Customer Reviews for

Into the Wild (Warriors Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3427 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2868)

4 Star

(263)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(136)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 129 people found this review helpful.

great

I am totally hooked. Awesome.

posted by Balina on October 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

53 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Really Good Book!

Imagine being cared for with food in your belly 24/7, a warm place to sleep, and not a worry in the world. Imagine if all that was taken away and you had to fend for yourself, find food and sleep in the wilderness. What would you do? This is all a reality for Rusty, a d...
Imagine being cared for with food in your belly 24/7, a warm place to sleep, and not a worry in the world. Imagine if all that was taken away and you had to fend for yourself, find food and sleep in the wilderness. What would you do? This is all a reality for Rusty, a domestic cat who finds a band of cats in the wild and foolishly joins them in the book Warriors: into the Wild by Erin Hunter.
The book is about Rusty who lived a comfortable life. That was, until he ventured outside the fence that separated him from the outside world. He accidentally stumbled upon a band or clan of wildcats. He picks a fight with Graypaw, a Thunderclan apprentice and learns that these cats aren't as vicious as his cat neighbor, Smudge, told him they would be. Rusty learns about the four clans that roam the forest, and how each one works. Later, Rusty is invited into the clan. When he becomes part of the clan, he learns that clan cats don't accept domestic cats very often. In fact, they call domestic cats kittypets.
I personally enjoyed the book. The characters are unique in everyway. They tend to act human like, so it's easy to comprehend feelings from these felines. My favorite part was when Rusty and Graypaw first meet and have a little "cat fight". I believe kids 10 and up will enjoy this book if they enjoy adventure, suspense and animals.
Will Rusty ever get accepted? Will he go back to his home? Find out in Warriors: into the Wild by Erin Hunter.

posted by 6900794 on January 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3440 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 172
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I am totally hooked. Awesome.

    81 out of 129 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    *~Into the Wild~*

    Into the Wild, a great book that intorduces the clan cats. ThunderClan, leader: Bluestar; RiverClan, leader: Crookedstar; WindClan, leader: Tallstar; and ShadowClan, leader: Brokenstar. The book is a great way to meet all the characters and explore the world of warriors! It starts out a great series and begins a journey with the four Clans.

    *~Scarheart~*

    80 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    I LOVE THIS WHOLE SERIES!

    I have read the whole series so far and I can't wait for the latest book to come out! I am a cat lover and I actually felt like I was a part of the clan. Erin Hunter is an excellent author.

    62 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Anonymouse

    This book is amazing i am reading it for the third time even though i am only 10 i recomend this to everyone if you like this book you will also love seekers by erin hunter

    54 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    This book will warm the hearts of many.

    The book into the wild by Erin Hunter is wonderful. The book is about a Kittypet 'house cat' giving up everything he has to live out in the wild. This book will warm the hearts of many. I loved the tale of Firestar and his beloved friends. It was absolutely wonderful to read. The characters were phenomenal. I was astonished to find that each cat had something different about it. For example, Firestar was very brave and quiet while Spottedleaf smelled nice and was very kind hearted. Tigerclaw was very law enforcing, but always aware of the crowd's opinions. What I mostly liked about the story was the author¿s ability to describe the characters and setting. I really felt like I was in the story feeling the moist air on my nose. It was amazing.

    54 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    Great series for strong readers!

    My nine-year old daughter loves this series. She is already on Book 3. She finds them exciting because you never know what will happen! They are well-written and I find that they have expanded her vocabulary - which was already pretty impressive. But I love it when she comes over to ask "What does this mean?" These books are pretty detailed (lots of places and characters to remember), so keep that in mind when considering this series.

    43 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    who knew this before?

    Great start to the warrior series, Erin! Who knew that a kittypet can become the great Firepaw who is loyal and courageos if anyone would like to join Iceclan just ask and ask my friend greystar if you want to join StoneClan. he will gladly post his clan up on the Outcast book #3 of power of three

    36 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZINGGGG!!!! ¿

    this book is OUTstanding. ive read the whole first series, but im rereading it because it was so good. i love how the reader (which would be me in this case...) gets to know the characters so well as if im right there observing everything. THIS IS THE BEST SERIES IVE EVER READ!!!

    31 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    Warriors Into the Wild

    This is a book of ,action ,drama ,and humor. When an ordinary house cat named Rusty embarks on on a grand adventure he changes more of a wild cat. And migth be the bravest of them all. With help from Graypaw and Raven paw ,his freands ,they have to save the thunder clan . This is a book for all ages .I highly recommend that you try to read the rest of the books, Fire and Ice, Forest of Secrets, Rising Storms, A Dangerous Path, and The Darkest Hour.

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Wonderful Warriors

    This is the first book in the Warriors series. At first I was skeptical about the setup, Clans and deputies and elders and apprentices but I find that Hunter manages to explain the concept thoroughly throughout the book. An exciting storyline and an incredible cliff hanger at the end. Read Into the Wild and look for Book 2: Fire aand Ice.

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    Greatest Book Ever!

    Rusty, a 'kitty pet' goes into the forest to join clan cats. He has much more responsibilities, and te risk of losing his life in battl. Yet he is free, and not cooped up in a house. This book is hard to put down, and makes you want to read the next on in the series. It's impossible to stop once you start!

    22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    juciy!!!!!

    i luved it and everyone should read it. seriously, i read it in one day and i am begging my friend to lend me book#2! read it soon!

    19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great Book

    This is a really good book.I recommend it to whoever likes reading.

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    hi it`s me tangleclaw

    first off, I thought this book was really great! it was the first warrior book I read and I just got stuck in it and didn`t stop reading till i was done with it! Oh and foxstar if you are there could you en make a book club thing so i could talk to you? It would be really great if you did! type in "tangleclaw`s talk to friends place" into the search thing and you will find it! Well hope to TTLY!

    15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great reading for young readers.

    I purchased the book with the intention of giving it to my granddaughter to expand her reading skills. I read the book to see if the book was on her reading level, and found that I enjoyed the "cast of characters" of the different warriors. I will have to wait a couple of years for my granddaughter's reading skills to be on the level of the book, it will make great summer reading for her when the time comes.

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    5 Star Rating For Warriors:Into The Wild

    The Warriors series is excellent! Particularly this for the first one, Warriors:Into The Wild. It is great for anybody who wants a book with adventure and action, perfect for a cat-lover who wants a story with a bit of a twist to it. Erin Hunter did a fabulous job with this book! Even people who aren't crazy for cats, I think will find some interest in it. It starts out with Rusty, a normal house cat who gets offered into the the exciting and dangerous world of the warriors. All the characters in this book really come alive. I would strongly recommend this book for anyone who wants a great read!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    READ IT! NOW!!! It's the BEST Book EVER!!!

    This book is AMAZING!!! I cannot describe how much I love this book and this series. It's addicting (in a good way), and even now two years later, I'm still rereading them and rereading them. You NEVER get tired of them! Once you start you can't stop.
    The story starts out with little Rusty, who dreams of a life in the wild forest. Soon he learns the exciting life the cats of the Clans must live. THey must hunt for themselves, and fight to maintain their borders. Is Rusty ready for all this? If you read, you'll find out!
    All in all, this is a great, thrilling book you'll never want to put down, even when you're done! You'll stay on the edge of your seat biting your nails until it's over, then beg your mom to go to the store to buy you the next one. All my friends who've read them love them too!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Awesome book

    Animal lovers will love this story...its amazing how erin huner portrays cats as intellgent while us "two legs" are the stupid ones. Cat lovers everywhere will enjoy firepaws tale of triumph in the face of adversity

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Warriors into the wild is totally awesome

    Warriors into the wild is the first in the warriors series. It is by Erin Hunter who is actually three people. Victoria Holmes is in charge of making sure that the books stay consistent and she comes up with the storylines. Kate Cary and Cherith Baldry take turns writing the books. They have one name so all the books are in one place in the library.The book is about a house-cat named Rusty. He has dreams of hunting and being mighty. Then one day he says to his neighbor cat Smudge that he is tired of being a house-cat. So Rusty sets of into the forest behind his yar or to him "the wild". He ends up being attacked. He goes with wild cats to their clan. In the forest there are five clans. The clan he joins is the thunderclan, there is also the river clan, the star clan, the shadow clan, and the wind clan.The clans all have boundaries for their land. Then all of a sudden the shadow clan starts taking land. Then one clan mysteriously dissapears. The thunderclan puts up a fight. Rusty goes on a special journey since he is now a priveleged warrior in-training. Then murder and dissapearences strike. Rusty's new friend is accused but she is gone. He solves the mystery by going to the forbidden shadow clan. He saves the shadow clan from their crazed leader and becomes a brave warrior. The three women who make up Erin Hunter share an interest in ancient form of worship, astrology, and stone circles. They use that knowledge to give depth to the cats own mythology. I think Erin Hunter did an amazing job with this book. She has fantasy as the main genre but there is action and mystery tied in. I think Erin Hunter really made this a good book. I do not dislike anything about it. What i really like about this book is that Rusty does not kill the cat he finds. Instead he saves her and gives her a new life. I also like the fact that he has gone from house pet to brave investigator risking his life. I really enjoyed this book!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    It is really good

    My daughter read this on a friend's recommendation and says "it is really really really good". Do I have to say more?

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3440 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 172