Customer Reviews for

Into the Free

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Way More Than I Expected

I received an advanced reader copy. I settled in to do what I promised...read and review. By the first few pages I completely forgot where I was. Each page had so much tension...it just pulled me forward. Rarely do I even finish most fiction books, much less roar throug...
I received an advanced reader copy. I settled in to do what I promised...read and review. By the first few pages I completely forgot where I was. Each page had so much tension...it just pulled me forward. Rarely do I even finish most fiction books, much less roar through them.

I cannot believe this is Julie's first novel. She writes likes a seasoned pro. I am sure this will be the first of many more books by Julie. Her name is sure to become popular on reader's tongues.

posted by LucilleCO on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The book has a worldly view of Christianity. In it, God disguise

The book has a worldly view of Christianity. In it, God disguises himself as a character's ghost. He watches from the sidelines as all sorts of terrible things happen to the main character. (***SPOILER ALERT The seventeen-year-old is raped in the church sanctuary by a &...
The book has a worldly view of Christianity. In it, God disguises himself as a character's ghost. He watches from the sidelines as all sorts of terrible things happen to the main character. (***SPOILER ALERT The seventeen-year-old is raped in the church sanctuary by a "Christian" man.) I was also bothered by the mix of Christianity with other religions, meaning some of the characters seemed to believe in Jesus, but also seemed to practice other religions. It also portrayed that all Christians are hypocrites or weak in character unless they are poor.
I knew this book would be depressing because of the subject matter, but I believed it was a Christian book since I was buying it in a Christian bookstore. It also had good reviews with a guaranteed good read sticker on it. I thought I could trust the Christian publisher, but I was wrong. Don't waste your money or your time on this book, it isn't worth it!

posted by MRJR on November 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved, loved, loved this book! It was so hard to put it down. The author makes you fall in love with Millie, and keeps the reader surprised through out the book. It has been some time since a book has made me cry! This one tugged on many heart strings.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Wonderful story

    The authors writing style is so fresh and original. Story was
    Written before but never like this..i hope to read more from this remarkable author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    To repeat other's, I could not put this down. I didn't have the

    To repeat other's, I could not put this down. I didn't have the same experience as some- while there's a lot of mention of god, and religion I did not focus on that- and did not know it was touted as a 'christian' book or know that it was by a christian publisher. I simply read a brief discription and picked it up. The story is a good one, easy to read and goes by quickly. Just as I thought with the sequel I thought some of the story lines were lacking and wished they would have had more substance. A little more time spent on Millie's relationship with her father. With it being so strained (SPOILER) I hated that he didn't even know she was at the arena when he died. I was hoping that he had at least  known she was there. Also, I did not like how the author/main character dealt with Bill Miller. I just thought it made her seem pathetic. I know that it is a touchy subject, rape, but I just didn't like how it was handled. Still a good read and I really liked it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2014

    I thoroughly enjoyed Into the Free. Millie and her family are ju

    I thoroughly enjoyed Into the Free. Millie and her family are just like any other family in any time.  They struggle with alcoholism and domestic abuse.  I found Millie to be so strong and a character to really look up to.  
    As in all things, this book shows that even with money, a lot of people are not happy nor are they perfect.  I found the struggles that Millie has with God and belief refreshing.  I think if people are honest, we all struggle with believing at times.  We all have ups and downs and in the down times we do wonder if God is really or if he has abandoned us.  

    This is an amazing work and I cannot wait to read more by this author.

    I was provided a free copy of this book for my honest review.  i was not paid for my positive review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Recommend -

    Enjoy this book, storyline good and kept my attention. Real issues were written into the story like they would have happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    Great first book! I¿ve read few books as engrossing as Into the

    Great first book!
    I’ve read few books as engrossing as Into the Free. I was hooked from the first chapter. The writing is excellent as it tells the story of a young girl in a small Mississippi town, as she learns that everything isn’t always how it seems and that everyone has secrets.
    Her father is abusive and her mother, too heartbroken to care about much of anything. You get to see life from Millie’s point of view as she tries to hold her family together and learns strength and how to trust through the losses life keeps throwing her way.
    This book has four stars because of the great writing and the fabulous details the author included. I didn’t particularly enjoy the story and it is not a favorite of mine. It almost had me crying in parts and while the realism is great, I had a hard time dealing with all that Millie went through. The author could’ve stopped it anywhere instead of taking the story in the direction she did. I don’t understand her choice, but it is just that, her choice. I also have a hard time with the fact that while Into the Free is listed as a Christian book, Millie never really “found” God. She spends the whole book remembering things her mother has talked about regarding the Bible, but never really makes a decision one way or the other. She prays occasionally and her mother quotes scripture to her, but she still has these odd ideas that don’t match up with any Christian faith I’ve heard of. I honestly don’t understand that part at all.
    I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a clean, thought provoking read.
    I received this book through The Book Club Network for my honest review, which I have given.
    Note: please do not let my opinions prevent you from reading this book. That is not in any way my intention with this review. I do not wish to hurt the author or discourage anyone from reading Into the Free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Millie's story got under my skin. I grieved for her small, despe

    Millie's story got under my skin. I grieved for her small, desperate world, and loved (most of) the characters in it. Told through the eyes of a young girl, Into the Free takes you on a journey of discovery. I yearned for peace and purpose for dear little Millie. Through it all, there was an underlying glimmer of hope that this girl would eventually find her way out of her life and into the free. Ms. Cantrell's prose was lovely and heartbreaking at the same time. She spun scenes with a delicate hand that painted vivid images in your mind. This is one of those novels that lingers in your thoughts long after you close the book.
    I was delighted to learn there will be a sequel to Into the Free, and I can't wait for it to release!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Bittersweet Story

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Great read

    Loved it. A heartwarming story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    April 2012

    I uaually do not enjoy reading anything sad, however I could not put this down. The writting was just wonderful. It took you into Millie's world and you did not want to leave. I hope the sequel will be as good. Looking forward to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Glad I read it!

    The writing style seems appropriate to the period, but what I really enjoyed was the development of the characters, the richness of the text, and the lack of predictability that keeps the reader actively engaged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not for me

    This book lost me on the first page. Just not written in a style I like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Good read!

    If you are looking for a feel good book this is it. Through tragedy and triumph you feel for the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    It's always nice to discover a new author. I found out that Juli

    It's always nice to discover a new author. I found out that Julie Cantrell has a nice and pleasant voice.

    Millie grew up in a violent home. Her father abused her mother often. Millie was always happy when her father was gone with the rodeo and it was only mom and Millie then.
    Millie dreams of running away with the gypsies that come every spring to their town. After 6 years she makes contact with a handsome gyspy boy. They fall in love and Millie decides to run away with him and the other gypsies. But before she can actually do that something tragic happens and the gypsies travel on without Millie. She hopes to meet them next year for a new chance to go with them. All year she dreams of the gypsy boy. When things get really tough in her family situation she clings to the hope to see the gypsy boy again next spring.

    Meanwhile Millie's life is turned upside down and new people enter her life, including a young cowboy that befriends her. Millie starts a job and finds out that she loves to do the very thing she thought she always hated.

    This story handles some nasty things, but the author deals with the situations very well. I dare you to try this new author. I'm sure we will hear much more from Julie Cantrell in the future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Good read

    Good read, couldn't put it down until I finished the book. I hope the ending leads to a sequel. It left many questions unanswered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Recommend

    This was enjoyable. A heart wrenching story of human suffering, and resilience. One can see God's faithfulness, in seeing us through those very difficult times in our lives,in spite of ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Awesome

    Terrific readthat kept me spellbound with each page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I ordered this book for free and was shocked at what a good read it was. It was written well, easy to read and hard to put down. Pulled at your heart strings. Will read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Interesting

    I enjoyed this book. Found it hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I found this book very interesting. I was especially interested in the travelers in Mississippi in the 1940,s. I hope there will be a sequel soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3