Customer Reviews for

Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 921 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(571)

4 Star

(208)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

The Epic Tale From Simple Human to Immortal Being

Interview With The Vampire, the first of many books in the Vampire Chronicles, introduces the reader to Louis de Pointe du Lac and the life he lived, stretching over 200 years. Narrated by Louis himself, he allows himself to be interviewed by an unsuspecting Daniel Mal...
Interview With The Vampire, the first of many books in the Vampire Chronicles, introduces the reader to Louis de Pointe du Lac and the life he lived, stretching over 200 years. Narrated by Louis himself, he allows himself to be interviewed by an unsuspecting Daniel Malloy and he tells of his heart break, his "birth into darkness", his adventures as a creature of the night, and the moral battle he has within himself between his human conscience and the thirst of a vampire. He also sheds light on his volatile relationship with his maker, Lestat de Lioncourt (whose origins are explained in the next book of The Vampire Chronicles).

Anne Rice describes her scenes to almost every detail, allowing the reader to vividly see and almost feel the sadness and despair within Louis life. Incredible piece of work and a great beginning to a fantastic vampire series. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fix of horror, passion, drama, and blood. And I would definitely suggest this book to those who want to avoid the juvenile, mediocre quality of Twilight. The Vampire Chronicles is one of the best vampire series out there, easily a classic.

Also, if you enjoy the book, I very well suggest watching the film. It stays close to the book, but also has Anne Rice herself as an adviser for the film.

posted by deaf_dumb_blind on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Not what I thought.

I expected more from this novel. It was well written, the language was indeed beautiful, but the plot itself just droned on. It was too slow paced for my taste. Overall it was fine.

posted by tiffany_cullen on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 926 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 47
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Epic Tale From Simple Human to Immortal Being

    Interview With The Vampire, the first of many books in the Vampire Chronicles, introduces the reader to Louis de Pointe du Lac and the life he lived, stretching over 200 years. Narrated by Louis himself, he allows himself to be interviewed by an unsuspecting Daniel Malloy and he tells of his heart break, his "birth into darkness", his adventures as a creature of the night, and the moral battle he has within himself between his human conscience and the thirst of a vampire. He also sheds light on his volatile relationship with his maker, Lestat de Lioncourt (whose origins are explained in the next book of The Vampire Chronicles).

    Anne Rice describes her scenes to almost every detail, allowing the reader to vividly see and almost feel the sadness and despair within Louis life. Incredible piece of work and a great beginning to a fantastic vampire series. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fix of horror, passion, drama, and blood. And I would definitely suggest this book to those who want to avoid the juvenile, mediocre quality of Twilight. The Vampire Chronicles is one of the best vampire series out there, easily a classic.

    Also, if you enjoy the book, I very well suggest watching the film. It stays close to the book, but also has Anne Rice herself as an adviser for the film.

    38 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic writing!!!

    I am very partial to vampire novels. As soon as I had the book in my hands, I plopped down on my bed to read it. I was soon caught in Louis' world. The eccentric, sensual, and absolutely heartwrenching story of a vampire, whose long existence brings up all the human emotions he never had. The hurt, love and desperate desire to his prey and his profound kindness and sympathy. It is a tragedy because it does not have a happy ending, but neverthelss, it is beautiful as it is. I devoured the book in one day, then waking up the next morning with it in my hands yet again, reading some parts I didn't understand. The book is very descriptive, but you really feel like you undestand the protagonist, and his agony. I thought the ending to be a great close, but again overshadows the beginning of a new story. The story of the boy who interview him in the first place! I thought it was ironic, and very foolish that the boy wanted to become a vampire after all that Louis told him. Like Louis says: "This... after all I told you... is what you ask for?"<BR/>I feel what Louis felt then; the desperation and the anger that even after all the wrongs of his life he told him, after all the death and all the sadness his existence had brought upon him, that he still wanted it. It is ironic because the boy will search for Lestat, and the story will most likely repeat itslef. Obviously not in the same way, but he will somewhat experience what Louis went through.<BR/>This is a beautifully written book. Anne Rice is truly a remarkable author. I greatly recommend it.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    For the Love of the [true] Vampires!

    I fell in love with Anne Rice after I read this book. I instantly fell in love with her characters and became so ingrossed in the plot of the vampire chronicles that I had to have all the books at once. For those who wish to banish the dimmed vampires of Twilight from their mind, this book gets back to the roots: blood, lust, and an immortal with a mortal's compassion.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Chilling, unforgetable, sensuous, a must read thriller

    This book is a beginning to a tantalizing sereies that you will find hard to put down. Do not confuse this with the movie it is so much better and opens the door to the books that follow. If you have never read Ann Rice before, you will want to read more of her after you have read this book. Not your teeny bopper vampire tale.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Classic

    Along with Stoker's Dracula, Anne Rice's Interview With the Vampire is one of the greatest vampire books of all time. The characters are engaging and complex, and the plot is interesting and original. This is a must read for any vampire lover.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    Not another stupid love story!

    Far more thrilling and better written,Interview with the vampire knocks Twilight off the shelves.The love in the book is complex, along with it's characters, whether it be the emotional affair between Louis and Lestat or thier daughter claudia's search for acceptance It's easy to get bitten.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Loved the movie, but the book was much better.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    One of the greatest books I have EVER read!

    I highly recommend this book. Great story, plot, easy to connect with the character's emotions, feelings and ideas. It's definitely a book you won't forget. It's also one of those books that you almost have to express your feelings about on certain topics, characters, etc. Very symbolic. You won't be able to put this book down and you will NOT be disappointed. Awesome is the perfect word to describe it, awesome as in inspiring awe.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    For Any Vampire Lover

    Next to Dracula, Anne Rice's novels are some of the best vampire books of all time. The characters are complex, the plot is deep and thought provoking, Rice weaved a memorable tale. Many authors have tried to follow her style, but no one has come close to recreating this cult classic novel. Anyone with a lust for the creatures of the night must give Interview With the Vampire a try.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I thought.

    I expected more from this novel. It was well written, the language was indeed beautiful, but the plot itself just droned on. It was too slow paced for my taste. Overall it was fine.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A different spin on vampires

    Definetly not your average vampire story. This plot is unique and original as they come. Ann Rice created the best - in my opinion - take on immortality from the vampire point of view. In virtually every other story or movie regarding blood-suckers they always seem to love their affairs and live without any moral or ethical consequences. Interview with the Vampire breaks it down into a depressing look from Louis's perspective. His "fall from grace" makes it much harder than the average vampire to accept death and killing as an ordinary way of life; and he resents his actions for it. It's like every choice he makes is automatically doomed because he knows he can't die and must take life in order to stay alive. Other characters make this an exciting read too. The infamous Lestat, a selfish and dominant vampire, tortures Louis with his complete disregard for human life and unfortunately does not teach Louis anything about eternity of the undead. However, if one is looking for horror scenarios and great suspense, you may be disappointed. This book read mostly as an documentary of the depressed life of a depressed vampire. Filled with dramatic scenes of moral reasoning, Interview with the Vampire still stands out as the most mesmorizing of vampire tales.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Interview with the Vampire

    It was a really good book, am from Costa Rica and I cant find this type of book in here.
    Thanks Barnes and Nobles

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    this is my all time fav. vampire series i love it. it is a lot more complicated then twilight and i understand if some twilighters don't like it but this book has actually meaning the characters were well developed the movie was good as well u could watch the movie and know what this book is about but i would deffinatley recomend the book to anyone who loves vampire just anne rice is the queen of vampires nobody can take it away from her not even stephenie meyer

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT!

    I loved this book! Anne Rice is one of the best writers out there! <BR/>My fav person in the book was Lestat! <BR/>5 stars

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Vamp Tale

    This has become a classic vampire novel. The descriptive quality of Anne Rice's words takes you to another time and place and brings the characters to life. Any person that likes vampire novels should add this to their list of must reads.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Yes and no

    I grew up loving the movie interview with the vampire. I just for the first time decided to read the book and i have to say honestly i like the movie better. The book wasn't bad or anything, it was ok. I just think the changes in the story that were made for the movie were better. I'm sorry anne rice. If you saw the movie and liked it i think you should read this book and form your own opinion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Boring

    Gets pretty boring towards the middle. I liked the movie but the book couldn't hold my interest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Awesome !

    This is better and more intense than the movie. Highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    UNFORGETTABLE!

    Great Writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Decent Book

    I first heard about Anne Rice's "Vampire Chronicles" when I was in fifth grade at which point I went out and bought "Interview With the Vampire". At the time, it was a little to complicated for me to read and I couldn't really grasp it. I just recently picked it up again and read it through and I must say that I am somewhat disappointed. We are introduced to some very interesting characters in Louis and Lestat, but I feel like the book just drags way too much and in a way, insists upon itself. The story itself is good, but not as good as I expected it to be. Perhaps I just expected too much out of it based on the popularity of the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 926 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 47