Customer Reviews for

Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 940 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(580)

4 Star

(213)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

The Epic Tale From Simple Human to Immortal Being

Interview With The Vampire, the first of many books in the Vampire Chronicles, introduces the reader to Louis de Pointe du Lac and the life he lived, stretching over 200 years. Narrated by Louis himself, he allows himself to be interviewed by an unsuspecting Daniel Mal...
Interview With The Vampire, the first of many books in the Vampire Chronicles, introduces the reader to Louis de Pointe du Lac and the life he lived, stretching over 200 years. Narrated by Louis himself, he allows himself to be interviewed by an unsuspecting Daniel Malloy and he tells of his heart break, his "birth into darkness", his adventures as a creature of the night, and the moral battle he has within himself between his human conscience and the thirst of a vampire. He also sheds light on his volatile relationship with his maker, Lestat de Lioncourt (whose origins are explained in the next book of The Vampire Chronicles).

Anne Rice describes her scenes to almost every detail, allowing the reader to vividly see and almost feel the sadness and despair within Louis life. Incredible piece of work and a great beginning to a fantastic vampire series. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fix of horror, passion, drama, and blood. And I would definitely suggest this book to those who want to avoid the juvenile, mediocre quality of Twilight. The Vampire Chronicles is one of the best vampire series out there, easily a classic.

Also, if you enjoy the book, I very well suggest watching the film. It stays close to the book, but also has Anne Rice herself as an adviser for the film.

posted by deaf_dumb_blind on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Not what I thought.

I expected more from this novel. It was well written, the language was indeed beautiful, but the plot itself just droned on. It was too slow paced for my taste. Overall it was fine.

posted by tiffany_cullen on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Boring

    Gets pretty boring towards the middle. I liked the movie but the book couldn't hold my interest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    Not Recommended

    I found this book very dry. I can't figure out why people like it so much.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I know - I know

    Everyone loves it I know =) But I hated it - She really is an amazing writer and I def see her talent - thats the only reason I was able to suffer through this book though - I wasnt the least bit interested durning the entire thing - I read it because I love books about Vampires and such, and come on if you like stuff in that area, the world law is your bound to love Anne Rice....guess Im just weird =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice try

    Yeah okay, in every book of these chronicles is there always a creep named Lestat ? Really ? I did NOT enjoy this book at all. As the other books, I did not, only the movies. The books are so stretched out,boring,and "Lestaty".Terribly written..You could spend your time doing something..productive....(i still love Anne rice, just not these books)A good try though.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring to death.. a total disapointment!!

    The praises I read of other readers made me excited and I bought this book and now I realize it was a mistake. It's so dark and depressing, I would never recommend it to anyone. After reading twilight this book doesn't stand a chance. It really is a cure for insomnia.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Ann Rice is overcooked. Boring to the extreme. She's the cure for insomnia!!!

    Had an acquaintance recommend the author. Like all highly recommended reads, I'll invest in the author's works buying up their titles enjoying their style. Ann Rice is overcooked!! Boring to the extreme. "Interview" was my first read from Ann Rice. I hurried back to B&N to return the rest of her titles. She's the cure for insomnia!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    Meah

    Walks in bummy. I hate this stupid world!! Arrrrrg!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2014

    worst book ever

    worst book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Boring

    I'm an avid reader of all genres and i just could not get in to this book. Very boring! One of the very few books in my life that I've put down half way through & did not finish reading. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    ??

    Ugh...i loved this movie!! I hate this book!! Im on page 57, and im dying...im such an avid reader...this book sux. Gen Monteforte

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Does this book relate to the movie?

    Does this book relate to the movie?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    WHAT THE CRAP!!!!!!!!!

    THIS IS A STUPID BOOK

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    ZZZZZzzZZzz

    This book was so incredibly boring! I thought I would try it out because most people gave it 5 stars, so I thought hey, this must be good. But let me tell you, it was about the worst book I have ever read. There was like nothing interesting that happend anywhere! And what was with Louis in love with Armand? He like only just met him.... Are all the vampires homosexuals?!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2