Customer Reviews for

Intimate Enemies

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 33 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Good story

    I thought this book was an exciting, romantic read. However, I get SO frustrated with female characters having to be so independent and stubborn that they continually make stupid, unreasonable decisions and choices. Too often, their selfishness results in hurting others, and placing them in danger, especially the men who somehow still love them, even after being treated like dirt for most of the story. Yeah, i get that there's always an underlying reason for the rude behavior, but would most men really put up with that? Speaking of men...... Rio is HOT! LOVE him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Intimate Enemies is my first read from author Joan Swan, though

    Intimate Enemies is my first read from author Joan Swan, though I own her current Phoenix Rising books which are sitting on my TBR shelf right now. And I have to say, I was impressed. 




    Cassie Christo returns to her childhood home in Baja, Mexico in search of answers for her mother and step-brothers death as well as a way to get her corrupt step-father out. She has bitten off more than she can chew though when she finds a human smuggling ring, gang wars, a sexy and oh so tempting head of security and a web of lies. But she is not going to let all that stop her from finding out the truth, especially the sexy and tempting part...that she plans on taking a hands on approach to.
    Rio is deep undercover for the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement and just weeks away from wrapping up his case when the beautiful and spirited Cassie returns home. Forbidden to get too close because of his job but unable to resist her presence, Rio is in a tug-of-war with his feelings for her. When his boss tells him to seduce Cassie to get her out of his hair, Rio is both terrified and aroused. He must find a way to complete his mission while keeping her safe and hope that he doesn't damage her trust so badly in the process that she wants nothing to do with him when this is all over with.




    Intimate Enemies is a sexy, gritty, adrenaline rush. Packed full of action, angst and romance the story easily swept me away into the heat of Mexico, cringing at the dangers that surround these characters and smelling the scent of the sea in the air. The characters were enticing and the word building authentic. Rio is a hero to love. Sweet but full of secrets, protective yet dangerous, and deliciously naughty. He tried his hardest to resist Cassie but when he finally gave in, I was so glad, the wait was well worth it! It was heartbreaking, the turmoil Rio went through though, having to deceive Cassie or act differently in public with her because of his cover or when he couldn't tell her the truth even when she was begging. Cassie was a great heroine as well; strong, determined, caring and intelligent but she frustrated me a bit because she suspected Rio of being a cop and instead of understanding some of the undercover aspects and the very real danger he was in, which she should have since one of her best friends is a cop, she put him on a guilt trip over his dishonesty and almost blew his cover numerous times. I suppose I just expected more from her in this area. The plot moved at a consistent pace without a lull and I was surprised at the end by the number of side and secondary characters involved in this one operation. An exciting and enjoyable read, I would recommend Intimate Enemies to any romantic suspense fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Edgy & Sexy! So, while waiting for the release of Blaze, bo

    Edgy & Sexy!

    So, while waiting for the release of Blaze, book #2 of Joan Swan's Phoenix Rising series, I started reading Swan's self-published book, Intimate Enemies. I've read and loved Fever, and I already knew she can write amazing romance-suspense, but...Holy guacamole! I love it when I'm surprised in a good way, and Intimate Enemies did just that...it was a surprise hit for me! I think I actually loved this slightly more than Fever. Sorry, Teague, Rio has secured a place in my heart as one of my favorite alpha heroes!

    With an enthralling story line filled with danger, corruption, gang turf war, kidnapping threat, and a sleazy smuggler who wants to make a big name for himself, it all leads to the plot wrapping up with thrilling action!

    “You know why. Because I don't have one hundred percent Rio here. Because I don't know who Rio really is. You have all of me, but...how much of you do I have?”

    Cassie Christo is back at home in Baja, Mexico with the goal and determination to find out the truth behind the explosion that killed her mother and stepbrother. Little did she know that she would walk straight into the path of danger. Rio Santana works for Cassie's stepfather, Saul, and has been working undercover on a year-long sting operation to bring the guy down. Cassie's unexpected presence during this time could ruin all the plans. She's trying to figure out if Rio is good or bad, but her learning who he really is endangers both of them.

    “From the erotic movement of his tongue to the smooth slide of his lips to the powerful movements of his body, he made the simple act of kissing both animalistic and artful.”

    Cassie is one strong, independent woman! She's an ER doctor, a survivor, a woman who won't stop searching for answers. Deep down she wants to believe that Rio is good. Rio can't help but fall hard for the beautiful Cassie, and trying to keep her safe while keeping his boss happy is not easy. Hats off to the author for keeping the sexual tension between Rio and Cassie going and going until it leads to a must-have-tequila-shot-after-reading-that-wowza love scene! So hot and so worth it getting there!

    “Emotion geysered up from deep inside him. So deep he hadn't seen it lurking. The sensations and feelings ambushed him all at once, a blitz attack that overwhelmed and shattered every barrier.”

    About halfway through, I just wanted to take my time and not rush my reading, trying to draw out reaching the end. I enjoy this author's writing very much. The emotions between Rio & Cassie seem authentic for the situation they are in, and the writing is descriptive and intense without being too over the top. Listen up, Hollywood! While reading, I thought the story would make great movie material! I'd love to see this story play out on the big screen one day.

    Intimate Enemies is an excellent choice if you're in a mood for steamy romance-suspense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Intimate Enemies is an impressive novel that got me hooked right

    Intimate Enemies is an impressive novel that got me hooked right from the first few pages. This action packed, heart-pounding suspense, love story played like a great movie in my head. The plot, characters and dialogues were portrayed realistically and definitely engaging.

    Mafias in Mexico and various gangs rule the streets and most are involved in drugs, kidnapping, human trafficking, and murders. This book is full of corruptions but, truth be told, this story is of fiction but still holds a fraction of truth about this country, unfortunately.

    Fortunately for us, Ms. Swan has given us a super sexy undercover cop to save the day and boy, did he ever. Rio Santana exudes confidence and reeks of alpha traits. It was so hard not fall in love with him. I found a picture of Ms. Swan’s Character Inspiration of Rio in one of the social medias and I just had to share. This man is hot and I had him in my head the whole time.


    Of course, with a beautiful hero comes a beautiful heroine. Cassie Christo is not only beautiful she is also smart, independent, proud but hardheaded, jaded and the stepdaughter of the man Rio plans to put away. Yup, Ms. Swan doesn’t make it easy on Rio but they were great together!

    Heavy on the romance element but the suspense is just as strong. Ms. Swan had me at the edge of my seat from the plot and had me holding my breath from the sexual tension and the steamy sex scenes. Overall, a highly recommended read and I cannot wait to see what she has next for this series.

    *Review copy provided by author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cassie Christo is on a mission to find out answers and put to re

    Cassie Christo is on a mission to find out answers and put to rest the demons of the past. She has faced a lot of things and always questioned what was really the truth. She spent six months trying to figure out what was the truth behind the tragic deaths of her mother and step-brother.
    Rio Santana has been living in Ensenada and working as Head of Security for the past year. He did whatever his boss, Saul, needed of him. This included keeping an eye on Cassie.
    Cassie and Rio met 6 months prior at her mother's funeral. Rio was the "mystery" man who gave her a shoulder to cry on. She didn't know anything about him but thought of him often. This is why she was in such shock when she came face to face with him again. She didn't know who she could trust and her conflicting emotions towards Rio made it hard for her to stay away from him. And for Rio, he had to try to keep his feelings under control so he could get his job done. But unfortunately for him, Saul ordered Cassie to be his new job. He felt the need to keep her safe and this kept him in her company. This added to the demons that Rio was carrying within himself.

    I had a hard time putting this book down. It was well written and full of description. It had my imagination going in many directions because it didn't tell you up front what exactly was going on. I was intrigued by the connection that Rio and Cassie had. Cassie was a fighter and stubborn and Rio knew how to break down the walls by not giving in to her every demand.
    Cassie did a lot of research to try to put all the pieces to the puzzle together and never truly grasped how much danger she was in or could put those around her in. But she was determined to get her way. So down to the final piece of the story, her strong personality shows as she becomes a handful for more people than just Rio.
    Intimate Enemies is definitely worth the read and Joan Swan captured h er characters very well. I can't wait for the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 33 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2