BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Intertwined (Intertwined Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 356 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

Aden Stone is a sixteen-year-old boy with four souls living inside his body.

One can time travel, one can raise the dead, one can tell the future, and one can possess another human being.

He has spent most of his life in and out of institutions, never really makin...
Aden Stone is a sixteen-year-old boy with four souls living inside his body.

One can time travel, one can raise the dead, one can tell the future, and one can possess another human being.

He has spent most of his life in and out of institutions, never really making friends. He doesn't like having the souls sharing his body. A lot of problems have been caused due to Aden not being able to control the powers that the souls have.

Aden soon gets sent to a ranch for troubled boys, and his first week there he meets a girl, Mary Ann. Mary Ann is the exact opposite of Aden. She has friends and he spends most of his time alone. Being around Mary Ann quiets the voices.

They form a bond of friendship that neither really understands. She meets a werewolf shape-shifter and he meets a vampire princess. Two forbidden romances begin amidst the dangerous lives that the friends have found.

INTERTWINED contains beautifully written characters that keep you entranced from page one. I simply could not put this book down until the very end. Gena Showalter's characters are an engaging and exciting group that, when woven together, form a beautiful tapestry that adults and teens alike will enjoy.

If this is just the beginning of Harlequin's new teen line, then we the readers will definitely not be disappointed. We have much to look forward to!

posted by TeensReadToo on May 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not a book I would recommend

I read the synopsis of Intertwined and expected to love it...I was wrong. The plot had the potential to be fascinating however it wasn't. Nothing seemed to really happen. There was this "WOW" moment between Aden and Mary Ann that made you wander what would happen. But i...
I read the synopsis of Intertwined and expected to love it...I was wrong. The plot had the potential to be fascinating however it wasn't. Nothing seemed to really happen. There was this "WOW" moment between Aden and Mary Ann that made you wander what would happen. But in the end it (as well as the whole book) seemed pretty much anti-climatic. The bright spot of the book is Aden who is a great character. I felt so empathetic towards him and his situation. I didn't quite understand the reasoning behind Mary Ann's decision concerning Penny. It didn't seem realistic to me. Without giving anything away, the relationships seem to lack depth. Ok, so I understand that Aden had a vision of The Girl but still it doesn't make his and her feelings towards the other believable. There seemed to be no basis except the vision (and perhaps the final acceptance from another being?). All in all, I would encourage you to bypass this one unless you have absolutely NOTHING else to read.

posted by 1762549 on November 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a book I would recommend

    I read the synopsis of Intertwined and expected to love it...I was wrong. The plot had the potential to be fascinating however it wasn't. Nothing seemed to really happen. There was this "WOW" moment between Aden and Mary Ann that made you wander what would happen. But in the end it (as well as the whole book) seemed pretty much anti-climatic. The bright spot of the book is Aden who is a great character. I felt so empathetic towards him and his situation. I didn't quite understand the reasoning behind Mary Ann's decision concerning Penny. It didn't seem realistic to me. Without giving anything away, the relationships seem to lack depth. Ok, so I understand that Aden had a vision of The Girl but still it doesn't make his and her feelings towards the other believable. There seemed to be no basis except the vision (and perhaps the final acceptance from another being?). All in all, I would encourage you to bypass this one unless you have absolutely NOTHING else to read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Too Much Plot

    Gena Showalter's writing and imagination does not fail in this book. *But* there was too much plot. Way too much going on. Aden's story was fascinating, as was Mary Ann's. How their lives intertwined and all the elements that went with it was intriguing and intense and . . . too much. You have the alternating POVs, the different story lines, subplots for each POV, and, on top of the main aspects of the story, you have *their* subplots. Does that make sense? And honestly, I could guess the plot from the very beginning. Way to go for not masking the hints very well. Sometimes NO hints are the best. Could have flat out told me exactly who Eve was the first time Aden sees Mary Ann. Also, I really hate poetic, cryptic sentences that make you scratch your head afterward.

    Yeah. It was just a lot to have in one book. Hope the next is less of a tangled web and more of a flowing story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I admit, I haven't read anything but Gena Showalter until now. I also admit I probably should have read something else by her first. There's isn't anything wrong with this book per say, I would just be willing to bet that her adult series are better.

    I've noticed that first books in paranormal series have a lot of characters you have to get straight. This one is no exception. There's a lot of paranormal beings introduced, including, zombie, vampires, and werewolves. I was never really sure what one had to do with the other. And then not only to you have Aden, but also the four souls living inside him. They all have separate names and identities. Plus, Aden has a tendency to have conversations with all four souls at once. That's a lot of dialogue to keep track of. I actually liked the idea of the four souls. It was a different paranormal aspect that I haven't read before. I also liked how they were linked to him.

    I wasn't sure about the supporting characters. For the longest time I just didn't get the connection Aden had to Mary Anne. I thought it was going to be a love triangle thing, and I just wasn't feeling it. When it wasn't, I admit I was relieved, but I still didn't get it. When their connection is more adequately explained, it made sense. I did like Riley and Mary Anne's relationship. It felt the most real out of all of them. I disliked Victoria and Aden's relationship the most. It felt forced and I think it's because of the vision.

    It's an interesting start to the series, and I admit I'm curious. I think that now that most of the characters are introduced the story might flow a little better. Plus, I want to see Aden have some peace I think he deserves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A romantic fantasy novel

    Aden Stone is a teenager with a special gift more like a Curse. Aden has four souls living in his body and they each have different things that they can do: one soul is a time traveler, one can tell the future, one can possess another human, and the last one can raise someone from the dead. They aren't bad gifts but with a young man like Aden, they can cause trouble. Aden has been in and out of places his entire life with no family to call his own. The souls inside him seem to somehow become his family. This is fun for a while but the more his 'gifts' work, the more Aden wishes to just be normal. He has grown tired of the games and just wants to be "normal". Normal is linked to Mary Ann Gray, Aden's total opposite. Their budding friendship and romance is tested to the limit by a werewolf that wants Mary Ann for his very own and an unhappy vampire princess who has decided that Aden is hers. This is when things start to get a little confusing for me. When Gena Showalter starts describing the use of Aden's powers, thats when everything is clear again. Unfortunately this part of the story wraps up pretty quick and i would like to have read a little more about this. Maybe in the next book she will. Overall it was a good read, and i might even get the next book when it comes out. Hi Mrs. Rosencranns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wasn't in to it for some reason!

    I love Gena Showalter, but this one did not capture my attention. I cannot figure out why, the characters were good, story was OK, the writting was good. It was OK to read. I prefer "The Lords of the Underworld" series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3