BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Into the Forest

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Better Take on the Apocalypse

In the wake of all this 2012 nonsense, this post-apocalyptic book about two sisters in the midst of society's fall is a relief. The realistic way in which the world slowly deteriorates is interesting and believable. The author is an amazing writer and the story is fil...
In the wake of all this 2012 nonsense, this post-apocalyptic book about two sisters in the midst of society's fall is a relief. The realistic way in which the world slowly deteriorates is interesting and believable. The author is an amazing writer and the story is filled with interesting facts about everything from plants to ballet.

The only thing that was a disappointment in the story was the sisters' incestuous relationship and the protagonist's sudden ability to produce milk. The overall novel was surprisingly realistic and these issues seemed to push it towards a more unbelievable event. The book would have survived without the girls' relationship and their survival was miracle enough that the breast-feeding was overkill and unnecessary.

Overall, I recommend everyone to read this book, especially the first three-quarters, just to experience the idea of a slowly decaying society and the author's amazing talent with words.

posted by opinionminion on November 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not good.

I have read alot of books, and even though I am not a young adult I read alot of YA books. Adult books tend to get a little raunchy at times so i like to get away from that sometimes. This book was a huge dissapointment to me, the idea behind the book sounded great and ...
I have read alot of books, and even though I am not a young adult I read alot of YA books. Adult books tend to get a little raunchy at times so i like to get away from that sometimes. This book was a huge dissapointment to me, the idea behind the book sounded great and most of the reviews were positive but i would have to say this was the worst book I have ever read. It wasnt because of the incest or the spontanious milk production that did it in for me, it was the shear lack of any action or really any substance at all. About half way through I realized that it wasn't going to pick up. I found myself skimming through the parts of her childhood memories to get back to present day hoping something would happen but it never did. The ending was a little better than the rest of the book but thats really not saying much at all. Do yourself a favor and save your money and time for a decent book.

posted by Anonymous on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    Excellent!!!

    A great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    &diamond

    Skills

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    웯 ♦ ๞

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Cloudmoon

    Look at post number 5. The one that says Forestclan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    &diamond

    &#diamond

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Gh

    Vb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    =|= Forestclan - All =|=

    =|= Please go to 'light tree' Result one to Read what I posted. The same Rules and Map are here as well. The only Diffrence is We Moved here. Thank you! &hearts &iota&epsilon&alpha<_>fs&tau&alpha<_>r &hearts =|=

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Great

    Loved this book. Haunting. Read it years ago and still remember it vividly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read

    Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A debut novel and already a masterwork.

    At first sight you could call this a SF novel with the classical ingredients. Something happened: a nuclear war? an accident with a biological weapon? Anyway it seems that public live has ceased to exist. There is no electricity, no TV or radio and everyone seems to have gone.

    Two young sisters, who lost their parents, live in a cottage deep in the woods of North-California. As a result of what happened they're cut off completely until one day a young man comes to their house and he stays for a while. After he's gone, the two sisters gradually change into a more 'primitive' way of life with a different perception (more elaborated as time goes by) of their surroundings. (To some degree, it reminds me of the novel 'Lord of the Flies' by William Golding).

    But when you think it over, you could say it's a parable about growing up. The arrival of the young man drives them out of the 'Paradise' of their childhood and this starts the process of growing up. They don't turn into 'primitive' humans, they only lose their innocence. They become more mature and finally venture out of their cottage where they used to live for so long.

    I wouldn't be surprised if there were other interpretations. It's a characteristic of masterworks to be interpreted in different ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    A Realistic, Splendid Book

    Into the Forest is a book that makes you pause for thought. Jean Hegland captures perfectly how a person might feel if this event really happened. It isn't something that would occur overnight, and nor does she portray that, or go into details that would detract from the focus of her book. She gently unfolds the story of two sisters, Nell and Eva, who, after their parents die, try their best, through routine and daily habit, to continue their lives in the US until things return to normal. We never know quite what has happened except it is a massive collapse of society, countrywide. Contact with the two men who come briefly into their lives test their relationship, but in the end bring them closer together. Jean Hegland describes Nell's experiences with an exquisite, refreshing quality, quite possibly touching on the truth of most first encounters than is normally written. Being a perceptive writer, she has put thought behind each word. Her every sentence is purposeful, lyrical, and sometimes hauntingly beautiful. Layer by layer, she peels away the fripperies of modern life and, through her characters, takes us back to the basics of existence by going Into the Forest. I thoroughly enjoyed this exceptional book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    A debut novel and already a masterpiece !

    At first sight you could call this a SF novel with the classical ingredients. Something happened: a nuclear war? an accident with a biological weapon? Anyway it seems that public live has ceased to exist. There is no electricity, no TV or radio and everyone seems to have gone. Two young sisters, who lost their parents, live in a cottage deep in the woods of North-California. As a result of what happened they're cut off completely until one day a young man comes to their house and he stays for a while. After he's gone, the two sisters gradually change into a more 'primitive' way of life with a different perception (more elaborated as time goes by) of their surroundings. (To some degree, it reminds me of the novel 'Lord of the Flies' by William Golding). But when you think it over, you could say it's a parable about growing up. The arrival of the young man drives them out of the 'Paradise' of their childhood and this starts the process of growing up. They don't turn into 'primitive' humans, they only lose their innocence. They become more mature and finally venture out of their cottage where they used to live for so long. I wouldn't be surprised if there were other interpretations. It's a characteristic of masterworks to be interpreted in different ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    awesome, well written, very real

    The author did a great job of making it so believable. I really enjoyed the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    exceptional, couldn't put it down

    I liked this book and recommend it. I connected with the characters because I was home schooled too. I could really relate to what they were feeling. It's good!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2001

    Great Book!!

    I read this book as a summer assignment for the next school year. My favorite kinds of books are the ones like 'Hatchet' where someone goes into the wilderness and tries to make the best out of their life. I also like books that include nature a lot. This book made me stop and think how I'd do if there was absolutely no electricity or communication to the outside world. I hope that there will be a sequel to this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2001

    Not to miss!

    What a wonderful book for every woman to read. Especially anyone who has a love of nature and family and passions. A quick read that you won't be able to put down. Really makes you think about what's important in life and how caught up we get in material comforts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2001

    WONDERFUL book

    This is a wonderful story... could not put this book down. When you are done with it you can't help but say wow! It is a book that will make you think. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2