BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Into the Gauntlet (The 39 Clues Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not quite the last book!

Finally, after reading all nine books, I get to the last one in this exciting series. but, wait a minute, I'm not so sure it IS the last one! Apart from the bonus book, The Black Book of Buried Secrets, that is being released on October 26, 2010 (in which the hidden sec...
Finally, after reading all nine books, I get to the last one in this exciting series. but, wait a minute, I'm not so sure it IS the last one! Apart from the bonus book, The Black Book of Buried Secrets, that is being released on October 26, 2010 (in which the hidden secrets and mysteries surrounding history's most notorious family are uncovered) the ending of The 39 Clues left some unanswered questions. "Our adventures aren't over, Dan thought. But they are for now." So, entretemps, this series has ended but it will definitely continue sometime in the near future.

Without giving too much away, here's what Book 10 reveals: 14-year-old Amy Cahill and her 10-year-old brother Dan are now expected not only to find the 39 clues first, but they are also commissioned to reunite their traitorous family-the same people responsible for their parents' death. After a month of dodging bullets, running from evil cousins and getting out of impossible situations, they aren't at all keen on forgiving and forgetting what's been done to them. But there's more to the 39 clues hunt than they've been led to believe. Even once the reader discovers what the prize at the end of the line is and what it means-power to rule the world-what's going to happen once it's discovered and taken possession of?

About halfway through the book, the suspense really begins and continues full speed ahead. Haddix makes use of short chapters and cliffhanger endings to keep the reader turning the pages. This was the longest of the books at over 327 pages.

The ending is satisfying but not complete, hence it may leave some readers feeling like they're hanging suspended. I look forward to the continuation. I've invested time to read this series, enjoyed it tremendously, and now I understand some things better having reached this last book.

If you haven't started reading this series yet, it's worth it especially since Steven Spielberg is to direct the film production based on The 39 Clues. In addition, this book offers an interactive experience for kids. They can collect the cards that come with each books, play the games online and win prizes. There are over $100 000 in prizes for clue hunters. Well, The 39 Clues isn't over and in a way I'm glad about it. What will Amy and Dan have to face now that they've discovered a powerful secret? We'll soon find out!

posted by Laura-Fabiani on October 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

MEAP!

I think I am a Madrigal. GET ALONG!

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    Into the Gauntlet

    I think that in this book, they will create the philosophers stone, but also find out the secrets of their past and also unite the whole cahill family, as is their mission in book 9: to "win it for the madrigals, but also to unite the whole family"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    the 39 clues book10 into the gruntet the explosive end about the truth

    Hello fans of the 39 clues only. book 10 will end the explosive 39 clues the story is about amy and dan trying to find the truth. people who would really like to get book 10 it will be sooooo awesome. please get the 39 clues book 10. peace 39 clue hunters drew kortanek ekat branch

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2014

    I gave Into The Gauntlet a 15/16. The characters promoted a lot

    I gave Into The Gauntlet a 15/16. The characters promoted a lot of action. The book had very good grammar. It could have been a little more organized, but it was still a good book. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    LUCIAN ALERT

    HOW DO YOU GET PAST THE FORT KNOX LEVEL IT IS IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Say no to nook sex!

    Com to star res 12 and talk to us if you agree!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    To S.E.A

    Character: Nathan Satyr; Son of Athena: dirty blonde hair, grey eyes. White with a perfect tan. He loves to swim.
    Main weapons: two swords that form a darth mual type sword, a trident that turns into a walking stick, bow and arrows.
    Excelent at everything. Second in command in the Athena cabin. He will die to save his friends. He works with the hephaestus kids in creating weapons and armor. I know this is alot of detail but you do a great job in writing the stories. P.S to see his origin story go to demigod diaries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm-10

    I'm almost going to leave! :( I'm going to miss you guys, so much. This is going to be in Merida's pov. Its going to be this way for a while, just to get things sorted out! •••••••••••••••••••••••••••• When we got to the Big House, Lizzy told me she would wait outside for me. I must've had a scared look on my face because Lizzy said," He's not gonna hurt you! Just go!" I walked inside and saw Chiron, Mr. D, and an orange haired girl." Um, hello! What aaarrrrreee we doin' here.", I said, laughing nerviously." I had a dream.", Chiron said. I looked at him like, seriously." Whoa whoa whoa whoa! You had a dream. Thats why I'm here? Thats a really weird reason to ask a girl to come to a meeting at 5:00 in the morning.", I said." Oh, I wasn't finished yet! I had a dream about a sorceress." That scared me." Uh, he-he, y-you had a dream about a s-sorceress. Thats really weird. That IS really weird. Oh, gee!", I said, nervously." I have a guess you did too. Thats why I asked Rachel to come here. She has a prophecy. Would you like to hear it?" I nodded." Very well! Rachel, please start.", said Chiron. Rachel came right in front of my face and green smoke swirled around her. Her eyes turned pure green. She said in a scary voice," The daughter of Mist shall pick ten. To go on a quest, to the sorceresses den. A roman clan you shall meet. The monster pack you must beat." Rachel grabbed on to my arms, with a grip so tight not even the Hulk could not break it ( I may be over exageraiting). I looked over at Mr. D and he was just looking at his cards. Rachel finished her prophecy." You shall enter the beast's cave. One shall die, his heart be brave. Two shall be lost. Another life will be cost. You shall succeed. And home you shall return." She let me go and I passed out. --------------------------- When I woke up, Jay was above me with another kid. He was the kid that I saw last night in the Hecate cabin." Hey, Merida! This Jackel Parker. One of your brothers.", Jay said." Hi, Jackel.", I answered." You can call me Jack. So I heard you got a quest!", Jackel said. I looked at him, wondering how he knew." Um, yeah. I did."" Who are you going to ask?", he asked." You and Jay!", I said, hopefully." Well, I'm in! What about you, Jay?"" I'm going to let my girlfriend go all the way to.....um........... someplace without me! I'm soooo in!", said Jay. When Jay said that, Jack frowned. But, They helped me get up and took me to the dining pavalon to eat breakfast." Do you have any ideas of who your going to ask?", Jay said." I think so.", I said with eggs in my mouth. Just then Lizzy came by." Hey, Lizzy! Do you want you go on a quest with me?"" I-I um can't. I have to help my dad this summer. So I won't be at camp for a while. Is that okay?", she said." Nah. Your fine! I still love you!", I said. And with that she walked away. After breakfast, I asked Camille, Pepper, Jonas, Austin, Lauren, Kara, Jack ( son of Ares), and Nicky. They all said yes! I wanted to bring Kylee, but I was out of people. She said that was fine. I had assembled my team and I wasn't going to lose any of them. Or so I thought. ••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• The next part will be at 39 clues book 11. I forgot what its called. I'm having family probs. My mother and father are jerks. I'm an only child so no prob there. I'm so stressed that I asked my aunt if I could live with her. She agreed so I'm going to Florida! Awesomesauce!!!!! Bye. Love you my people. S.E.A :) :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Swig4life

    I AM AWESOME IVE GOT SOME SWIG AND SWAG :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    To SK

    It coulnt have ~ Cat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Hi

    Amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    To SK

    Well... you could've made Reese knock out Marcus. That would have been better JK! It was great! Thabk ya! - reese ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    To below

    It couldn't have been better ~ Jack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    The Legend of Samuel Knight part 21

    Hey everybody..... I need a better intro..... Anyone up for the task? Anyway, the next part will be at the 39 clues book eleven Vesper's Rising. Remember to leave all feedback at Samuel Knight res. 1. This part will be in John's p.o.v.On with the story! --- We took turns carrying Sam which shouldn't have been that hard, but the guy was heavier than he looked. He was alive, but barely. We should have stopped and set up camp to let him rest, but we had to keep moving though. Julia and the others may have been able to hold the Romans off, but not for long. I hated leaving them behind to most likely die. We had no choice though. We had a quest to finish. "Is there anything we can do to get Sam back on his feet?" I asked. "I wish there was, but we can't feed him any ambrosia and that lightning had to mess him up regardless," Odyn answered. "Believe me lightning can do some major damage. It causes one thing in its pure form. Destruction." She was right. I don't even want to imagine what it must be like to be a child of Zeus. "So what's the plan now?" Shawn asked. "The same as before. We get to Las Vegas, find whatever we need to and get back to camp. Only now we add avoid the Romans to that list." I answered. "Well we have an issue guys," Max said. "When we fled the Roman camp we didn't grab our supplies." He was right. We had no food or water. All we had was a dagger I managed tp grab as we fled and Max's sword, which was now bent. Things seemed pretty grim. We walked for another mile and we came across a store. At least I thought it was a normal store at first. I had to look closely to see that it was floating slightly and that their was a rainbow just above it. We were hesitant at first, but went inside. The place had the scent of grass just after a light spring rain. There were statues all over the store each of a different god. Thank the gods Sam wasn't awake because the Hades statue was in a corner and facing the wall. A woman was behind the counter. She wore bright colors and dyed everything. She also wore bright sunglasses. "Well what have we here? A group of demigods that are lost, confused, tired, and defeated..... oh splendid!" Kayla picked up on who this was right away. "Iris, I mean mom!" "Kayla! Oh gods, how I've missed you and your father. How is he?" "He's been good. He talks about you alot. Anyway, can you give us a hand?" "Oh certainly first let's look at the son of Hades." "How did you know that?" Max asked. "I've been the gods messenger forever. I know everything they do," She studied Sam for a few minutes. "Oh dear, this one has been through so much. Sacrifice, defeat, hatred, humiliation, and even death. I have something that should help wake him up. Kayla I'm impressed that you want to help. Seeing how you despise him. Well it's obvious why. You two are opposites. Light and darkness." It got really awkward to say the least. Iris went in the back and got some medicine for Sam. "What exactly did you give him?" Shawn asked. "Oh just a simple potion," The goddess suddenly had a grim expression. "Quickly everyone in the back! The Romans are nearby!"--- Well what'd you think? Let me know. S.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    First here for SK

    Now I beat you you!! Hahaha the fans are taking over!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    To TTBPJ

    I luv your story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Percy jackson part18

    Ok kay i realy do do wrestleing for the next book go to cahill files 1 just got back from a trip today one will be short i love to see u guys post to jillian I also will do what thee guy on storm worning said now lets begen percy pecy yay your alive what hew are im you friend max remeber now nooooooooooooo dont die.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    S.J. here first for TTBPJ

    Yur awsum jillian! Is this series good?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    O K

    COOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    pee poo

    (:<)1@2#3$3@#$%&*-+( $090

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 11