Customer Reviews for

Into the Storm (Destroyermen Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    cant wait for next volume

    read a friends hardcover, bought the paperback - eager to get rest of series but B&N stopped stocking hardcover anticipating the paperback of vol 2 very frustrating B&N

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It is a revisitation and a mix of the concepts of parallel universes and alternate realities with a new twist; the lemurs of Madagascar became self-aware and intelligent.

    It is a revisitation and a mix of the concepts of parallel universes and alternate realities with a new twist. The lemurs of Madagascar became self-aware and intelligent. The "Storm" has taken ships and mariners across the divide since time began. Dinosaurs and other ancient life forms evolved and co-habit in this new-old world. One thing remains unchanged; war not only between humans but now also involving non-humans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Very Enjoyable Read

    I am a WWII buff and I find historical inaccuracies very distracting to a story line. Taylor Anderson has made a commendable effort to remain true to historical accuracy as well as writing a very entertaining story. This is a good vacation book, rainy day book, etc. I highly recommend this book and its sequels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun if you like the time travel / alternate reality theme.

    I like that Anderson uses an old obsolete destroyer and not a super modern aircraft carrier. It makes for a more interesting story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What if you found yourself in a world where man never evolved?

    Anderson brings us an interesting series with "Destroyermen: Into The Storm". In the opening days of World War II, the navies of the allied nations found themselves being savaged by the Navy Of Imperial Japan. While fighting a last ditch battle against a Japanese Cruiser, two American Destroyers find themselves seeking cover in an ocean squall, but they quickly realise this is no ordinary storm. When the ships break free of the weather, everything appears normal, except for the sea creatures that are tearing the few Japanese survivors apart in the water. When the ship sails close to land the sailors are confronted with another enigma. The coasts are the same, but the land shows no sign of agriculture, and the inhabitants seem to be dinosaurs.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    A good read.

    Wasn't sure about this series. started reading it and thouhgt it was not as good as others. started out slow and I kept reaqding it since I paid for it. But after getting into the story I was hooked and now I am on book 4. nto as good as the hunger games but not much is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    "Hard" fantasy/sci-fi?

    Novel approach to the "trapped in another dimension" theme-not quite steam-punk-may need another label. Some ideas are a trifle predictable - big ego guy will probably meet a bad end, hero/beautiful girl somehow form a bond, but also some very unique ideas so far without the Bug-Eyed-Monsters. Lots of fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Okay, I'm hooked

    I don't read a lot of science fiction, but this caught my eye. Plotwise (ship goes through a storm into another world) it sounded like the 1980s Kirk Douglas movie "The Final Countdown" -- a good concept, but somewhat cheesy. However, the author delivers strong characters and plenty of action. Made destroyer duty pretty compelling and I'm an Air Force guy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great start to a new series

    Great story line of an old beat up Destroyer against newer Japanese fleet then a diferent type of enemy and the way the destroyermen handle the new reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    Good story.

    Now I am hooked on the story line and will have to buy the next book in the series. As an ex destroyer sailor (not on a 4 stacker as in book) and a alternate history fan the book had interested from the start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    final countdown meets henery turtlrdove

    overall a good read as are the others in the series if you like alternate histories as h. turtlrdove writes, this might be one to read for a lazy day .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2