BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Into the Storm (Destroyermen Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    engaging military science fiction parallel earth thriller

    At the onset of World War II, the desperate allies put into the navy several warships that have seen their better days. Commander Matthew Reddy leads one of them a destroyer that he fears will fail. When the enemy engages his vessel, Matthew realizes how helpless they are he orders his men to steer into the eye of a nasty storm to elude their foes.--------------- However, Matthew fully understands what it means to jump from the frying pan into the fire when the storm abates he and his crew find themselves in a world where dinosaurs live and humans are non existent. However Matthew learns of two sentient races at war each side demands he join them as his junk ship is superior by far to what either side possesses. -------------- With a nod to Star Trek and DC comics, INTO THE STORM is an engaging military science fiction parallel earth thriller. The story line is fast-paced and filled with plenty of action. On the plausible side is this alternate earth with dinosaurs and sentient races and the crew entering the ¿portal¿ on the doubtful column is the impact of a broken down destroyer on a world war (potential technological leaps in the long run aside). Still fans will appreciate Taylor Anderson¿s fine tale.----------- Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Finest Example of the Art

    I am totally blown away by Taylor Anderson's tale here - this rivals another of my favorite series, the Empire of Man Series by David Weber & John Ringo (March Upcountry, March to the Sea, March to the Stars, We Few). Every bit the epic story as their series was, but with a more 'grounded' quality (no spaceships in this one) and less 'space opera' to it. But the battles, the human dramas, the character development, the inter-species relationships, and the sheer...adventure of it, has few equals. I love this series and have already finished the second book and am 1/2 way through the third. Move over, Mr. Weber and Mr. Ringo (and Mr. Drake), you now have a new peer...overall, a SUPERB example of the military sci-fi genre and a real Keeper!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW! Give this new novelist an A+.

    If you love well researched history, riviting action, adventure, well developed characters that stay true to te end, and yes,sci fi, this is your book.<BR/><BR/>A great read with all the necessary ingredients. Try it, you will love it. This reader does.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Great read

    I read this book in one night and paid for it the next day. Looking forward to the next book. To the author.. well done.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Incredible Story

    Incredible book, I couldn't put it down! Can't wait for book 2 the 'Crusade' to come out in October. I think it is refreshing for a new author to skillfully combine WWII descriptions, men, boats and planes together with a different dimension, monsters and race, but still make it flow effortlessly together into a fast paced great read! This well told tale is obviously a great candidate for Peter Jackson or George Lucas to put on the big screen. His author's notes on several items in the book were great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    totally rad sci fi brah!

    This is alternate history/sci-fi at its best. Anderson is a fantastic new author and I look foreward to reading the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    All 8 books were great, Waiting for book #9. 

    All 8 books were great, Waiting for book #9. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    We enter the storm with them

    A fantastic book. When I finished the book and was left hanging and I had to get the next book( I have eight of the books so far). Can't wait for the nineth book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    If you like science fiction books, and you want a good series to

    If you like science fiction books, and you want a good series to read, then the Destroyermen is the series you should be reading. Starting out in World War 2, and under pursuit of the Japanese Navy, Uss Walker and Mohan Head into a squall for protection. But something happens when they are in the squall and though the land is familiar, they are in a new world unknown to them. As they begin to come to terms with the way this new world works, they enter into a new war, not for just freedom, but their very survival.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Excellent book, intriguing, creative and exciting series

    Great characters, gripping action scenes, does a wonderful job of incorporating factual historical events and equipment into a fantasy world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    An unspoken hit

    A fantastic WW2 era naval thriller with an exciting and creative alternate reality twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Cool idea and very well written

    There are what if sturies then there are what if stories. Rewriting history that far back is a realy cool idead and i would recomend this to anyone who likes history or palentology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Excellent start to an alternative-history series

    And when I say "alternate history" with this author's books, I mean REALLY alternate. The divergence point in this world takes place 65 million years ago. I can't say more without giving the gaffe away completely, but you may be able to guess. In any case, a pair of vintage World War I American destroyers, while fighting a more modern Japanese ship, slide through a spacial warp and emerge in a parallel universe -- with much more dangerous enemies. Fortunately, there are also allies here; but the American destroyermen will still have a terrible fight for survival ahead.

    The reading goes at a good speed, and there's very little to slow it down, not enough to justify a lower star rating in my opinion. Recommended for history buffs, of course, but also for others looking for a good action yarn, the first of a long series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Well done alternate timeline

    Those who enjoy Eric Flint's "Ring of Fire" series, this wil have a pleasantly similar-yet-different experience. The characters are consistent yet change over time/experience. Mr. Anderson accurately reflects the thinking processes of a different time and avoids "preaching" about how things should be (both in reference to then and now). Great action and uses many experienced personages to get his military and biological/zoological references as accurate as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Awesome Book & Series

    I just finished the 6th book, and realized, I never rated the first book, Into The Storm. I am not going to rehash the plot as has been done.

    Taylor does a great job with greating both character and situations that make you want to keep reading. IF you are looking for a book, take a chance on this one (just be ready to read the next 5 books!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    A most excellent Alt-history/parallel world story

    While the book starts out slow, roughly 1/4 of the way through it finds its stride and will draw you into its beautiful, fantastical, and dangerous world leaving you wanting more. I would completely and immediately recommend to any and all fans of Sci-Fi and Alt-history/parallel worlds, to pick up this series. With its brilliant cast of characters and beautifully designed world, this is a truly great series and I cannot wait for the next book in the series to be published. I recommend buying the books 2 at a time, as you may find yourself reading one cover to cover without realizing it as i have found myself doing.

    Adam Jacques

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    excellent reading

    the book is well written and hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Yarn!

    A good timeshift tail like many others. But who would have thought to throw together Lemurs, Raptors a Navy Destroyer and her crew as main characters? Nothing too cerebral, just a nice read complete with good characters, plenty of action and great battle sequences. I like how he peppers in forshadowing hints throughout as to what will come back around later on. Mr. Anderson gets the Navy lingo and traditions down very well. In fact I wondered if someone unfamiliar with shipboard terms would be able to follow the story as easily. But I think it is probably easy enough for most everyone to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Awesome read

    Great story!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    I loved it!

    Classic case of buying a Nook Book due to its name and cover and absolutley loving it! I was skeptical, but it was late at night and needed something to read. It took me about 20 pages or so to really get in to it, but soon I couldn't put it down and in 2 weeks I will have completed all 5 that are part of the set so far. Fantastic character development, very descriptive scene set up and fantastic technology development. I read lots of SciFy and Fantasy and normally find myself thinking I am one of the key characters, but I don't see myself as part of this book, but instead WANTING to go back in time and become part of the Walkers crew! Here are some of my other reads so you know what I like: David Eddings- All; Terry Brooks- All; Raymond Feist-All; RA Salvatore- All; Harry Potter; Jim Butcher- Dresden files and My favorite of all, Codex Alera

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4