BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Into the Dreaming (with bonus material)

Average Rating 3.5
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Best Short Story I ever Read...and I've read alot!

When I first got the book and saw it was a hundred pages I thought it was way to short for it to be a good book but when I started to read it I could not put it down. Captivating from the first page to the last. I guarantee you will not put this book down. Karen Marie M...
When I first got the book and saw it was a hundred pages I thought it was way to short for it to be a good book but when I started to read it I could not put it down. Captivating from the first page to the last. I guarantee you will not put this book down. Karen Marie Moning spins a tale so intriguing that it feels as if you were there. She captures the essences of the characters within the scope of both a 21st century and 18th century time period. This book is an excellent book to read that will leave you satisfied at the end.

posted by Anonymous on April 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Awful, Boring, Predictable, Overpriced

I pre-ordered this book and must have missed where it said this is a 95-page novella, not a full book. I have enjoyed this author's other books, but feel like a real chump paying $14 for a very short, very boring and predictable story. The "bonus material" is equally ...
I pre-ordered this book and must have missed where it said this is a 95-page novella, not a full book. I have enjoyed this author's other books, but feel like a real chump paying $14 for a very short, very boring and predictable story. The "bonus material" is equally awful. It seems to be a trend now for best-selling authors (like Nalini Singh with Angel's Flight) to cobble together poorly executed and discarded stories from their past in order to capitalize on their best-selling status. I won't make this mistake again. Fool me once, and all that.

posted by SanitasPerEscam on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Awful, Boring, Predictable, Overpriced

    I pre-ordered this book and must have missed where it said this is a 95-page novella, not a full book. I have enjoyed this author's other books, but feel like a real chump paying $14 for a very short, very boring and predictable story. The "bonus material" is equally awful. It seems to be a trend now for best-selling authors (like Nalini Singh with Angel's Flight) to cobble together poorly executed and discarded stories from their past in order to capitalize on their best-selling status. I won't make this mistake again. Fool me once, and all that.

    31 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    It's pitiful when good authors clean out their old files, call t

    It's pitiful when good authors clean out their old files, call them "new" and "bonus" and dump the whole mess into an e-book.
    Then we saps who love their books buy the book ahead of time and are amazed when we see what we purchased.
    Shame on them, and shame on their publishers!!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    The novella was published before

    It's very misleading to use "First time in hard cover" to mean its already been published in paper back NOT first time in print.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Best Short Story I ever Read...and I've read alot!

    When I first got the book and saw it was a hundred pages I thought it was way to short for it to be a good book but when I started to read it I could not put it down. Captivating from the first page to the last. I guarantee you will not put this book down. Karen Marie Moning spins a tale so intriguing that it feels as if you were there. She captures the essences of the characters within the scope of both a 21st century and 18th century time period. This book is an excellent book to read that will leave you satisfied at the end.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    VERY DISAPPOINTED!!! I absolutedly loved her highlander and fev

    VERY DISAPPOINTED!!! I absolutedly loved her highlander and fever series and when I saw she had a new installment I couldn't wait....I wish I would have waited. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. Not very well written. Very short story that kind of leaves you hanging. Just overall bad. Not her best work at all.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Don't buy, it should be free

    Too expensive for a short and old book.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Get real

    I have all of ms mornings book...... for real 9.99 for this .....i will not waste my money on another from ms morning

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    I must agree with the other reviewers who were disappointed at t

    I must agree with the other reviewers who were disappointed at the shortness of the 'novella,' which is a give away right there. I had hoped that the 'bonus material' would be worthwhile, thus i was disappointed that it was all her throw-away material. Really, why do we want to read the stuff she threw out? That said, the main story line, though predictable, was totally in line with her previous work. I'm a bit surprised she didn't find a way to lengthen it into a full 'novel,' never the less, as a fan of all her other works, especially fever series, I was happy with that part of the book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    i thought the book was awful, and i usually enjoy her books. i w

    i thought the book was awful, and i usually enjoy her books. i would not waste my money on this one.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I loved this book, it was short but I loved it. the characters are amazing and the plot is fantastic. Definite must Read

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Moning really annoys me. I said I wasn't going to pick up her bo

    Moning really annoys me. I said I wasn't going to pick up her books again after getting a load of the Fever books but I didn't have the self control. I LOVE her highlander books. I only made it to book 3 of the Fever series. Moning gives me the impression that she reads her own hype and it's affected her writting. To me this story was released to try and bring back the audience she lost from First series to second series. I love the first series enough that i've read them many times. This book is good because she is an incredible writer. I just wish she wouldn't try so hard to be so complicated. She tries too hard to be hard core. And that's exactly what her writing has turned into; a desperate attempt to keep her edge. Better luck next time Karen. This is the last time I spend way too much for scraps off the floor from your first series.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    An excellent read!!!

    Such an excellent read with Jane Sillee and Aedan Mackinnon a union of soul mates with her given only 30 days to to make him remember their tie or lose him forever to Unseelie King as Vengeance. Sometimes something short, humorous, and clever a story is all we have time for. This is a well written highly recommended 'yes, short' story that I will probably remember forever and read a dozen more times.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    TEASE!!

    I thought this was a 'buy it now on sale' book! I was excited to see the really cheap price, expecting a 300+ page book. The frown I had on my face when I actually held the book went away within 20 pages. This book may be thin but from page 1 till the end you will be laughing and wanting more. You will really want more of this author!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    As other have said - what a disappointment. This book was not u

    As other have said - what a disappointment. This book was not up to the standards we expect from Karen.
    Sorry I wasted my money.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Very disappointing.

    I am very disappointed in this publication. It's just rejected junk and teasers for her next releases. Stephen King can get away with this because he rewrites his old stuff to make it readable. This is just junk. I love her other books, but I feel like a sucker who's been ripped off with this one. Reprehensible.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Terrible - Don't waste your money. This was nothing more than

    Terrible - Don't waste your money. This was nothing more than a short story (111 pages). I have also started the 'Bonus' material and am not impressed. B & n should be giving them away not selling them. Karen Marie Moning's highlander series is very interesting. This book is horrible.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Missing content

    I have read the first 4 books in the Fever series and really enjoyed them. I purchased Into the Dreaming to get a peek at the Highlander story line and was pleasantly surprised when I read the foreword that a sneak peek of the first Fever grsphic novel was included. Unfortunately the (nook) copy i preordered ends at page 201 and doe not include the aforementioned sneak peek. Disappointing! I hopethis will be corrected infuture editions of the e-book, be forewarned if you are considering this edition.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Disappointed

    This was a waist of money. She could have written a book instead of a VERY SHORT STORY. Because of this I will never order another book for my nook from her. I will go into the bookstore to review her book before buying. If I ever buy another one of hers. This really soured me on her as an author. As far as I'm concerned this was a theft. My fault. I expected better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Not the best

    I am a big fan of this author and I was really looking forward to reading something new from her, but this just didn't do it for me. It was short and I just didn't feel invested in the characters

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    Cute Story

    I really liked this short novella. It's a great introduction to KMM's style of writing. (And I have read them all.) It's got some funny, poignant and tender moments. A quick, light read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8