BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Into the Fire: A Firsthand Account of the Most Extraordinary Battle in the Afghan War

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Powerful and moving -this account of the war helps cast a light on the people involved and their emotions!

This is a very raw,real look at whar Dakota Meyer lived through in his time at war! His portrayal of his experience helps shed light on the emotions experienced by our soldiers!!! THANK YOU Dakota for not only serving our country -having the guts to share it!!

posted by 12680646 on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

not recommended

although i am a marine and couldnt be prouder of this young marine and his courage i found who ever helped him write his story did a terrible job. i think if he would of wrote his story word for word it would of been a better book. i am proud to share the title marine w...
although i am a marine and couldnt be prouder of this young marine and his courage i found who ever helped him write his story did a terrible job. i think if he would of wrote his story word for word it would of been a better book. i am proud to share the title marine with him. but think the story could of been done better.

posted by 4693515 on November 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Powerful and moving -this account of the war helps cast a light on the people involved and their emotions!

    This is a very raw,real look at whar Dakota Meyer lived through in his time at war! His portrayal of his experience helps shed light on the emotions experienced by our soldiers!!! THANK YOU Dakota for not only serving our country -having the guts to share it!!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Amazing

    I read this story in 2 days....wow dekota you are truly amazing! You must read this so that you can actually understand what our soldiers are going through and deal with on a daily basis whether at home or on the front lines.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    BOB

    Awesome

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Ill into the firee G Into the fire

    Great book

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    A Real Story

    Excellent book. Recommend it to every American. You have no idea what it is all about if you don't read first hand accounts like this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    An insightful look by an American hero

    This book gave a look into the war in Afghanistan. Meyer pulls no punches on the American involvement and the affect it has had on his life. this was a great book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    Awesome book - True heroes

    Absolutely incredible book, I couldn't put it down.

    Semper Fi Dakota

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Check you doubts and skepticism at the door please

    To read life events from the perspective of first-hand account is to actually understand, engage in distant ideas, and be given the opportunity to experience empathy. I felt his questions, his pain, and so many other moments he shared. We forget that wars involve real people having to make life and death decisions faster than you decide what's for dinner. We forget families suffer through the unknowns. We forget that young men VOLUNTEER for what we condemn. I had to check my doubts and skepticism at the cover.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    This book shows how a man is raised, a soldier is trained, and a

    This book shows how a man is raised, a soldier is trained, and a hero is born.
    This simple read sheds light on the melding of young men into true brothers,
    dependent upon each other for basic safety.  Carrying valor to a level seldom 
    seen and rarely honored, Dakota Meyer's story of battle is simultaneously 
    inspiring and heart-wrenching. This is one of the  first-hand accounts of war
    that all Americans should read. This book also gives some insight into PTSD
    and survivors guilt. I wear a rock given to me by a returning serviceman and
    made into a necklace so that every day I am reminded of the men and women
    who are serving and have served. Thank you Dakota, and all of your brothers
     and sisters in arms. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A stunning look at combat and the men who fight. I have read thi

    A stunning look at combat and the men who fight. I have read this book several times and it still moves me when I read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Incrediblle courage

    A no holds barred account of the bravery displayed by true heros inspite of the ineptness shown by military command. You will have a hard time putting this book down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    not recommended

    although i am a marine and couldnt be prouder of this young marine and his courage i found who ever helped him write his story did a terrible job. i think if he would of wrote his story word for word it would of been a better book. i am proud to share the title marine with him. but think the story could of been done better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent book, very well written. It was very heart touching with all the stress that was placed upon Dakota Meyer after the fight that he was awarded the MOH for.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    amazing what a soldier goes through to survive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    I Enjoyed Meyers' story. I'm allways moved by these first hand e

    I Enjoyed Meyers' story. I'm allways moved by these first hand events. Well written for this audiance.
    Chuck McCall Former Rifleman 187 ARTC

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Highly recommend

    This was a GREAT book and easy read. Dakota Meyer is someone everyone can inspire to be like and the younger generation to look up to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    One of the best books detailing the hardships of fighting in Afghanistan

    I thought this was a well written book. The agony of Dakota's loss of his buddies is vivid, real and heartbreaking. I can understand his feelings about receiving the Medal of Honor. He thought he accepted it for his buddies and himself.

    Thank God for people like him. We would be no where without them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    .....

    ...

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Quest

    Granted. Go to this spot to see what you can have. 1209 result 1

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Out fucken Standing

    One hell of a read. Semper fi brother Meyer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4