Customer Reviews for

Intervention (Jack Stapleton Series #9)

Average Rating 3
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome thriller with a great ending

Cook at his best. He blends his forte of medicine with the Dan Brown territory of ancient religious dogma to create a great page-turner. The detail and research Cook incorporates into the story takes you deep into its twists and turns. Normally I can guess where a stor...
Cook at his best. He blends his forte of medicine with the Dan Brown territory of ancient religious dogma to create a great page-turner. The detail and research Cook incorporates into the story takes you deep into its twists and turns. Normally I can guess where a story's going, not here, it's a unique take on the battle between science and religion -- topped off with one of the most satisfying and unexpected endings I've read.

posted by NYLAReader on August 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not his best work

I was truly disappointed with this book. I liked the beginning when Jack was determined to find the cause of death for the young girl, however the dual plots between Jack and his friends from college made no sense to me.

The ending was the real disappointment. It w...
I was truly disappointed with this book. I liked the beginning when Jack was determined to find the cause of death for the young girl, however the dual plots between Jack and his friends from college made no sense to me.

The ending was the real disappointment. It was too unrealistic and seemed to suddenly end as though Mr Cook was tired of writing and felt like he needed to stop. Immediately.

posted by 1807803 on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    Not his best work

    I was truly disappointed with this book. I liked the beginning when Jack was determined to find the cause of death for the young girl, however the dual plots between Jack and his friends from college made no sense to me.

    The ending was the real disappointment. It was too unrealistic and seemed to suddenly end as though Mr Cook was tired of writing and felt like he needed to stop. Immediately.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    "Intervention" wasn't a typical Robin Cook novel

    I was a little upset with this Robin Cook book. It almost felt like he was trying to jump on the "Holy Grail" bandwagon. I usually enjoy Robin Cooks book from start to finish and can't wait to pass it along to me best friend to read so we can talk about it. This one not so much. It was an interesting idea, just not what I was expecting to read about.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not a typical Robin Cook novel

    Especially in the beginning, it was a slow read. Some of the issues were not typical medical issues. It is an okay read, but not one of Cook's best books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Starts with a Bang But Ends with a Whimper

    Robin Cook's newest book begins with two separate but somewhat equally engaging plots. In one, main character Dr. Jack Stapleton in the course of his duties as a medical examiner stumbles across a case where a young woman dies from the results of what apparently was a visit to a chiropractor. Dr. Stapleton then goes on a massive investigation of chiropractic medicine specifically, and alternative medicine in general. In the parallel plot, an archeologist, Shawn Daughtry stumbles upon a historical find that has the potential to upset some of the basic religious tenets of the Catholic Church. Daughtry and his wife manage to obtain this archeological find and get it to the United States. What disappointed me was how Cook allowed the alternative medicine plot just fizzle out because the main character suddenly decides it would be futile to continue. I have read just about all of Cook's books and I have never seen a main character give up so quickly on an investigation. It just seemed an unnatural act for a Robin Cook main character. From that point on, the archeological find-plot takes over. This turn of events was gravely disappointing to me as a Robin Cook reader. Even the main character's actions in the end of this book were unnatural and diasppointing. I can not in good conscious place this high on my list of favorite Robin Cook books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    Disappointment

    I usually can't wait to get my hands on another Robin Cook novel. After reading this one, I will hesitate about my enthusiam. This book jumped along from one subject to the next with barely getting into the "meat" of any except about the ossuary, which I had a hard time following. Jack was a real jerk with his handling of his wife and sick son, JJ (very original name, by the way). I thought we might get into the chiropractor versus doctor controversy, but no, we left that also. Did he ever solve a whole case as to cause of death in this one? Such a disappointing reading, I'm sorry I stayed up until 2a.m. just to get it out of my way and too a book I can enjoy!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    Not up to par

    I was very disappointed with this book because I have enjoyed other Cook books. This one just wasn't very good. Cook tries too hard to show off his medical expertise. And it also seemed to be another Dan Brown wanna be book. Not sure why I even finished it - probably kept hoping it would get better, after all it was a Robin Cook book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    NEITHER GOOD NOR BAD - JUST A BOOK.

    THIS BOOK WAS ONLY OK - NOT NEARLY AS INTERESTING AS PRIOR BOOKS. A BOOK TO READ - NOT MUCH MORE - DOESN'T STICK WITH YOU - IN FACT, I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND IT - A GOOD AUTHOR - BUT KIND OF BORING BOOK!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    Shallow characters and dispirited storyline from past - favorite author

    Having read all of this author's previous books, I was totally dismayed by this supremely boring story and its poorly conceived characters. Together with being a crude attempt to ride on the coattails of the "religious symbols/icons" fiction genre, it has poorly developed storylines. All the personalities, including the returning Jack and Laurie Stapleton, were portrayed as either self-serving and sociopathic or had the appeal of whimpy nonentities...but all were lacking any depth of character whatsoever.

    While researching alternate medicine problems, the usual crusading Dr. Jack Stapleton's attempts were abruptly ended with only a weak explanation. It was as though another book idea was suddenly substituted for the original idea. I was completely disappointed in this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    Why Go There

    I am tired of authors having to copy The DaVinci Code. It cheapens every author who puts the mighty dollar above respect for their fans. With interest of medical thrillers dropping Robin Cook hopes to inject new life but it doesn't work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2009

    Never have I had such a hard time finishing a book by an author that I have enjoyed in the past.

    I found the plot lacking in authinticity and the characters totally juvinal. Too much information and some of it very redundent. The publishers must have been relying on author readership instead on novel content.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Egyptian Escapade.

    Once you read until chapter eight the story picks up. Jack is back, and back with his "wild" behavior, and he's off to find the cause of his most recent cadaver's demise. Who or what happened to Keara Abelard? That's the mystery Jack wants to solve. Then, many travel miles away, starting in Egypt, a former college dorm mate of Jack's is also trying to solve an ancient conundrum. Begin the "race" for the solution with Jack and experience a "joy" ride through various cities, and along the way learn some new medical terms like VAD. Favorable review: the suspense and mystery keep you intrigued.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    very subjective and anti alternative medicine

    dissapointing compared to his other books which tried to give a broader view of subjects and not such a negative, subjective stand as he has towards alternative medicine in this book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Not up to Cook's usual

    I was quite disappointed in the story .. well actually, there are two plots in this book and neither really works.

    I wouldn't recommend this work of Cook's to any of my friends and I have always enjoyed his books in the past.

    Sorry Robin, you fell out of your nest on this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    what plot...it's a soap box...get an editorial page, but don't sell me a book for entertainment that is just a vehicle for editorializing.

    ZERO entertainment and horrific characters(and not in a good way). The monk is a direct rip off from the da'vici code. His attempt to ride the money train off that same genre is well...a train wreck. Dialogue is stilted and sophmoric, the relationships are worse. The males are all emotionally stunted and the female characters are mindless handmaidens which he throws a modicum of, what he considers, independant verbiage at. I don't know what kind of men and women he's been hanging around with, but wow...amazingly archaic and sad. Then he spends half the book crucifying(pun intended) the naturaopathic community at large and chiropractors specifically, I would say at the expense of the book but it is so bad already. Deaths attributed to naturopathic medicine pale in comparision to the deaths attributed to his beloved conventional medicine(It is estimated that in 1995, nosocomial infections cost $4.5 billion and contributed to more than 88,000 deaths-one death every 6 minutes;Nosocomial Infection Update
    Robert A. Weinstein, Cook County Hospital & Rush Medical College, Chicago, Illinois, USA).
    The final wrap up is worse than the ramp up. Painful to the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    AS A DEVOTED FAN OF EVERY BOOK WRITTEN BY ROBIN COOK, I HAVE JUST EXPERIENCED BY FIRST MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT (MY ONLY DISAPPOINTMENT).

    TO KEEP MY COMMENTS AS PAINLESS AS POSSIBLE (GIVEN PAST IMMENSELY ENJOYABLE HOURS OF READING PLEASURE) I WILL MAKE THESE STATEMENTS:
    THE TWO FOLD PLOT WAS VERY DISCONNECTED, ONE BEING A DAN BROWN KNOCKOFF, THE OTHER KIND OF STATUS QUO (BUT NOT REALLY). THE MAIN CHARACTER IS SHALLOW, HIS WIFE IS A PITIFULL MARTYR. THERE WAS VERY LITTLE DEVELOPMENT OF A STORYLINE IN THIS SUB PLOT. LAST, BUT CERTAINLY NOT LEAST, THE ENDING OF BOTH PLOTS WAS EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING AS WELL AS UNBELIEVABLE. THE BOOK WAS HARD TO FINISH, AND AT THE END I FELT CHEATED.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Intervention By Whom?

    Suppose that you are reading a rather scholarly book by Al Gore on global warming. Things are going along as might be expected- a big problem needs to be solved, yet it looks unsolvable. Suddenly the book takes a new turn. It is as if Pat Robertson was now the author, and the writing has declined, the situations changed, and the problem suddenly solvable by the most ludicrous methods. That's Intervention. It starts out just fine, and then takes a startling, ridiculous turn that simply insults the reader.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    Not his best book

    Didn't really care for the religious plot of the book. I enjoyed the beginning when Jack was researching the death of a young woman. OK read, but not up to us usual medical thriller standard.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    Awesome thriller with a great ending

    Cook at his best. He blends his forte of medicine with the Dan Brown territory of ancient religious dogma to create a great page-turner. The detail and research Cook incorporates into the story takes you deep into its twists and turns. Normally I can guess where a story's going, not here, it's a unique take on the battle between science and religion -- topped off with one of the most satisfying and unexpected endings I've read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    So disappointed.....

    If I hadn't read all of Robin Cook's other books, I would never read another one! This book is all over the place in the action. It paints Jack as a selfish, glory-seeking father who will do anything to avoid being around his sick son. I didn't have any problems putting this one down when I was tired! And the abrupt ending is like having a door slammed in your face.

    Having said that, I will buy another book from Robin Cook. I used to scour bookstores to find all of his books because he was my very favorite author for many years. And I did stay up all night once because I couldn't put the darn book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Not one of the best I've read, but still worth staying with till the end.

    The book definately had a very slow start....but if you stay with it, it really wasn't as bad as some of the reviews. I was blown away by the "twist" towards the end. I would recommend it. But again, a very slow start and hard to stay with, but worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5