Customer Reviews for

Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 943 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(582)

4 Star

(214)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

The Epic Tale From Simple Human to Immortal Being

Interview With The Vampire, the first of many books in the Vampire Chronicles, introduces the reader to Louis de Pointe du Lac and the life he lived, stretching over 200 years. Narrated by Louis himself, he allows himself to be interviewed by an unsuspecting Daniel Mal...
Interview With The Vampire, the first of many books in the Vampire Chronicles, introduces the reader to Louis de Pointe du Lac and the life he lived, stretching over 200 years. Narrated by Louis himself, he allows himself to be interviewed by an unsuspecting Daniel Malloy and he tells of his heart break, his "birth into darkness", his adventures as a creature of the night, and the moral battle he has within himself between his human conscience and the thirst of a vampire. He also sheds light on his volatile relationship with his maker, Lestat de Lioncourt (whose origins are explained in the next book of The Vampire Chronicles).

Anne Rice describes her scenes to almost every detail, allowing the reader to vividly see and almost feel the sadness and despair within Louis life. Incredible piece of work and a great beginning to a fantastic vampire series. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fix of horror, passion, drama, and blood. And I would definitely suggest this book to those who want to avoid the juvenile, mediocre quality of Twilight. The Vampire Chronicles is one of the best vampire series out there, easily a classic.

Also, if you enjoy the book, I very well suggest watching the film. It stays close to the book, but also has Anne Rice herself as an adviser for the film.

posted by deaf_dumb_blind on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Not what I thought.

I expected more from this novel. It was well written, the language was indeed beautiful, but the plot itself just droned on. It was too slow paced for my taste. Overall it was fine.

posted by tiffany_cullen on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Yes and no

    I grew up loving the movie interview with the vampire. I just for the first time decided to read the book and i have to say honestly i like the movie better. The book wasn't bad or anything, it was ok. I just think the changes in the story that were made for the movie were better. I'm sorry anne rice. If you saw the movie and liked it i think you should read this book and form your own opinion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Decent Book

    I first heard about Anne Rice's "Vampire Chronicles" when I was in fifth grade at which point I went out and bought "Interview With the Vampire". At the time, it was a little to complicated for me to read and I couldn't really grasp it. I just recently picked it up again and read it through and I must say that I am somewhat disappointed. We are introduced to some very interesting characters in Louis and Lestat, but I feel like the book just drags way too much and in a way, insists upon itself. The story itself is good, but not as good as I expected it to be. Perhaps I just expected too much out of it based on the popularity of the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Can get lost

    But still magestic and a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Boring and a tedious read.

    Boring and a tedious read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    Louis, Louis, Louis

    I think Interview With the Vampire is probably more like a 3.5 star book, but I¿ll just mark it down here as a three. I saw the movie version of this book first and I liked it, so I decided to give the book a shot. And it¿s okay. The entire novel is written as a conversation between two people ¿ so that threw me off a little. When reading it, it¿ll be going along smoothly, and suddenly the other person will ask a question and the narrative will break off. The other problem I had with it is it¿s very, very wordy. The author will stop at nothing until she gets you to perfectly understand the vampire¿s emotions. Unfortunately, this can take several pages. It has its interesting parts and then it goes into a five-page explanation of the angst and turmoil of being a vampire. When the book is interesting, it¿s gripping. But when it¿s not, it can be pretty boring. All in all, I¿d recommend this book for those of you out there who can spare a lot of free time to devote to this poetic saga. If you¿re the type of reader who likes for things to keep moving, I¿d look elsewhere.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It is an ok story overall. I would not consider this a scary bo

    It is an ok story overall. I would not consider this a scary book. It is a little bit dense to read in your free time. Honestly, the book is pretty boring except for the part 3. The way it is written makes you have to think about what is being mentioned. Sometime the author skirts around what is needed to be said, so it is a challenge to figure out what is meant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2014

    Interesting but depressing

    I like a few different vampire/witch type of books, but I found this one to be depressing. Maybe that was the author's intent, but I was glad when it was finished. I'm curious enough that I didn't want to stop reading it, but it was not fun, so I won't be reading another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    pre Hard to get thru

    I had a hard time getting myself to read this. At times i didnt want to put it down though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Louis the Vampire

    Vampires are kind of a guilty pleasure of mine, so this novel, of course, was a must. I saw reviews going both ways, so I wasn't sure what to expect. This is also my first time reading Anne Rice.

    I was not a very big fan of this book. The story was good, but I absolutely drowned in the writing. I still can't believe how blood thirsty vampires can seem so dull. Too many mindless descriptions, and I was often confused with what was metaphorical and what was actually happening. Other than that, it was just slow-moving. I'm sure there was action probably everywhere, but my eyes too dulled over to notice it. I didn't like Louis as a narrator; he just seemed like a whiny little baby to me. I understand that he was supposed to be all conflicted and depressed, but did it have to fill every paragraph? The vampires overall were enjoyable. At least they killed people, unlike these wussy "vegan" ones nowadays.

    I did like the story, I just wish it was written differently. Much differently. I'll watch the movie, but I doubt I'll pick up another Rice novel anytime soon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The one that started it all??

    This book was described as "the one that started it all... I'm not so sure. It started off great, pulling me right in. Then it seemed to go no where. The last quarter of the book lost steam and the ending was not very satisfying. Instead of leaving me wishing for more, it left me very disappointed. It had such promise...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    worth a read

    it's worth a read

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    k this book was way too long, for one thing. i gave up reading it halfway through, then started reading again a couple days later. yes, it did get good toward the middle-end, but the beginning was putting me asleep. it takes way to long to get to the conclusion. And it didnt help that my copy had tiny font.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    A Bite in the Neck

    The book, Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice, was an OK book. It was about a boy who interviews a vampire about his life. The vampire, Louis, tells the boy about his hardships. The book was a little too drawn out. There were parts that weren't needed. Yet, it was very descriptive. It give you great mental pictures. I would reccomend this book to people who like suspenseful books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5