Customer Reviews for

Into the Darkest Corner: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 353 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(203)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Gripping and guttural

Catherine Bailey, like all of us, has a past. However her past has drastically scarred her, leaving her crippled with obsessions and compulsions and avoidance issues. The doctors call it by simple little acronyms like "OCD" and "PTSD". I think Catherine would simply cal...
Catherine Bailey, like all of us, has a past. However her past has drastically scarred her, leaving her crippled with obsessions and compulsions and avoidance issues. The doctors call it by simple little acronyms like "OCD" and "PTSD". I think Catherine would simply call it "life shattering". Several years ago, she had a violent and obsessive boyfriend, leaving her paranoid and always looking over her shoulder, never trusting her surroundings.

Stuart is the upstairs neighbor. Being a therapist, he seems to see beyond all of the compulsions to the woman that lies beneath, and he is drawn to the woman she was and he knows she can be again.

I found this gritty and emotional story quite fascinating. When looking at Catherine "today", you see a broken woman, weak, out-of-control, totally irrational in her behavior. Yet the way that the book is written, shifting quickly from the past to the present and back again, you get to slowly walk through her past relationship, watching it build little-by-little. As you do, you find that the present-day actions and behaviors that previously seemed irrational begin to make total sense. She isn't crazy at all. Her obsessive behaviors seem almost "right" in light of the past.

A note of warning: This book can be quite graphic, violent and vulgar. But it is real, believable, and not exploitative.

My final word: Guttural, this story reaches deep within, leaving you a little uneasy as you think perhaps "There but by the grace of God go I." How a person can enter your life so innocuously and damage it so irreparably. How you could be taken from a strong and powerful woman, and left shattered and fearful. And mixed in amidst the twisted fears and terror is a touching romantic story. Frightening but intriguing and, in the end, utterly fascinating.

posted by nfmgirl on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Could have been so much more

This book took me about three times longer than other books to finish because parts of it just went on and on without seeming to have progress. To be honest I almost quit it half way through but I wanted to stick with it. I lost interest often but I felt compelled to go...
This book took me about three times longer than other books to finish because parts of it just went on and on without seeming to have progress. To be honest I almost quit it half way through but I wanted to stick with it. I lost interest often but I felt compelled to go on. I wanted Catherine to have her moment of victory. The storyline was brutal to be sure, yet Catherine’s quick recovery seemed off once she started therapy.

Most disappointing to me was the ending when she finally has to face off against him. It felt anti-climactic…almost over before it began. It lacked the “tour de force of suspense” that the synopsis promised. That scene should have lasted a while and and have the readers biting their fingernails! A missed opportunity to be sure.

I think overall what was lacking for me was her attraction to Lee in the first place. There was never a time where I thought he was just such an awesome guy in the beginning that would make her so attached to him. He was kind of a turd from day 1 so I didn’t see the charisma. It wasn’t bad…just…ok.

Remember Sleeping With The Enemy? That guy made you want to crap your damn pants! He was a mental mind freak! This guy…I don’t know…just “meh”.

posted by OurBookAddiction on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping and guttural

    Catherine Bailey, like all of us, has a past. However her past has drastically scarred her, leaving her crippled with obsessions and compulsions and avoidance issues. The doctors call it by simple little acronyms like "OCD" and "PTSD". I think Catherine would simply call it "life shattering". Several years ago, she had a violent and obsessive boyfriend, leaving her paranoid and always looking over her shoulder, never trusting her surroundings.

    Stuart is the upstairs neighbor. Being a therapist, he seems to see beyond all of the compulsions to the woman that lies beneath, and he is drawn to the woman she was and he knows she can be again.

    I found this gritty and emotional story quite fascinating. When looking at Catherine "today", you see a broken woman, weak, out-of-control, totally irrational in her behavior. Yet the way that the book is written, shifting quickly from the past to the present and back again, you get to slowly walk through her past relationship, watching it build little-by-little. As you do, you find that the present-day actions and behaviors that previously seemed irrational begin to make total sense. She isn't crazy at all. Her obsessive behaviors seem almost "right" in light of the past.

    A note of warning: This book can be quite graphic, violent and vulgar. But it is real, believable, and not exploitative.

    My final word: Guttural, this story reaches deep within, leaving you a little uneasy as you think perhaps "There but by the grace of God go I." How a person can enter your life so innocuously and damage it so irreparably. How you could be taken from a strong and powerful woman, and left shattered and fearful. And mixed in amidst the twisted fears and terror is a touching romantic story. Frightening but intriguing and, in the end, utterly fascinating.

    41 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Believable and Horrible, Very Well Written

    If you’ve ever wondered what it’s like to have an obsessive compulsive disorder, this book will show you a view into that world. The author definitely did her research and had great reasoning’s behind why Cathy does the things she does. Her compulsions are so believable that I couldn’t imagine a world where she didn’t do these things.

    At the start of the book I was confused as to what was going on as each chapter moves back and forth in time. With the name change from Catherine (in the past) to Cathy (in the future) I didn’t catch that they were the same person for awhile. Maybe if I had read the synopsis of the book more recently I would have known that, but because I read a digital edition I didn’t have that handy, and I like to be surprised when I’m reading.

    When I was getting close to the end I was hoping and hoping that the author wouldn’t take the easy way out – and she didn’t, so I was totally pleased. There are a number of hard to read parts to the book – the abuse Catherine suffers is torturous, but reading it is well worth getting into her mind and feelings.

    This book is 611 pages long, but so easy to read, it flew by without me knowing how long it really way. (I honestly just saw the page count as I was typing the review.) Haynes is an author I will keep an eye on!

    ARC reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings If a book can g

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    If a book can give you the creepies, then this one is first on my list. I have read books where I am left on edge or wondering who dun it, but this one just made me want to check the security in our condo and make sure the dog would bark at anything other than the wind.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Good book. Gripping story.

    I found the every other chapter is a flashback set up a bit tiresome, but it definitely kept you reading it was so easy to find out what happened next. Descriptions of the characters state of mind were really good. It felt like you really were getting in her head. Not an easy thing to do. I'd give five stars but i feel like you always have to leave a little wiggle room.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Excellent

    I dont understand everyones confusion about the story going from present to past, it was not confusing at all, all you need to do is read the title of the chapter! Great book, could not put it down!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Tense

    A srory of a woman in an abusive relationship is very suspenseful. This is Ms. Haynes' first novel and she did a bang-up job. She has a knack for taking the mundane (I arrived home from work) and creating a very tense atmosphere where you are expecting the "bogey-man" to appear at any time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Not a lighthrarted read

    Wow! What a book. I stayed up all night reading this page turner. The book is dark, gritty, violent, and bone chilling. Yet through the whole thing I was glued, I had to know how the protagonist was going to finally be released from her violent past. Warning: Anyone who has suffered through any kind of violent situation, may find this hard to get through, howver, it could offer some kind solace in knowing they are not alone, and there can be light at the of their dsrkness

    Not going to write an essay on the book as many of the reviewers like to do. I'm just going to tell if I think it's worth the investment in buying it or not. For me, it was worth it. I was truly swept away with the authors story telling; so true and authentic in every sense of the word. She has a gift of creating and using language that is poetic and beautiful, and never faulters or loses momentum. This author is quite gifted. I can see this being a movie one day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Great book for a great price

    This book was impossible to put down. The format was creative and because of that, you look at the main character and feel like you are reading about two different people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Great Book, could not put it down once I started!

    Great Book, could not put it down once I started!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Thrillet

    Good thriller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    NOT MY KIND OF STORY BUT - - -

    Could not put it down. Gripping!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Dimples4625

    A great psychological thriller! The author pulled you into the story. I felt like I was there with the main character, experiencing the horror of it all with her.
    Would make a thrilling movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Great Book!

    A true page turner. Keeps the readers interest until the very end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    interesting

    first time I have read this author and I will definitely read more of her work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Very good

    Keeps you checking everything.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Great book!

    Kept my interest! Intense at times. Literally had my heart racing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Good reading

    Gives you insight into the trials & terrors of someone abused. Thought it was well written & very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    This was a suspenseful read. It is a realistic look-from the per

    This was a suspenseful read. It is a realistic look-from the person who is being abused- into how someone can become trapped, even though it is a fiction novel. It brings an awareness to this issue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Really frightening.

    At first, the book was a bit (a lot) confusing. Then I realized there was only one woman, and it was told in 2 different time periods. Each chapter was about a woman who behaved differently, all because of one terrifying man in her life.
    Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    love elizabeth haynes' writing

    will keep you awake till you finish reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6