Customer Reviews for

Into the Dark (Brenna Spector Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers' Favorite "Into the D

Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers' Favorite

"Into the Dark" by Alison Gaylin is one of those books that will haunt you after you close the back cover. Investigator Brenna Spector accepts a new case in which a webcam performer has disappeared. When Brenna w...
Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers' Favorite

"Into the Dark" by Alison Gaylin is one of those books that will haunt you after you close the back cover. Investigator Brenna Spector accepts a new case in which a webcam performer has disappeared. When Brenna watches the video for clues, she discovers that Lula Belle, the performer in the webcam knows stories that only her sister Clea would know. But, Clea disappeared years ago. Brenna solicits the assistance of colleague Trent who has issues of his own but is highly committed to the interests of his boss Brenna. The more Brenna comes into contact with those who knew Lula Bella, the more convinced she becomes that she is, indeed, looking for her long-lost sister Clea. The story interweaves lies, sex, intrigue and mystery in amounts that will discourage readers from texting or answering cell phone calls.

Gaylin provides lessons for would-be authors as she skillfully develops leads and then takes the reader to yet another fork in the road. The reader must then choose another suspect and walk where the clues lead. Chances are that there will be yet another choice of suspects waiting. The characters are loveable, hateable and just plain intriguing. Some are so real that you'll swear they live next door. Others are ones you hope will never cross your path. Interspersed with the case clues are Brenna's own intrusive recollections of times with her sister. The juxtaposition of the memories and the clues is masterfully done to the point that most readers will be wondering how a single moment in time might, indeed, change their own lives. You'll thank yourself for picking up this one!

posted by ReadersFavorite on February 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I only gave it one star for the sake of giving it a star.

Not worth the money I paid for it. I found it to be a confusing book to follow. Whenever I read a book, in my mind I am in the book. I can picture what is happening as if it was a movie playing in my head, with this book that didnot happen. Very disappointed.

posted by cmac40 on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers' Favorite "Into the D

    Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers' Favorite

    "Into the Dark" by Alison Gaylin is one of those books that will haunt you after you close the back cover. Investigator Brenna Spector accepts a new case in which a webcam performer has disappeared. When Brenna watches the video for clues, she discovers that Lula Belle, the performer in the webcam knows stories that only her sister Clea would know. But, Clea disappeared years ago. Brenna solicits the assistance of colleague Trent who has issues of his own but is highly committed to the interests of his boss Brenna. The more Brenna comes into contact with those who knew Lula Bella, the more convinced she becomes that she is, indeed, looking for her long-lost sister Clea. The story interweaves lies, sex, intrigue and mystery in amounts that will discourage readers from texting or answering cell phone calls.

    Gaylin provides lessons for would-be authors as she skillfully develops leads and then takes the reader to yet another fork in the road. The reader must then choose another suspect and walk where the clues lead. Chances are that there will be yet another choice of suspects waiting. The characters are loveable, hateable and just plain intriguing. Some are so real that you'll swear they live next door. Others are ones you hope will never cross your path. Interspersed with the case clues are Brenna's own intrusive recollections of times with her sister. The juxtaposition of the memories and the clues is masterfully done to the point that most readers will be wondering how a single moment in time might, indeed, change their own lives. You'll thank yourself for picking up this one!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    I only gave it one star for the sake of giving it a star.

    Not worth the money I paid for it. I found it to be a confusing book to follow. Whenever I read a book, in my mind I am in the book. I can picture what is happening as if it was a movie playing in my head, with this book that didnot happen. Very disappointed.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    &hearts Welcome to Stoneclan &hearts

    A tall black tabby with peircing blue eyes pads out of a den in the ground and leaps on a tall branch. "Call me Ebonystar," the tabby says kindly. "I want to welcome everyone to Stoneclan. We are a clan that strives for greatness and the good of everyone. Let me show you around." The leader jumps down and beckons you foward with her tail. She pads around, showing you the clan. <p>
    Res one: Welcome and map<p>
    Res two: Main camp-a large clearing with trees surounding it. The large tree in the middle serves as a place for the leader to make anouncements.<p>
    Res three: Bios<p>
    Res four: Warriors den-a small cave like place in the wall near the entrance of camp. Moss naturaly grows there so it is nice and comfrotable.<p>
    Res five: Apprentice's den-similer to the warriors den, but a bit smaller.<p>
    Res six: Med. cat den-a large crack in a rock off to the side of camp. Some herbs naturaly grow there so the med. cat has a less difficult time.<p>
    Res seven: Leaders den-a ditch under the root of the large tree in the middle of the clearing. It is nice and roomy.<p>
    Res eight: Elders den-a cozy place under on of the trees surounding the clearing<p>
    Res nine: High branch-a branch on the large tree in the middle of the clearing. It reaches out over the leaders den so the leader may easily get from the den to the branch and vice-versa.<p>
    Res ten: Hunting grounds-past the clearing. Plenty of prey, even in leaf-bare.<p>
    Res eleven: Border-the edge of Stoneclan territory.<p>
    The black tabby turns around and speaks. "This is Stoneclan territory. I ask that you don't post here and that you ask to join in the main camp." She nods to you and pads back into her den.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I love Alison Gaylin's suspense e-books. You should read the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Great story

    An original story! Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Love it!

    Looking forward to another installment. Loved this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Wheres nursery???

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    3.5 stars

    This story had potential, but never reallu got its hooks into me. It was easy to put down and walk away from.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    Enjoyed this book

    Best read in order. Enjoyed this series. Flash backs are a little confusing sometimes but really enjoyed reading. More understanding and sympathy of the frustration of her flashback disorder. Reading through series and can't wait to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Did not finish

    This book only heald my intrest for 105 pages.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1