BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 940 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(580)

4 Star

(213)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

The Epic Tale From Simple Human to Immortal Being

Interview With The Vampire, the first of many books in the Vampire Chronicles, introduces the reader to Louis de Pointe du Lac and the life he lived, stretching over 200 years. Narrated by Louis himself, he allows himself to be interviewed by an unsuspecting Daniel Mal...
Interview With The Vampire, the first of many books in the Vampire Chronicles, introduces the reader to Louis de Pointe du Lac and the life he lived, stretching over 200 years. Narrated by Louis himself, he allows himself to be interviewed by an unsuspecting Daniel Malloy and he tells of his heart break, his "birth into darkness", his adventures as a creature of the night, and the moral battle he has within himself between his human conscience and the thirst of a vampire. He also sheds light on his volatile relationship with his maker, Lestat de Lioncourt (whose origins are explained in the next book of The Vampire Chronicles).

Anne Rice describes her scenes to almost every detail, allowing the reader to vividly see and almost feel the sadness and despair within Louis life. Incredible piece of work and a great beginning to a fantastic vampire series. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fix of horror, passion, drama, and blood. And I would definitely suggest this book to those who want to avoid the juvenile, mediocre quality of Twilight. The Vampire Chronicles is one of the best vampire series out there, easily a classic.

Also, if you enjoy the book, I very well suggest watching the film. It stays close to the book, but also has Anne Rice herself as an adviser for the film.

posted by deaf_dumb_blind on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Not what I thought.

I expected more from this novel. It was well written, the language was indeed beautiful, but the plot itself just droned on. It was too slow paced for my taste. Overall it was fine.

posted by tiffany_cullen on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 213 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    beautiful

    While reading this book i felt like i was reading one long poem--Anne Rice's writing is just so beautiful and elegant. However, a lot of what she writes is i guess to genius for me to grasp and just goes right over my head! It was a book like i have never read before, and worth it, despite how utterly depressing it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Interview with the Vampire

    This movie has been on my top 5 favorites which really is a good movie. It¿s been last year that I¿ve seen it but never forgot how the movie went though I did forget their names but never the movie. The saddest part of the movie is when some men took the girl and the women to this chamber, where on the ceiling is open, they were trying to get out before the sun rose up high and turn them into ashes and this cute vampire guy was locked inside a coffin and he felt their pain and I began to cry. The scary part was on the end and don¿t think I am going to tell you how it end because all vampire fans who did not see this movie, I recommend you guys to see it to see the whole story and its also breathtaking. I hope it could be one your favorites as well. OH MY GOD THIS IS A GOOD MOVIE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Interview with the Vampire

    This movie has been on my top 5 favorites which really is a good movie. It¿s been last year that I¿ve seen it but never forgot how the movie went though I did forget their names but never the movie. The saddest part of the movie is when some men took the girl and the women to this chamber, where on the ceiling is open, they were trying to get out before the sun rose up high and turn them into ashes and this cute vampire guy was locked inside a coffin and he felt their pain and I began to cry. The scary part was on the end and don¿t think I am going to tell you how it end because all vampire fans who did not see this movie, I recommend you guys to see it to see the whole story and its also breathtaking. I hope it could be one your favorites as well. OH MY GOD THIS IS A GOOD MOVIE!!! but i neaver read the book -_-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    Excellent Novel!

    This book was really brilliant, and though the movie was quite brilliant as well, it had a lot of small differences. I would recommend reading the book first, because i saw the film first and i liked it better than the book for that reason. It was so creative, and mysterious, and had me watching my back for vampire-like people at the end of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    My first vampire read!

    I have never read an Anne Rice novel until recently. Everyone I have talked to said she is a very good writer, so I gave it a go! I must say I will have to read the entire Chronicles now! The one thing I think I will take most from this novel is that to be immortal is something to be feared. We as mortals go through all the human emotions of life until it finally ends, but it never ends for them. Great, entrancing novel-yet somewhat saddening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    Incredible!

    Anne Rice's writing is beautiful. This was such a deep book. I loved all the description. Even when I came to a boring part i kept reading because the writing was amazing. Great story too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Very good

    A very good book and hard to put down. If you enjoy the movie you must read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    Vampire shadows

    This book was an excellent read. I enjoyed it greatly and once I got into it, it was hard to put down. I believe Anne Rice is a terrific author and that the Vampire chronicles is an amazing series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Better Than I Thought

    This is the book Anne Rice used to launch the Vampire Chronicles. Despite being (undeservedly) bashed by the critics upon publication and selling disappointingly, I think this book is very good. I don't want to give away anything to people that haven't read it yet, but we meet characters whose actions will have an effect for literally centuries to come. I only gave it four stars because after 3/4 of the book, you really have to struggle to keep interested in the book, because it loses it's allure for a little bit. But don't worry, it gets it all back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    A great read

    I really liked this book. It was poetic and and the charaters were great. But sometimes it was hard to pick which charater to like best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2001

    Very Good

    Interview with a vampire was pretty good. I enjoyed reading it. Anne Rice makes the story believable. I just started reading Queen of the damned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2000

    CHILLS AND THRILLS!!!!

    After carefully reading this novel five times I was impressed at the unique outlook that Anne Rice took in writing it. This book is not your average vampire tale of neck biting, blood, and gore. The historical settings, detail, romance, and very unique relationships involved made it a book to remember. The reader was made to feel present for the events taking place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    WAy Better Than The Movie!!

    i first watched the movie before i read this book..the movie was great.. but it was nothing compared to the book! louis is a magnificent character..Lestat (the vampire that made Louis into one) appears to be more coldhearted in this book.. Anne rice gives a rich and fullfilling description of the settings..it makes you feel like you're right there with all the characters. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 213 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11