwined and expected to love it...I was wrong. The plot had the potential to be fascinating however it wasn't. Nothing seemed to really happen. There was this "WOW" moment between Aden and Mary Ann that made you wander what would happen. But i...
I read the synopsis of Intertwined and expected to love it...I was wrong. The plot had the potential to be fascinating however it wasn't. Nothing seemed to really happen. There was this "WOW" moment between Aden and Mary Ann that made you wander what would happen. But in the end it (as well as the whole book) seemed pretty much anti-climatic. The bright spot of the book is Aden who is a great character. I felt so empathetic towards him and his situation. I didn't quite understand the reasoning behind Mary Ann's decision concerning Penny. It didn't seem realistic to me. Without giving anything away, the relationships seem to lack depth. Ok, so I understand that Aden had a vision of The Girl but still it doesn't make his and her feelings towards the other believable. There seemed to be no basis except the vision (and perhaps the final acceptance from another being?). All in all, I would encourage you to bypass this one unless you have absolutely NOTHING else to read.

posted by 1762549 on November 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    diss appointing Disappointing...

    When i read the synopsis my firdt thought was that it would be different than the redt of the books i had read. Boy was i wrong. The beginning i thought was really good then all the sudden a werwolf and a vampire pop up and i lost intrest. I couldve been a great book but the author decided that everyone lved to read about vampires werwolves fairies goblins an demons all in one book. I was hoping this book would have nothing to do with those thing and i would have never guessed from reading the summary and the first few chapters. After a while it felt like a generic book that was just written to make money and i had a hard time finishing it. The relationships felt forced and the plot was predictble.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Meh!

    Most sixteen-year-olds have friends. Aden Stone has four human souls living inside him: One can time-travel. One can raise the dead. One can tell the future. And one can possess another human. Everyone thinks he's crazy, which is why he's spent his entire life shuffled between mental institutions and juvie. All of that is about to change, however. For months Aden has been having visions of a beautiful girl -- a girl who carries centuries old secrets. A girl who will either save him or destroy him. Together they'll enter a dark world of intrigue and danger . . . but not everyone will come out alive.

    Aden has spent his whole life in and out of mental institutions diagnosed as a violent schizophrenic. Now able to control the voices in his head, Aden has moved to Crossroads, OK, to live in a halfway house for delinquent boys. His goal in life is to find a means to free these souls and at last be at peace. When he meets Mary Ann Gray, she miraculously acts as a neutralizer, and for the first time in his life, he truly feels normal. Little do they realize that when they first met, their connection sent a power surge throughout the world drawing every paranormal creature from fairies to vampires to Crossroads on a quest for power. To complicate matters, Aden becomes romantically involved with a vampire princess and Mary Ann with her werewolf bodyguard. Together the teens must figure out a way to protect themselves, and all of humanity.

    I expected more from this book and sadly I was let down! It took me awhile to catch on the plot & characters - when I did - I was rooting for Mary Ann and Aden to get together, but no . . . instead the two become fast friends, establishing a sibling-type bond - which I just found strange & displeasing since they only knew each other for a few days/weeks. And this was just at the beginning of the book. They weren't the only characters being "forced" together either. Aden keeps having visions of a long, dark haired girl (who he first thinks is Mary Ann) who turns out being the Vampire daughter of Dracula (lame!), Victoria. So, Aden instantly has these insane urges to kiss her (I didn't get into ANY of their "romantic" time together either!) and the story just got sillier, less interesting, and just had TOO MUCH going on from there. I didn't like it. I didn't enjoy it. I couldn't even finish reading it. . . stopping on page 372 of a 440 story. I just really didn't care about the ending - SAD! None of the characters were believable. The romance was "pushed" upon the kids, even for a Young Adult novel. The story plot was all over that place and had way too many paranormal creatures, powers, you name it and, for once, I didn't enjoy the story going back and forth between two POVs.

    Likes: Ummmm? This is a NO NEED READ!!!!

    Dislikes: Don't EVEN get me started!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Intertwined...

    WEll, I have decided that I am not going to read anymore books about Vampires and Werewolves. I hate that now every novel is about Vampires falling in love with humans. But, I got this book for Christmas so since I had it I had to read it. It was different. But, it is not one of my favorite books. At times the writing was dry and I wanted more from it. I really did like the characters, though they were typical for teen fantasy. If I could recommend a book to someone it would not be this one. It was an okay read. I was really excited at first but, then it just droned on too long and then ending was a cliff hanger. That means this is going to be a series. Interwined wasn't the best book I have read but, it was not the worst either. I do recommend Fallen by Lauren Kate. This book was fabulous and her writing is beautiful. Also, I recommend The Forest of Hands and Teeth, which is a chilling, haunting, and tension filled read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Paranormal Romance Lover Who Was Seriously Disappointed

    The characters and story line were kind of fun and twisty. But there was just too much going on. The author seemed to want to throw in every mythical creature we know about into this book. I was seriously waiting for someone to mention unicorns or mermaids. I like the whole voices in Adan's head but that's about it. Definately wouldn't compare it to Twilight at all. I love Twilight and am not looking to find another book that's exactly like it, otherwise what would be the point. Might as well just read the series over. But I am hoping to find something that could hold my interest. This book definately wasn't it. It took me forever to finish, and the only reason I did is because I paid money for it. I don't know a lot of other people seemed to have liked it by what I can see from their reviews, but I recommend anyone who wants to read this to borrow it and judge for themselves before they spend their money to be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It was so so.

    After reading this I actually looked at the year that this book was created, 2009. Then I looked at twilight's and read 2006. The love story in it is very similar to twilight's. Boy falls in love with vampire (who happens to be 81... edward was 89?), girl falls in love with wolf. This story had two main characters thus making it confusing in a way to keep up with both of their lives, at least they hung around each other. I don't know if this author read twilight or not but, my impression is she did and well, took the idea from twilight to make this book. She had a decent storyline, weird at some parts, very interesting in others, I could tell what was going to happen before it did. The ending to this one though, that... was rushed. She put the ending in 1 chapter and closed up the book. There was more romance then there was action. Some of the things they did I rolled my eyes at. I did enjoy the idea of the boy having all those people in his head, at least that was original and the girl being the one to stop it. Because of my previously reading twilight, I was disappointed at this book because it sounded so much like twilight (with the love thing). If I hadn't of read twilight, I'm pretty sure this book would have gotten at least a 4 from me. I don't like it when I read books that sound to much like other books especially when that one series is a big fad right now, it's hard to respect an author after that. I wish the author goodluck, but I think she needs to wrap up the story and end it, we only need one twilight out there, and I'm getting fed up with seeing that around as it is and I loved the series BEFORE it became so popular.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1