Customer Reviews for

Into the Darkness (Darkness Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    I love this story. I read the paperback version years ago. Tha

    I love this story. I read the paperback version years ago. That's why I was rather disappointed with this Nook edition. Quite frankly, it seems to me that the text was run through a poor OCS program and then never proof read by anyone. There are so many misspelled words and punctuation errors that it was a pain to read at times. Oh, the story is all there, but when reading it, rather than flowing smoothly through the story and getting lost in it, I kept bumping up against these trifling errors. The publisher should be ashamed of this work ... and the author shouldn't be too happy about it either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Great, but complex

    I'm a huge fan of Turtledove's writing. That being said, you need to know what you're getting into. There are dozens of characters, each with their own independent plotlines to keep track of, not to mention the actions of the various nations in the book as well. You really do need to pay attention or its easy to become confused at whats going on, especially at the beginning of the book.

    If you can manage to follow all the different storylines though, then you're in for an amazing read.

    I do have some criticism of the ebook itself though. Random typos litter the book and there appeared to be at least one page that just would not load for me. Still, they don't really hinder the ability to enjoy the novel.

    A great book for those who want to give Turtledove's writing style a try, but who aren't history buffs, although a knowledge of WW1/2 makes it all the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Into The Darkness book review

    This book was good detail book, kinda slow from chapters one through four, but after that it was good. I love books about dragons, so right when I started seeing the word dragon I start paying attention to what is going on. That is the reason I give this book a four out of five it wasn't all about dragons, it had a lot of characters in the book, so it was hard to keep track of some of the time. The author wrote in a detail way of describing everything, it was good in the battle moments but other than that there was a lot of speaking and movement detail. Other than it being slow in the beginning this book is appropriate for dragon lovers and war lovers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    My headline

    A good story, though it's hard to follow all the storylines. I usually remember the characters but forget exactly what each country is doing. Characters are well done and speak authentically, though I wish they weren't always making crude jokes and lusting after women. It does get old. I do applaud the use of 'fornicating' instead of the f-word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2005

    Turtledove's 'Into the Darkness'

    First, in order to fully understand this book, one should know the history of both World Wars, since 'Into the Darkness' is an allegorical story. Second, one should ABSOLUTELY be able to follow all the characters! The number of people in Turtledove's book is just enormous. However, I found every character to be well developed and definately entertaining. Recommended for anyone who has a thing for fantasy or war literature. The sequels were just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Very Good... so far

    I have yet to finish this book because right now I have over fifteen books I am reading and the list is slowly shortening. I love the plot and idea behind it and it's obvious he put a lot of work into this novel. The only reason I gave it four stars is because I've started it three times and I always sop in the middle because I get bored of it. Other than that, really good book with excellent depth and a sense of reality despite the magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2003

    A really good book

    This has some really battles in it I also liked the different points of view about the war in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2000

    There's been better.

    Turtledove made a fair effort in his book, Into the Darkness, but it was not worth it. This needs a sequal to be anything, and it was a weak plot.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2000

    A 1st Class Parody of WWII

    I have just finished this book and I am still awed at the grand scale at which he writes, not just focusing on one or two characters, but encompassing families and relationships throughout the war. My rating is well-deserved, as Turtledove obviously put an extraordinary amount of work into this saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    Extremely well detailed, quite gripping.

    I found Harry Turtledove's description absolutely fascinating as well as his ability to depict a story, involving many different charecters, from their individual pionts of veiw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2000

    Best Read of Its Kind

    I would definity recommend this book to a friend. I started to read it on a Thursday and finished it that next Saturday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2000

    GREAT READ!!!

    Harry Turtledove's charachters are real, this and the fact that he has a great talent for battle scenes make this book one of the best I have ever read along with The Guns Of The South.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2000

    Alternative Alternate History

    In Harry Turtledove's canon, 'Into the Darkness' and the series it evidently presages, represents a curious combination of fantasy and alternate history. Some of the reviews I have read have made much of its relationship to WWI. After reading it myself, I find them oddly offtrack. What Turtledove is concerned with here are the origins of some of the same issues he explored in the 'World War' series. This series, however, uses fantasy instead of scifi as a venue for exploration. Turtledove introduces, as is typical of him, a huge cast, not simply of people but of nations and ethnic types. His model is far more the Second World War than the first one. Reviewers who have harped upon Turtledove's dependence upon WWI simply don't know their history. It is difficult to easily identify any of the warring kingdoms with specific counterparts in the Second World War, but it is not impossible, and anyone who has ever read a description of Blitzkrieg will recognize Turtledove's dragons (stukas) and behemoths (panzers). If you have read other titles Turtledove has worked on, this one will not be a disappointment. Despite its prodigious length, I found it a quick and entertaining read, contrary to my initial expectations (I generally favor 'hard' alternate history rather than fantasy). I recommend the title to Turtledove's legions of fans and suggest it may play well with others who are not as interested in more historically plausible fictions as I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    A Great Read!

    I sincerly enjoy how Turtledove weaves together many different stories to give the reader the points of view of every class of every country, Instead of having the plot revolving around one character or a group of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2000

    A Noteworthy Effort

    Having read a lot of fantasy, I have to commend the author for his valiant attempt at an epic fantasy. However, the huge scale in which the story takes places is just too much. Characters come and go and come again until the reader finds himself flipping back thru pages in a attempt to make sense of it all. The action is interesting and the battle scenes stark and realistic, but after awhile, I gave up on following the story and read each chapter as another in a series of vaguely connected short stories. The fact the author fails to establish a sense of right and wrong, or clearly define the heroes from the villians doesn't help.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2