Customer Reviews for

Into the Darkest Corner: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 365 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(211)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Gripping and guttural

Catherine Bailey, like all of us, has a past. However her past has drastically scarred her, leaving her crippled with obsessions and compulsions and avoidance issues. The doctors call it by simple little acronyms like "OCD" and "PTSD". I think Catherine would simply cal...
Catherine Bailey, like all of us, has a past. However her past has drastically scarred her, leaving her crippled with obsessions and compulsions and avoidance issues. The doctors call it by simple little acronyms like "OCD" and "PTSD". I think Catherine would simply call it "life shattering". Several years ago, she had a violent and obsessive boyfriend, leaving her paranoid and always looking over her shoulder, never trusting her surroundings.

Stuart is the upstairs neighbor. Being a therapist, he seems to see beyond all of the compulsions to the woman that lies beneath, and he is drawn to the woman she was and he knows she can be again.

I found this gritty and emotional story quite fascinating. When looking at Catherine "today", you see a broken woman, weak, out-of-control, totally irrational in her behavior. Yet the way that the book is written, shifting quickly from the past to the present and back again, you get to slowly walk through her past relationship, watching it build little-by-little. As you do, you find that the present-day actions and behaviors that previously seemed irrational begin to make total sense. She isn't crazy at all. Her obsessive behaviors seem almost "right" in light of the past.

A note of warning: This book can be quite graphic, violent and vulgar. But it is real, believable, and not exploitative.

My final word: Guttural, this story reaches deep within, leaving you a little uneasy as you think perhaps "There but by the grace of God go I." How a person can enter your life so innocuously and damage it so irreparably. How you could be taken from a strong and powerful woman, and left shattered and fearful. And mixed in amidst the twisted fears and terror is a touching romantic story. Frightening but intriguing and, in the end, utterly fascinating.

posted by nfmgirl on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Could have been so much more

This book took me about three times longer than other books to finish because parts of it just went on and on without seeming to have progress. To be honest I almost quit it half way through but I wanted to stick with it. I lost interest often but I felt compelled to go...
This book took me about three times longer than other books to finish because parts of it just went on and on without seeming to have progress. To be honest I almost quit it half way through but I wanted to stick with it. I lost interest often but I felt compelled to go on. I wanted Catherine to have her moment of victory. The storyline was brutal to be sure, yet Catherine’s quick recovery seemed off once she started therapy.

Most disappointing to me was the ending when she finally has to face off against him. It felt anti-climactic…almost over before it began. It lacked the “tour de force of suspense” that the synopsis promised. That scene should have lasted a while and and have the readers biting their fingernails! A missed opportunity to be sure.

I think overall what was lacking for me was her attraction to Lee in the first place. There was never a time where I thought he was just such an awesome guy in the beginning that would make her so attached to him. He was kind of a turd from day 1 so I didn’t see the charisma. It wasn’t bad…just…ok.

Remember Sleeping With The Enemy? That guy made you want to crap your damn pants! He was a mental mind freak! This guy…I don’t know…just “meh”.

posted by OurBookAddiction on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 211 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    i recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good mystery

    i was confused at first, because it goes back and forth between the past and the present. as you get involved in the story, it all comes together. i couldnt stop reading until i reached the end. i would definitely read more books by this author. i would recommend this book for discussions.

    32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I could not put this book down. I just had to know what was going to happen next. This book was excellent, especially for a first book. Will definitely look for her next one!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read, still prefer Fallen Angel (author is genie ems...i t

    Great read, still prefer Fallen Angel (author is genie ems...i think) Just my opinion.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Fabulius Fabulous Read!

    Amazing and super suspenseful!! Highly recommended!!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Loved!!

    This book was awesome!! I could not put the book down! If you are thinking of buying this book DO IT. This book does not disappoint.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    Amazing Psychological Thriller! This is a psychological thriller

    Amazing Psychological Thriller!
    This is a psychological thriller that will keep the reader engrossed in the novel until the very end. It starts with a bang and ends with chills running down your body. It’s that good! The story begins with a court hearing, then moves to a murder scene. After that, each chapter alternates with flashbacks from the past and the present. Eventually, the past catches up with her present and the story stays in the present. While it was a bit confusing at first, once the story fell into place, it wasn’t difficult to make the mental shift.

    Catherine (the past) is a vibrant, confident, who loves to go partying with her girlfriends. One night, she meets Lee and they quickly develop an intimate relationship. While Catherine loves everything about Lee, with time, she starts to see a darker side to him that keeps her on her toes. Coming home to find that he’s been there, seeing small insignifcant items moved, feeling that she’s being followed, and having to tell him everything she does so that he won’t freak out on her begins to take its toll on her mental well-being. She becomes jumpy and scared that she will provoke him to hit her or become sexually violent with her.

    Lee is a charmer and not only seduces her, but begins to tell her friends things that aren’t true about Catherine, to make excuses for her bruises, scratches, and somber attitude. Soon, her friends begin to believe him and she is isolated from her social circle and feels alone and unable to escape from him. Because of his charisma and line of work (special units police officer), he begins to play mind games with her and she soon realizes that her only way of escaping is leaving the country. Because of Lee’s abuse of power, Catherine is kidnapped, raped, mutiliated, and is slowly dying. However, a neighbor notices something and saves Catherine from any further torment….or so she thinks.

    Present time Cathy (Catherine) is suffering from PTSD, OCD, and becomes so paranoid that she isolates herself from anyone and limits her time away from her apartment. Because of her past, Cathy doesn’t trust anyone in authority, doesn’t trust her own instincts, and is always on high alert that Lee is watching her even though he is in jail. Living in a flat with 2 other neighbors, she meets Stuart, a psychologist. He is recovering from a failed engagement, she is recovering from the trauma and abuse she endured with Lee. Both begin a very “safe” and slow relationship,with Stuart encouraging Cathy to seek treatment for her OCD. While in outpatient therapy, Cathy begins to address the trauma, learns coping skills, and slowly begins to reclaim her life. I loved the Cognitive-Behavioral techniques addressed in the book.

    While this book isn’t a self-help book, it does address in detail the ways Cathy was taught to overcome her anxiety and no longer fear the unknown or the illusion of Lee. This helps Cathy handle Lee differently and the situations she finds herself in, as she reconnects with an old friend and soon has to confront her fears. This is a creepy, psychological thriller that readers may identify with. We’ve all had “bad” relationships, hopefully not near as bad as Catherine’s….but enough to make the reader sympathize with her. Lee was a charmer and the more he scared Catherine, the more turned on he becomes, which in turn equates to the level of violence he demonstrates. Abuse of power and his charasmatic attitude means that he will do anything to keep Catherine under his thumb, isolated from friends, and dependent on him. Having Stuart in her life, Cathy learns what it’s like to have a healthy relationship, slowly learns to let her defenses down around him, and begins to face her anxiety and fears.

    I loved this book and read it in one day! This hasn’t happened in a very long time, but I just had to keep reading to find out what happens next. The ending was chilling and sinister because it leaves the reader wondering if Lee’s letter and “gift” is really trying to show how he is ready to take responsibility or if it’s a threat to what will happen to her when he gets out. Cathy only shows the first part of the letter to the detective and wants to hold on to the ending for herself, until she sees his “gift”. I wondered why she wanted to keep it, but it is obvious that she will always feel connected to him in some way. After mutilating her body, in my opinion, it’s the later, going along the lines, “if I can’t have you, no one else can”. In Lee’s mind, Catherine is his and only time will tell what he means by that….I look forward to hearing your thoughts about the book, once you read it! -Books in the Burbs

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    This was a great book - I could not put it down. I read the rev

    This was a great book - I could not put it down. I read the reviews prior to reading the book, so I wasn't confused when one chapter was in 2004, and the next in 2008...I thought it would annoy me, to be honest, but it was a perfect way to tell the story. I thought this book accurately portrayed what your life is like in one of these situations...The only thing I didn't like was that she was able to look her friend in the eye when it was all over. I usually find when reading books like this that the endings can be somewhat cheesy, and not to keep harping on how great this book is, but the fact is that yes, her ending was somewhat happy, the real ending left me unsettled, which is realistic and I love that. Buy the book!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Excellent!

    Such a good read. Creepy in all the right places. This would make a great movie.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    EXCELLENT

    Wow. What a chilling book. This book sucks you in , leaves you with chills . Quick and excellent read. Get all your errands ran and your house cleaned b4 you start this one. If you like a chilling story then this read is for you. Disturbung at times with all the horriable abuse she had taken . So nice to find a book not about witches, vampires or divisions . Not a teen read either . I have never posted a book review before . I just HAD to with this one. I

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Great

    A must read. Loved it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    Well written

    Very detailed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Exceptional

    The past and the present advance hand to hand as alternating chapters in this disturbing story of violence and abuse. I found it facinating how the same character changes in the past from carefree and confident to a victim of domestic abuse, while, in the present, she goes from a shadow of who she was to a woman in control of her life and fear. Fantastic writing, suspense keeps you on the edge, and you just have to continue reading. Fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    WOW!

    If you ever wondered how an intelligent woman could get sucked into an abusive relationship with her beau, then read this book as a gruesome primer. The story is entirely believable and unfortunately similar incidents play out all over the world every day. As a psychological thriller, it does not dissappoint. Lee, the psychopath, is as cunning as can be. He's a good example of an abuser: someone who seems normal or even attractive to others, is a skillful lier, and knows he has "authority" behind him to give him credibility. This book would be good to discuss in a book club. Be prepared for the raw horror of domestic abuse laid out in black and white. In a twisted irony, this book could actually help someone understand if she/he is in an abusive relationship. Seeing parallels from the story in their lives could help bolster someone being abused to seek help before their situation escalates. The author did a phenomenal job with this topic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    THE MOST CHILLING TALE I HAVE READ THIS CENTURY!

    Taking the reader into the pit of domestic abuse, with a stunning play-by-play account of how an educated,modern woman can become a victim, Elizabeth Haynes has written the most chilling tale I have read this century. Her research and subsequent insight into the life of a person afflicted with OCD and PTSD is first rate. When the heroine is viewed as possibly unbalanced because of her hyper-vigilance, a chord is struck that resonates with every victim of violence. Seeing the hopeful yet painful progression of Cathy from secluded victim to empowered heroine is a trip worth taking.
    As soon as the chills and goosebumps are gone, I will be checking my doors and windows, making sure the dog is on duty, and then trying to sleep.
    Keep an eye on this author. I highly recommend this book for discussion groups.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Great read

    Good story. I had to get used to the chapters jumping back and forth in time but that didn't take long. I really liked Cathy and was rooting for her. Had the final outcome that I prefer. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Super!

    Couldn't put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Riveting

    A riveting read. Could not put it down!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great read

    Enjoyed the book, start to finish. Looking for more by this author right away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    I could not stop reading this book, the intensity built as I rea

    I could not stop reading this book, the intensity built as I read until I couldn't wait to see what happened next. I highly recommend it, and I will be watching for Elizabeth Haynes' next novel .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 211 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11