Customer Reviews for

Intervention (Jack Stapleton Series #9)

Average Rating 3
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome thriller with a great ending

Cook at his best. He blends his forte of medicine with the Dan Brown territory of ancient religious dogma to create a great page-turner. The detail and research Cook incorporates into the story takes you deep into its twists and turns. Normally I can guess where a stor...
Cook at his best. He blends his forte of medicine with the Dan Brown territory of ancient religious dogma to create a great page-turner. The detail and research Cook incorporates into the story takes you deep into its twists and turns. Normally I can guess where a story's going, not here, it's a unique take on the battle between science and religion -- topped off with one of the most satisfying and unexpected endings I've read.

posted by NYLAReader on August 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not his best work

I was truly disappointed with this book. I liked the beginning when Jack was determined to find the cause of death for the young girl, however the dual plots between Jack and his friends from college made no sense to me.

The ending was the real disappointment. It w...
I was truly disappointed with this book. I liked the beginning when Jack was determined to find the cause of death for the young girl, however the dual plots between Jack and his friends from college made no sense to me.

The ending was the real disappointment. It was too unrealistic and seemed to suddenly end as though Mr Cook was tired of writing and felt like he needed to stop. Immediately.

posted by 1807803 on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    Not his best work

    I was truly disappointed with this book. I liked the beginning when Jack was determined to find the cause of death for the young girl, however the dual plots between Jack and his friends from college made no sense to me.

    The ending was the real disappointment. It was too unrealistic and seemed to suddenly end as though Mr Cook was tired of writing and felt like he needed to stop. Immediately.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    "Intervention" wasn't a typical Robin Cook novel

    I was a little upset with this Robin Cook book. It almost felt like he was trying to jump on the "Holy Grail" bandwagon. I usually enjoy Robin Cooks book from start to finish and can't wait to pass it along to me best friend to read so we can talk about it. This one not so much. It was an interesting idea, just not what I was expecting to read about.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    Disappointment

    I usually can't wait to get my hands on another Robin Cook novel. After reading this one, I will hesitate about my enthusiam. This book jumped along from one subject to the next with barely getting into the "meat" of any except about the ossuary, which I had a hard time following. Jack was a real jerk with his handling of his wife and sick son, JJ (very original name, by the way). I thought we might get into the chiropractor versus doctor controversy, but no, we left that also. Did he ever solve a whole case as to cause of death in this one? Such a disappointing reading, I'm sorry I stayed up until 2a.m. just to get it out of my way and too a book I can enjoy!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    NEITHER GOOD NOR BAD - JUST A BOOK.

    THIS BOOK WAS ONLY OK - NOT NEARLY AS INTERESTING AS PRIOR BOOKS. A BOOK TO READ - NOT MUCH MORE - DOESN'T STICK WITH YOU - IN FACT, I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND IT - A GOOD AUTHOR - BUT KIND OF BORING BOOK!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    very subjective and anti alternative medicine

    dissapointing compared to his other books which tried to give a broader view of subjects and not such a negative, subjective stand as he has towards alternative medicine in this book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    I enjoyed it enough to keep reading

    I enjoyed reading the book, but expected the main subject to be about alternative medicine, which I was interested in reading about, but the subject was too generalized - Jack's obsession encompassing all of alternative medicine. A little unprofessional for a doctor, and silly when you consider how many more people die at the hands of conventional medicine. Considering his child was being treated for cancer and they were considering alternative medicine to treat him, the whole book could have been about just that, perhaps going into more specifics about how alternative medicine may have treated a cancer patient and whether it was credible or not.

    Instead... the whole plot turned and changed the subject. (unless you consider the power of God to bless and heal people "alternative medicine.") I found most of the characters to be a bit shallow, predictable, and self-serving. The dialog was often stilted and contrived enough to make reading uncomfortable. Nevertheless, I thought it was interesting enough to see it through to a predictable climax and a happy, but ineffectual ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Since there are so many reviewers saying this is a dan brown wan

    Since there are so many reviewers saying this is a dan brown wannabe book im gonna chime in.
    ive read angelsand demons stuff
    too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1