Customer Reviews for

Into the Fire (Troubleshooters Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great RomanticSuspense

Vinh Murphy lived the Marine value of never leaving behind a brother or sister in arms. He took that ethic with him when he left the military and joined Troubleshooters Incorporated as a top gun operative. However, on what was an alleged simple and safe mission, his b...
Vinh Murphy lived the Marine value of never leaving behind a brother or sister in arms. He took that ethic with him when he left the military and joined Troubleshooters Incorporated as a top gun operative. However, on what was an alleged simple and safe mission, his beloved wife Angelina died in a crossfire. Filled with grief and guilt over her death, he simply vanishes, but holds culpable the neo-Nazi Freedom Network especially its leader Tim Ebersole everyone who knows him knows he deeply blames Ebersole.---------- When someone cleverly kills Ebersole, the FBI and even his associates at Troubleshooters assume Murphy is the prime suspect as he has a gut wrenching motive and his skills give him means and opportunities few could achieve to murder the highly protected Ebersole. Fearing a lethal shootout his Troubleshooter friends search for Murphy to persuade him to come in peacefully. Angelina¿s best friend former police officer Hannah Whitfield has always loved Vinh, but hid her deep regard from him and from Angelina when she was alive. He seeks her help as he is unsure whether he pulled the trigger or not as he was in an alcoholic stupor they seek the truth by going INTO THE FIRE of the Freedom Network.------------ Hannah and Vinh are an interesting pairing because both grieve the loss of Angelina and the guilt of one night of solace together after the woman died. In some ways Hannah is the more complete character as she was forced to retire due to an on the job injury leading to deafness and has hid her love for Vinh whereas Murphy remains grief stricken although the murder has awakened him from his drunken stupor. With other subplots also in the fire, fans will appreciate this action-packed romantic suspense thriller starring two walking wounded and the rest of the troubleshooters willingly going INTO THE FIRE to prove the innocence of one of them for once you join this team you remain part of them even after you leave.-------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Weakest of the series

I'm usually prefer mysteries to romance novels, but I'm a fan of Suzanne Brockmann's Troubleshooter series. I like her style, her characters, and the way that she ties multiple subplots together. I also like that the secondary romance doesn't always have a happy endi...
I'm usually prefer mysteries to romance novels, but I'm a fan of Suzanne Brockmann's Troubleshooter series. I like her style, her characters, and the way that she ties multiple subplots together. I also like that the secondary romance doesn't always have a happy ending until a later book. I was disappointed in this book, though. I had recently reread all the previous books in the series so the weaknesses were even more apparent.

I didn't care about the main two characters, Vingh and Harriet. In the earlier books I felt that I got to know the characters. I didn't get that with these two. You find out the details of how Harriet, Vingh, and Angelina met and a little bit about Harriet but not to the depth that existed in previous books. SB did a great job with Annie/Ric in Force of Nature so it's not because Harriet's new and Vingh was a minor character in earlier books.

The Izzy/Eden story was "icky". The Max/Gina relationship shows that SB knows how to handle a large age difference romance. That develops over a period of a few years, and Max resists the attraction because she's so much younger than him. Also, Gina's always portrayed as mature for her age. Here, in their initial encounter, Izzy ends up having extremely intimate contact with his teammate's barely 18 year old sister after she kisses him even though he know it's wrong. Does he really have such poor impulse control? Also, Eden is described several times as looking younger than her age, and she's definitely immature. All in all, it just gave me the creeps.

The Decker/Sophia saga finally resolves itself. I was OK with how it turned out, but I think SB let it drag on for too long. It began 6 books ago with little development in the meantime.

There were also two minor things that I didn't like. I kept getting Dave and Decker confused because their names are so similar. Decker's usually referred to as Deck in this book. Maybe it says something about my reading style, but two 4 letter names beginning with D threw me. I also didn't like how flat Jules' dialog was. I know his role is minor but he is normally such a vibrant character.

The first 2/3 of the book were really slow, and I would have given this book 1 1/2-2 stars if that was all I'd read. However, it did improve in the last part. Also, I missed this book when it first came out so I was able to read Dark of Night immediately afterwards. This left me with a slightly better impression of this book since DON begins right at the end of ITF and ties up some of the loose ends.

All in all, you need to read this book if you're going to continue reading the series, but it's not that great.

posted by christmas_baby on January 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Weakest of the series

    I'm usually prefer mysteries to romance novels, but I'm a fan of Suzanne Brockmann's Troubleshooter series. I like her style, her characters, and the way that she ties multiple subplots together. I also like that the secondary romance doesn't always have a happy ending until a later book. I was disappointed in this book, though. I had recently reread all the previous books in the series so the weaknesses were even more apparent.

    I didn't care about the main two characters, Vingh and Harriet. In the earlier books I felt that I got to know the characters. I didn't get that with these two. You find out the details of how Harriet, Vingh, and Angelina met and a little bit about Harriet but not to the depth that existed in previous books. SB did a great job with Annie/Ric in Force of Nature so it's not because Harriet's new and Vingh was a minor character in earlier books.

    The Izzy/Eden story was "icky". The Max/Gina relationship shows that SB knows how to handle a large age difference romance. That develops over a period of a few years, and Max resists the attraction because she's so much younger than him. Also, Gina's always portrayed as mature for her age. Here, in their initial encounter, Izzy ends up having extremely intimate contact with his teammate's barely 18 year old sister after she kisses him even though he know it's wrong. Does he really have such poor impulse control? Also, Eden is described several times as looking younger than her age, and she's definitely immature. All in all, it just gave me the creeps.

    The Decker/Sophia saga finally resolves itself. I was OK with how it turned out, but I think SB let it drag on for too long. It began 6 books ago with little development in the meantime.

    There were also two minor things that I didn't like. I kept getting Dave and Decker confused because their names are so similar. Decker's usually referred to as Deck in this book. Maybe it says something about my reading style, but two 4 letter names beginning with D threw me. I also didn't like how flat Jules' dialog was. I know his role is minor but he is normally such a vibrant character.

    The first 2/3 of the book were really slow, and I would have given this book 1 1/2-2 stars if that was all I'd read. However, it did improve in the last part. Also, I missed this book when it first came out so I was able to read Dark of Night immediately afterwards. This left me with a slightly better impression of this book since DON begins right at the end of ITF and ties up some of the loose ends.

    All in all, you need to read this book if you're going to continue reading the series, but it's not that great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great RomanticSuspense

    Vinh Murphy lived the Marine value of never leaving behind a brother or sister in arms. He took that ethic with him when he left the military and joined Troubleshooters Incorporated as a top gun operative. However, on what was an alleged simple and safe mission, his beloved wife Angelina died in a crossfire. Filled with grief and guilt over her death, he simply vanishes, but holds culpable the neo-Nazi Freedom Network especially its leader Tim Ebersole everyone who knows him knows he deeply blames Ebersole.---------- When someone cleverly kills Ebersole, the FBI and even his associates at Troubleshooters assume Murphy is the prime suspect as he has a gut wrenching motive and his skills give him means and opportunities few could achieve to murder the highly protected Ebersole. Fearing a lethal shootout his Troubleshooter friends search for Murphy to persuade him to come in peacefully. Angelina¿s best friend former police officer Hannah Whitfield has always loved Vinh, but hid her deep regard from him and from Angelina when she was alive. He seeks her help as he is unsure whether he pulled the trigger or not as he was in an alcoholic stupor they seek the truth by going INTO THE FIRE of the Freedom Network.------------ Hannah and Vinh are an interesting pairing because both grieve the loss of Angelina and the guilt of one night of solace together after the woman died. In some ways Hannah is the more complete character as she was forced to retire due to an on the job injury leading to deafness and has hid her love for Vinh whereas Murphy remains grief stricken although the murder has awakened him from his drunken stupor. With other subplots also in the fire, fans will appreciate this action-packed romantic suspense thriller starring two walking wounded and the rest of the troubleshooters willingly going INTO THE FIRE to prove the innocence of one of them for once you join this team you remain part of them even after you leave.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    So Happy Murphy Could Find Love Again With His Longtime Friend. Hannah Found Out Good Things Come To Those Who Wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Not nearly as good as the rest of the series up till now but it has alot of information needed to continue the series. Im hoping that jules plays a more important part in future books like he did in all the other ones

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Handicapped wounded hero, superbly done

    OH yea, a deaf chararacter, and done so well as you'd expect from Brockmann. Not since her "Frisco's Kid has she attempted a physically wounded hero. Or did I miss one? Do it again Suzanne!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Convincing Characters

    If you like Suzanne Brockmann, you will love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Izzy saves the book for me! Overall 3.5 stars.

    The main "love-story" from the book was actualy not what I loved most. The story between Murphy and Hannah seemed disjointed and secondary. There were times while reading from their POV that I found myself thinking, "So what?" Not what you want with the hero/heroine. I was glad to see Murphy's character wrapped up nicely with his own HEA to put a closure to that issue. But, the story surrounding Izzy was fun and entertaining and heart-wrenching. He's my new favorite character. I fell in love with him in Into the Storm, and the things he does in this book are sometimes hairbrained and sometimes truly lovely. Yet at the end, I felt so badly for him. I'm hoping he gets his HEA in TS#16. Murphy/Hannah - 3 stars. Izzy/Eden - 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    My favorite.

    I have read the entire Trouble shooters series. I love them all.. some as always are better than others, but I am never disappointed. This however is my very all time favorite. I don't know why but it was so heartfelt, and heartbreaking. I particularly loved Izzy in this one. You just have to read the last ones. The stories are great, the characters, and I always feel the strong romantic pull of the main characters. I look forward to the next one which I hear is the last, but things change. One can hope cant they.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I have read these books out of order, but, each one is great as a stand-alone. I'm really anxious to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read ASAP!

    If you like romance novels that are also full of suspence and intrigue, and are looking for something to help pass the time, this book is for you. Suzanne Brockmann has created a wonderful blend of heartbreak and tragedy and friendship and love. Join Vinh Murphy as he struggles to overcome the alcoholism and depression he has fallen into since the death of his beloved wife. Having distanced himself from all his friends and coworkers, the only person he can rely on may be the one person he really needed all along. If that isn't enough to satisfy you, this book comes with a few delightful subplots. Izzy Zanella, the ever crude, rude, and insensitive young SEAL, may have more to him then you might have thought. And while Tess Bailey and Jimmy Nash may be perfect for each other, someone is determined to keep them apart...and just may succeed. A fantastically written novel and very entertaining. However, if you haven't read the preceding 12 Troubleshooters novels, you may find that you don't understand all the characters and the multiple references to past happenings. Read the others first and you will be able to fully enjoy this wonderful adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book in the series. I always look forward to the next one in the Troubleshooters Series!

    As in the other Troubleshooter Series books, the characters and plot keep
    you interested the whole way through. I like how different characters have evolved and the reader gets to know them as the series goes along.
    As always, the action is attention getting. Just enough sexual innuendo
    to keep the reader from wanting to put this book down! Can't wait for
    the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    Into the Fire hits a home run.

    I recently bought the entire Troubleshooters series...1 thru 14. Each book in the series stands alone. I had read three of them but then decided I wanted to know all the background for all of the characters. I went in order through them and wasn't disappointed, finding even more interesting people. Ms. Brockmann knows how to develop romance, plausible thriller plots and, for the most part, great characters. I highly recommend any and all of the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Look Forward to Each Book in this Series

    The Troubleshooters series is one of the most enjoyable I have read. The characters are carried from one book to the next. They become friends that I like reading about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing story

    this book was one of my favorites from the troubleshooters collection..i loved how Murphy came back and Hannahs character was so full of life and i loved how she wouldnt give up on him. i also loved how she made you think Nash was dead and how it really affected everyone especially Decker who i believe belongs with Sophia but when she kissed Dave i was happy. A really great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Captivating

    I don't always like Brockman's writing but I found this book to be thoroughly enjoyable. The character's emotions were real and kept my eyes glued to the page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    Big letdown

    I was so excited to read this book! I jumped into it expecting a great story, but it didn't take long to find out that was not going to happen w/ this particular book. Like some of the other reviewers, I loved Izzy from previous books and was completely disgusted at his relationship w/ Eden....it was tacky and borderline perverted! I was pretty indifferent to Hannah and Murph's story, but I was about ready to throw the book away at the end, w/ Decker and Sophia's ongoing drama.....and now Sophia is kissing Dave?? What? AHHH! I still hold out hope for SB, she's a great writer and I hope she can redeem herself w/ the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Not the best in the series

    I have read every single Troubleshooters books- many of them more than once. This does not rank as my favorite by a long shot. I was pleased that Murphy rejoins the human race and he and Hannah find happiness with each other. I was disappointed in the Izzy story as were many other readers who found it a bit too 'skeevy' and not really true to Izzy's charachter as a commitment-phobic lothario. Anyway there are numerous plot lines that intersect neatly at the end of the book. It really pleased me that Nash and Tess will get things straightened out once and for all. I was disappointed in Deck and Sophia's end and was really not impressed with the implausible shootout that saw every Troubleshooter and FBI character ever in one of Suzanne's books miraculously show up at the enemy camp for the final showdown. What- did they have some sort of Dr. Who teleport machine? Anyway, I will continue to read her books- she is a fabulous story teller. I look forward to the next Troubleshooter hook up- who is it going to be? Jay Lopez, Danny Gillman or.... maybe Deck finally gets to see some action of a different sort????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Always leaves me wanting more!

    No matter what, Suzanne always delivers. I haven't even read this one yet but I know I will love it! The characters become real life people that you see on the street when you look at the base personality so if a character doesn't turn out the way you wanted them to, well, life is like that isn't it! Izzy was a dog but in a charming, studly, go out and safe the world and therefore we can accept his dog status kind of way....People are most of the time what we perceive and not what they genuiely are until we look beyond the layers. Suzanne has created a world of men who have layers, actually a world of characters who operate within those layers and she delivers time after time the most altruistic world of fantasy laced reality that you can read. I will always buy her books because I know I will be in for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    Burnt to a Crisp

    Boy, was this one a slow read.Too many characters and a dizzy plot. The book was way too long and I much prefer her earlier SEAL books. Each character could have been a book in itself. I found this book dull and too many side plots to keep track of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    most disappointing SB 'troubleshooters'

    I have read all the 'troubleshooters' and always look forward to the next story. Into the Fire is by far the worst - Eden is the worst-Izzy comes off like a child molester.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4