Customer Reviews for

Into the Darkest Corner

Average Rating 4.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(211)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Gripping and guttural

Catherine Bailey, like all of us, has a past. However her past has drastically scarred her, leaving her crippled with obsessions and compulsions and avoidance issues. The doctors call it by simple little acronyms like "OCD" and "PTSD". I think Catherine would simply cal...
Catherine Bailey, like all of us, has a past. However her past has drastically scarred her, leaving her crippled with obsessions and compulsions and avoidance issues. The doctors call it by simple little acronyms like "OCD" and "PTSD". I think Catherine would simply call it "life shattering". Several years ago, she had a violent and obsessive boyfriend, leaving her paranoid and always looking over her shoulder, never trusting her surroundings.

Stuart is the upstairs neighbor. Being a therapist, he seems to see beyond all of the compulsions to the woman that lies beneath, and he is drawn to the woman she was and he knows she can be again.

I found this gritty and emotional story quite fascinating. When looking at Catherine "today", you see a broken woman, weak, out-of-control, totally irrational in her behavior. Yet the way that the book is written, shifting quickly from the past to the present and back again, you get to slowly walk through her past relationship, watching it build little-by-little. As you do, you find that the present-day actions and behaviors that previously seemed irrational begin to make total sense. She isn't crazy at all. Her obsessive behaviors seem almost "right" in light of the past.

A note of warning: This book can be quite graphic, violent and vulgar. But it is real, believable, and not exploitative.

My final word: Guttural, this story reaches deep within, leaving you a little uneasy as you think perhaps "There but by the grace of God go I." How a person can enter your life so innocuously and damage it so irreparably. How you could be taken from a strong and powerful woman, and left shattered and fearful. And mixed in amidst the twisted fears and terror is a touching romantic story. Frightening but intriguing and, in the end, utterly fascinating.

posted by nfmgirl on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Could have been so much more

This book took me about three times longer than other books to finish because parts of it just went on and on without seeming to have progress. To be honest I almost quit it half way through but I wanted to stick with it. I lost interest often but I felt compelled to go...
This book took me about three times longer than other books to finish because parts of it just went on and on without seeming to have progress. To be honest I almost quit it half way through but I wanted to stick with it. I lost interest often but I felt compelled to go on. I wanted Catherine to have her moment of victory. The storyline was brutal to be sure, yet Catherine’s quick recovery seemed off once she started therapy.

Most disappointing to me was the ending when she finally has to face off against him. It felt anti-climactic…almost over before it began. It lacked the “tour de force of suspense” that the synopsis promised. That scene should have lasted a while and and have the readers biting their fingernails! A missed opportunity to be sure.

I think overall what was lacking for me was her attraction to Lee in the first place. There was never a time where I thought he was just such an awesome guy in the beginning that would make her so attached to him. He was kind of a turd from day 1 so I didn’t see the charisma. It wasn’t bad…just…ok.

Remember Sleeping With The Enemy? That guy made you want to crap your damn pants! He was a mental mind freak! This guy…I don’t know…just “meh”.

posted by OurBookAddiction on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 366 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    Well written

    Very detailed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Exceptional

    The past and the present advance hand to hand as alternating chapters in this disturbing story of violence and abuse. I found it facinating how the same character changes in the past from carefree and confident to a victim of domestic abuse, while, in the present, she goes from a shadow of who she was to a woman in control of her life and fear. Fantastic writing, suspense keeps you on the edge, and you just have to continue reading. Fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Drones on and on and on

    This story could be 200 pages shorter and nothing would be missed. I only finished it because I knew therehad to beanactual story there somewhere.

    Dont waste your time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    WOW!

    If you ever wondered how an intelligent woman could get sucked into an abusive relationship with her beau, then read this book as a gruesome primer. The story is entirely believable and unfortunately similar incidents play out all over the world every day. As a psychological thriller, it does not dissappoint. Lee, the psychopath, is as cunning as can be. He's a good example of an abuser: someone who seems normal or even attractive to others, is a skillful lier, and knows he has "authority" behind him to give him credibility. This book would be good to discuss in a book club. Be prepared for the raw horror of domestic abuse laid out in black and white. In a twisted irony, this book could actually help someone understand if she/he is in an abusive relationship. Seeing parallels from the story in their lives could help bolster someone being abused to seek help before their situation escalates. The author did a phenomenal job with this topic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    THE MOST CHILLING TALE I HAVE READ THIS CENTURY!

    Taking the reader into the pit of domestic abuse, with a stunning play-by-play account of how an educated,modern woman can become a victim, Elizabeth Haynes has written the most chilling tale I have read this century. Her research and subsequent insight into the life of a person afflicted with OCD and PTSD is first rate. When the heroine is viewed as possibly unbalanced because of her hyper-vigilance, a chord is struck that resonates with every victim of violence. Seeing the hopeful yet painful progression of Cathy from secluded victim to empowered heroine is a trip worth taking.
    As soon as the chills and goosebumps are gone, I will be checking my doors and windows, making sure the dog is on duty, and then trying to sleep.
    Keep an eye on this author. I highly recommend this book for discussion groups.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Great read

    Good story. I had to get used to the chapters jumping back and forth in time but that didn't take long. I really liked Cathy and was rooting for her. Had the final outcome that I prefer. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Super!

    Couldn't put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Riveting

    A riveting read. Could not put it down!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great read

    Enjoyed the book, start to finish. Looking for more by this author right away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Great book for a great price

    This book was impossible to put down. The format was creative and because of that, you look at the main character and feel like you are reading about two different people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    I could not stop reading this book, the intensity built as I rea

    I could not stop reading this book, the intensity built as I read until I couldn't wait to see what happened next. I highly recommend it, and I will be watching for Elizabeth Haynes' next novel .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Great realalistic novel!

    I could not believe this is the authors first novel. It is very well written and such a gripping srory. This book hit so close to reality for me. Being once in a very similar situation I totally understand what the main character was going through. This story so saley happens way to often in real life. A handsome charming man enters your life, everything is picture perfect, he wins over all your friends and family to the point where you feel they like him more then you. Then comes the jelousey wich at first you may feel flattered by, but don't. Eventually you find yourself cut off from friends and even your family since "HE" does not like you going anywhere, doesn't trust you. Before you know it he has convinced you that nobody else would ever want you. He degrades you until you have no selfesteme left, no self worth and no hope. On top of all the verbal abuse he also physically abuses you and turns it around so your to blame. If you are lucky enough to get away, you have mental issues. Your constantly looking over your shoulder, develope OCD disorders, you don't trust anyone or let anybody get close to you. There is just so much more so much lost. This book is gripping and so damn good! A MUST read to understand how this can happen to ANY woman.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    A

    I could not put it down. Excellent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Wonderful book!!

    Just finished this, read all day. I honestly could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Loved it

    I was suprised when i read at the end that it was her first novel. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Excellant!

    Wonderful plot, lots of mystery and suspense. Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Good read

    Only compaint...couldnt put it down until i read the entire book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    yo mamma

    I never read the book but i gave it 5stars lol

    1 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Its 12.99 not 1.99

    It used to be12.99 not 1.99!!!

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2015

    Very gritty and suspenseful

    This was a very good and suspenseful book. While I have read books and seen movies about crazy abusive men, Lifetime movies do them all the time, it was still very different because of Cathy suffering from OCD and PTSD. It feels real and I understood more why she did the things she did because of Lee. Scary because sometimes like the main character, I couldn't tell if Lee was really after her again or if she was having a mental breakdown. Great suspenseful psychological thriller but also a bit violent and graphic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 366 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19