Customer Reviews for

Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 906 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(564)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

The Epic Tale From Simple Human to Immortal Being

Interview With The Vampire, the first of many books in the Vampire Chronicles, introduces the reader to Louis de Pointe du Lac and the life he lived, stretching over 200 years. Narrated by Louis himself, he allows himself to be interviewed by an unsuspecting Daniel Mal...
Interview With The Vampire, the first of many books in the Vampire Chronicles, introduces the reader to Louis de Pointe du Lac and the life he lived, stretching over 200 years. Narrated by Louis himself, he allows himself to be interviewed by an unsuspecting Daniel Malloy and he tells of his heart break, his "birth into darkness", his adventures as a creature of the night, and the moral battle he has within himself between his human conscience and the thirst of a vampire. He also sheds light on his volatile relationship with his maker, Lestat de Lioncourt (whose origins are explained in the next book of The Vampire Chronicles).

Anne Rice describes her scenes to almost every detail, allowing the reader to vividly see and almost feel the sadness and despair within Louis life. Incredible piece of work and a great beginning to a fantastic vampire series. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fix of horror, passion, drama, and blood. And I would definitely suggest this book to those who want to avoid the juvenile, mediocre quality of Twilight. The Vampire Chronicles is one of the best vampire series out there, easily a classic.

Also, if you enjoy the book, I very well suggest watching the film. It stays close to the book, but also has Anne Rice herself as an adviser for the film.

posted by deaf_dumb_blind on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Not what I thought.

I expected more from this novel. It was well written, the language was indeed beautiful, but the plot itself just droned on. It was too slow paced for my taste. Overall it was fine.

posted by tiffany_cullen on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    Not another stupid love story!

    Far more thrilling and better written,Interview with the vampire knocks Twilight off the shelves.The love in the book is complex, along with it's characters, whether it be the emotional affair between Louis and Lestat or thier daughter claudia's search for acceptance It's easy to get bitten.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A different spin on vampires

    Definetly not your average vampire story. This plot is unique and original as they come. Ann Rice created the best - in my opinion - take on immortality from the vampire point of view. In virtually every other story or movie regarding blood-suckers they always seem to love their affairs and live without any moral or ethical consequences. Interview with the Vampire breaks it down into a depressing look from Louis's perspective. His "fall from grace" makes it much harder than the average vampire to accept death and killing as an ordinary way of life; and he resents his actions for it. It's like every choice he makes is automatically doomed because he knows he can't die and must take life in order to stay alive. Other characters make this an exciting read too. The infamous Lestat, a selfish and dominant vampire, tortures Louis with his complete disregard for human life and unfortunately does not teach Louis anything about eternity of the undead. However, if one is looking for horror scenarios and great suspense, you may be disappointed. This book read mostly as an documentary of the depressed life of a depressed vampire. Filled with dramatic scenes of moral reasoning, Interview with the Vampire still stands out as the most mesmorizing of vampire tales.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Pretty good

    I am in the middle of readng this book & so far besides having to look up a word in like every sentence it is a pretty good book..... I think i will continue this book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Real good book

    This is so detailed to the point where u could imagine what she's written....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Interesting story line...

    This was an interesting concept (yes, I know it's been around for a while) but I thought it lost momentum and became redundant and boring. I had a hard time finishing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Beautifully written

    This was the book that started my love affair with vampires. I was in high school when I first read this book after seeing the movie. I recently reread it. The writing is absolutely beautiful, but the story moved slower than I remembered, but the characters were just as vivid and enticing as I remembered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Loved it

    Anne Rice makes immortals so human. The beginning of a long relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    What's not to love?

    While the Queen of the Damned is by far the best of this series, Book One is in second place. Lestat makes the perfect anti-hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    I recommend it...check it out...

    This book talks about the past Century Vampires. The good thing about this book is the story itself. It includes romance, deceit and of course, vampires. It's not like any other modern Vampire books. It focuses on the old Century vampire stories, not like the modern tales nowadays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    good

    anne rice has a great imagination which is always good for story writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    Great

    great for anyone to read even if your not into vampires!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Interview...

    Interview...
    Wow, I love Anne Rice. In light of all the Vampire books recently coming onto the market, and finding myself sorely disappointed with them, I decided to re-read Anne Rice's Vampire collection. With the first book Interview with a Vampire, I have fallen in Love with Louis again, Lestat needs a good beat down and then maybe he will be loveable, and ahhh the extra cast of characters are so vivid and delightful. To run your fingers through Armand's hair, or delight in the child vampire Claudia (actually under 10 in the book not a tween as in the movie) mentally growing up but confined to a child's dependent body, or Laurent making his first appearance at the end of the book. I find Interview to still be my least favorite of the collection, a little slow at times and a little too hurried at other times, but overall 100 times better than any of the vampire books released in the last 5 years or so. Anne Rice has such an amazing writing style, the scenes, places, characters and emotions come to life in her books like no other author I have found. I can almost feel the rain on my skin and smell the kerosene lamps burning in her books. The Anne Rice vampires are struggling with right/wrong, good/evil, God/Devil, human relationships/immortal relationships which bring a depth to the characters and makes me feel for them and with them. Beware, there are no love stories and no modern chic clubs for these vampires, only immortal history and the search for meaning in all they have seen over the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Essential Vampire Reading

    OK, so I'll admit that there were parts of this that were hard to work through. I'm not big on lengthy descriptions of scenery or feelings or any of that stuff. I am however, completely enthralled by the relationships presented in this story. I assure you that it is essential literature for anyone interested in vampiric stories. Somehow, it becomes OK that Louise is in love with a five year old girl . . .and then a male vampire he's just met, because this kind of love is beautiful.

    I have to warn you, though, the ending sucks. I wish I could put it another way, but there you have it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book, but a bit strange

    This book was recommended to me by a friend. I did like it overall, but it was written a bit fancier than I like, if that's the right word. I guess if I were to compare Rice's vampire novels to, say, Kim Harrison's world of witches and vampires (and others), Rice's would be like the elegant drama that may receive a few Oscar nods, while Harrison's are more action, comedy, and fun. I admit I typically prefer the latter because I like the books I'm just reading for fun to be, well, fun. There is plenty of action in this book, though, and it obviously has had great commercial success (and a good movie made from it), so I did enjoy it. Don't expect any cheer out of this book, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    interesting is not the word

    i read the book some years back and it was so outstanding that i couldn't put the book down at all. anne rice really did a good job on the whole reflection of experiences in a whole new light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    2nd time's a charm

    I read this book when I was about 15 or 16. I didn't enjoy it then. Now I'm 31 and I really did enjoy it. I think the first time I read it her descriptiveness of everything was too distracting for me. Although I like her writing style I think that the book is a little too poetic. The pretty wording takes away from the story. It could move faster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    beautiful

    While reading this book i felt like i was reading one long poem--Anne Rice's writing is just so beautiful and elegant. However, a lot of what she writes is i guess to genius for me to grasp and just goes right over my head! It was a book like i have never read before, and worth it, despite how utterly depressing it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Interview with the Vampire

    This movie has been on my top 5 favorites which really is a good movie. It¿s been last year that I¿ve seen it but never forgot how the movie went though I did forget their names but never the movie. The saddest part of the movie is when some men took the girl and the women to this chamber, where on the ceiling is open, they were trying to get out before the sun rose up high and turn them into ashes and this cute vampire guy was locked inside a coffin and he felt their pain and I began to cry. The scary part was on the end and don¿t think I am going to tell you how it end because all vampire fans who did not see this movie, I recommend you guys to see it to see the whole story and its also breathtaking. I hope it could be one your favorites as well. OH MY GOD THIS IS A GOOD MOVIE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Interview with the Vampire

    This movie has been on my top 5 favorites which really is a good movie. It¿s been last year that I¿ve seen it but never forgot how the movie went though I did forget their names but never the movie. The saddest part of the movie is when some men took the girl and the women to this chamber, where on the ceiling is open, they were trying to get out before the sun rose up high and turn them into ashes and this cute vampire guy was locked inside a coffin and he felt their pain and I began to cry. The scary part was on the end and don¿t think I am going to tell you how it end because all vampire fans who did not see this movie, I recommend you guys to see it to see the whole story and its also breathtaking. I hope it could be one your favorites as well. OH MY GOD THIS IS A GOOD MOVIE!!! but i neaver read the book -_-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11