Customer Reviews for

Into the Wild

Average Rating 4
( 835 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(384)

4 Star

(275)

3 Star

(104)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

speaks to the desire for freedom from humanity's B.S

No real lessons learned here, but for those who have found themselves thrown in with this thing that calls itself humanity, and find that their crude and cruel nature make them feel an outcast and leave them with the desire to separate from the human race anyway possibl...
No real lessons learned here, but for those who have found themselves thrown in with this thing that calls itself humanity, and find that their crude and cruel nature make them feel an outcast and leave them with the desire to separate from the human race anyway possible.....they understand. Personally I don't think he was that disappointed with the outcome of the decision he made. He couldn't submit to societies level of nonsense and the jerks who promote it (like all the rest of us spineless cowards do). Ultimately he achieved what he was searching for.......Freedom from the BS that is humanity. For all of you who criticize him...... all I can say is at least he doesn't have to put up with you, your B.S. or people like you anymore. Hopefully he has found a place that doesn't stink of ignorance, violence, self love, and material worship as planet earth does. Man, I here ya Chris.

posted by SampsonTD on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

His defenders make the stupidest arguments

First of all I've become quite insulted by the way his defenders try to belittle people who find his story critical. One such reviewer said that most people who view McCandless negatively are in grade 8 and do not understand the meaning of life. The truth is, most peopl...
First of all I've become quite insulted by the way his defenders try to belittle people who find his story critical. One such reviewer said that most people who view McCandless negatively are in grade 8 and do not understand the meaning of life. The truth is, most people who critisize McCandless have a deep respect for life which is why we would never trek into a dangerous environment with intentionally no provisions and not even bother to call our families to see how were doing. So who are people who remain critical of McCandless's story? I'll give you a portrait. One such man is a TV producer. He 30, married with a baby daughter. He is adventurous: he came to Canada from Serbia. He plans someday to visit Antartica. He values his life and the lives of people around him. He has made an independent name for himself. That is the portrait of someone who critisizes McCandless. Chances are the most who admkire him are under 25 and have never been to a children's cancer ward. Anyway, let's get to the book. The book seeks to glorify and render the actions of what can only be described as a troubled youth. Chris was not out to become independent and adventurous. And his story in no way relates to that of the author. First of all, lots of youth want to become independent and explore the world. But I don't find anything independent about a boy who doesn't work and depends on the kindness of strangers to survive. Secondly, this was not a young man on a great adventure. This was a suicide mission. Most young people, including myself, set off on adventures to get back alive. We make plans to survive the environment we trek into. This was boy who went into the Alaskan tundra without shelter, without food and without a map to find his way out. Is that adventurous or suicidal? The author is romantisizing a angry and self-destructive youth. This not a healthy message for young people who think that they are above nature and everyone they love around them. For the story of a truly heroic, independent and adventurous young man who truly valued life, consider a read about Terry Fox.

posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    His defenders make the stupidest arguments

    First of all I've become quite insulted by the way his defenders try to belittle people who find his story critical. One such reviewer said that most people who view McCandless negatively are in grade 8 and do not understand the meaning of life. The truth is, most people who critisize McCandless have a deep respect for life which is why we would never trek into a dangerous environment with intentionally no provisions and not even bother to call our families to see how were doing. So who are people who remain critical of McCandless's story? I'll give you a portrait. One such man is a TV producer. He 30, married with a baby daughter. He is adventurous: he came to Canada from Serbia. He plans someday to visit Antartica. He values his life and the lives of people around him. He has made an independent name for himself. That is the portrait of someone who critisizes McCandless. Chances are the most who admkire him are under 25 and have never been to a children's cancer ward. Anyway, let's get to the book. The book seeks to glorify and render the actions of what can only be described as a troubled youth. Chris was not out to become independent and adventurous. And his story in no way relates to that of the author. First of all, lots of youth want to become independent and explore the world. But I don't find anything independent about a boy who doesn't work and depends on the kindness of strangers to survive. Secondly, this was not a young man on a great adventure. This was a suicide mission. Most young people, including myself, set off on adventures to get back alive. We make plans to survive the environment we trek into. This was boy who went into the Alaskan tundra without shelter, without food and without a map to find his way out. Is that adventurous or suicidal? The author is romantisizing a angry and self-destructive youth. This not a healthy message for young people who think that they are above nature and everyone they love around them. For the story of a truly heroic, independent and adventurous young man who truly valued life, consider a read about Terry Fox.

    10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2001

    Not That Good

    I am in 8th Grade and I read this book I didn't like it because who in the world would come up here to Ak and go out into the wilderness not knowing what they are doing and try to survive on their own.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    HORRIBLE!!!

    This was one of the WORST books I ever bought!!! I was pushing myself to finish it and never did!!! I would NEVER, EVER recommend this book!!

    1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    c

    Crowpelt ate the tansy and laid her head down, shutting her eye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    Into the Review Yes the pun was intended in the title of the re

    Into the Review
    Yes the pun was intended in the title of the review. But anyways, Into the Wild was a strange book because of some of the crazy decisions that the main character made. The man’s name was Chris and he decided to abandon society and live in the Alaskan wildlife. Chris left his family, friends, and life behind and only brought a bag of rice and a twenty-two rifle which, by the way, is not a very big or powerful gun (Bottom line, a twenty-two rifle will not stop an angry grizzly bear).
    Chris was basically committing suicide. I do not think he planned or wanted to die, but given the circumstances and his lack of preparation the chances of survival were very slim. Before he dies, and yes he does die, (it says right on the cover of the book), he writes what I think is a suicide note. The note said, “I have had a happy life and thank the Lord. Goodbye and may God bless all!”(Krakauer 210) This note makes me feel as if he was ready to die and he did not want anyone to be sad when they found out about his death so he wrote the note to comfort his friends and family.
    I did not really like the book because it revealed the main character’s death on the front cover. I really dislike books that give away important details at the beginning of the story and I really do not like when the details are revealed on the front cover. When this happens it makes me not want to read the book because I feel like I already know what is going to happen and there is no point in reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Total waste of money...too much filler to tell a simple story.

    Total waste of money...too much filler to tell a simple story. Won't even finish reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    This was an absolutely terrible book about a spoiled rich kid wh

    This was an absolutely terrible book about a spoiled rich kid who blames his parents for giving him a life that many people would envy.  The author attempts to glorify a complete idiot.  I believe in chasing ones dreams but this fool has absolutely no plan and blames his parents for his personal failures and ineptitude.  Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Gg

    Not good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Is it

    Is this a good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    This ebook for nook sux

    Pages get stuck and keep repeating themselves. I spent $11 on this crap and cant get past page 18.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    horrible

    Horrible book...this spoiled brat goes into alaska with no wilderness knowledge, rice n a book and thinks he has a fighting chance is assinine! This book was a waste of my time!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    Confusion in the wild

    Into the wild was a book I could not get into. It was confusing and fustration for me to read. At times it made no sence what so ever. I felt that is was disorganized and praised a man that died, when there were many others who traveld inot the wild just as he did. I was okay with reading this book I thought it would be a good one. The more and more i got into the book the more and more i realized that it was a waste of my time. I dont see why this man is so facinating to others or why he is so praise. My favorte parts of the book are when he is in sociaty and not searching the wild for his soul. Hes an interesting person on his own without dieing in the wild. Sadly this man would never be written about without his unnecessary , ignorant death in the wild.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    Emulate morons

    This book is just an attempt to make a martyr out of a complete fool. Chris thinks he can make it in Alaska? Are you kidding me, if you are that stupid to attempt to live off the land without any survival skills then you deserve to die. The other stories of death in harsh country just prove my point that people are idiots. The author is a bumbling cretin who should stick to campfire stories and smoking his pot. Unbelievably not worth the time to read and make a hero out of a worthless kid.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    Mundane Idiocy!

    Reading this book is just a waste of time. It is just about a thoughtless idiot that thought he was bigger than lfe, just as the person who wrote it!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    The dumbest book on the earth

    Wow!!! Who would've thought that there was actually a climax to the book. This an absolute boring book. The author shouldn't be able to write another book ever in his life! How dare he waste his time on this piece of mess! What a dumb story. I wouldn't advise anybody to read this.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2000

    poo

    this is one of the worst books i have ever read, if i really would have read it. a book about potty training a dog would be more exciting and suspenseful.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2