Customer Reviews for

Into the Wild

Average Rating 4
( 851 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(396)

4 Star

(276)

3 Star

(107)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

speaks to the desire for freedom from humanity's B.S

No real lessons learned here, but for those who have found themselves thrown in with this thing that calls itself humanity, and find that their crude and cruel nature make them feel an outcast and leave them with the desire to separate from the human race anyway possibl...
No real lessons learned here, but for those who have found themselves thrown in with this thing that calls itself humanity, and find that their crude and cruel nature make them feel an outcast and leave them with the desire to separate from the human race anyway possible.....they understand. Personally I don't think he was that disappointed with the outcome of the decision he made. He couldn't submit to societies level of nonsense and the jerks who promote it (like all the rest of us spineless cowards do). Ultimately he achieved what he was searching for.......Freedom from the BS that is humanity. For all of you who criticize him...... all I can say is at least he doesn't have to put up with you, your B.S. or people like you anymore. Hopefully he has found a place that doesn't stink of ignorance, violence, self love, and material worship as planet earth does. Man, I here ya Chris.

posted by SampsonTD on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

His defenders make the stupidest arguments

First of all I've become quite insulted by the way his defenders try to belittle people who find his story critical. One such reviewer said that most people who view McCandless negatively are in grade 8 and do not understand the meaning of life. The truth is, most peopl...
First of all I've become quite insulted by the way his defenders try to belittle people who find his story critical. One such reviewer said that most people who view McCandless negatively are in grade 8 and do not understand the meaning of life. The truth is, most people who critisize McCandless have a deep respect for life which is why we would never trek into a dangerous environment with intentionally no provisions and not even bother to call our families to see how were doing. So who are people who remain critical of McCandless's story? I'll give you a portrait. One such man is a TV producer. He 30, married with a baby daughter. He is adventurous: he came to Canada from Serbia. He plans someday to visit Antartica. He values his life and the lives of people around him. He has made an independent name for himself. That is the portrait of someone who critisizes McCandless. Chances are the most who admkire him are under 25 and have never been to a children's cancer ward. Anyway, let's get to the book. The book seeks to glorify and render the actions of what can only be described as a troubled youth. Chris was not out to become independent and adventurous. And his story in no way relates to that of the author. First of all, lots of youth want to become independent and explore the world. But I don't find anything independent about a boy who doesn't work and depends on the kindness of strangers to survive. Secondly, this was not a young man on a great adventure. This was a suicide mission. Most young people, including myself, set off on adventures to get back alive. We make plans to survive the environment we trek into. This was boy who went into the Alaskan tundra without shelter, without food and without a map to find his way out. Is that adventurous or suicidal? The author is romantisizing a angry and self-destructive youth. This not a healthy message for young people who think that they are above nature and everyone they love around them. For the story of a truly heroic, independent and adventurous young man who truly valued life, consider a read about Terry Fox.

posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 396 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    speaks to the desire for freedom from humanity's B.S

    No real lessons learned here, but for those who have found themselves thrown in with this thing that calls itself humanity, and find that their crude and cruel nature make them feel an outcast and leave them with the desire to separate from the human race anyway possible.....they understand. Personally I don't think he was that disappointed with the outcome of the decision he made. He couldn't submit to societies level of nonsense and the jerks who promote it (like all the rest of us spineless cowards do). Ultimately he achieved what he was searching for.......Freedom from the BS that is humanity. For all of you who criticize him...... all I can say is at least he doesn't have to put up with you, your B.S. or people like you anymore. Hopefully he has found a place that doesn't stink of ignorance, violence, self love, and material worship as planet earth does. Man, I here ya Chris.

    19 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    Haunting

    I think a person generally falls under two categories after reading this book: those that dismiss Chris McCandless as a nut, an idiot, an arrogant naive kid. And then those that see Chris McCandless as a hero of sorts, a person to greatly admire. I fall into the latter category, but not because I think he was infallible. I acknowledge his faults, but I find so much to admire about the journey he undertook and the courage he had to make his dreams happen. Krakauer's writing is arresting, absorbing, you feel like you are right there with the figures in the story. I say "story" loosely because this is not a work of fiction. Chris's family is out there, still grieving over the enormous pain he left for them to endure. That this is a true story that happened not long ago makes it all the more haunting. It stayed with me months after reading it. There will be those that brush off this story with cynicism. But at the heart, this is a story about a young man who would settle for nothing less than the full realization of his dreams - to go out into the wild alone and challenge himself against God and nature. I would say this book changed my life. It woke me up and made me realize I wasn't living my life to the fullest. Thank you Mr. Krakauer for this masterpiece.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Into The Wild

    This book had a very powerful underlying message. For Chris it wasn't about going into the Alaskan wilderness with all of his loving posessions. He was seeking answers about where he was in his life and what it meant. I felt a strong connection to Chris in many ways. I feel that I have the same strong will and guts of steel that he posessed. Jon Krakauer kept me intently flipping the pages as I learned the story of Chris McCandless.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring story about letting go of the daily grind and giving u

    Inspiring story about letting go of the daily grind and giving up everything to taste life in the wilderness. At it's heart, into the wild, like every adventure, is a spiritual quest for life's true meaning. Wonderful book and movie.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    marching to your own beat

    this book is for anyone who belives you don't have to follow the crowd. for anyone who has an imiganation and has desired to explore life "outside the box".

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Amazing book

    I loved this book, you could literally feel the emotion when you read it and its touching. This is definitely my favorite, it's inspired me in so many ways, His love for the wild and just wanting to escape society was a no news flash cause there's people now wanting to do the same. The story of Christopher McCandless is a great story to tell and this book narrows his adventure down. Of course I would recommend this to anyone it's great and you will not be disappointed.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    live near the bus

    i live fairly close to where he did and somewhat from alaska....its a great book regardless of how nieve he was....loved the book

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Hard to put down

    Very well written and researched. I found it very hard to put down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Highly Recomended

    Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer tells the hauntingly beautiful tale of young Chris McCandless' life as he leaves college, and all the aspirations of his family, behind to pursue a life of wandering. Following him around the country to some of the greatest landmarks America is blessed to posses, it chronicles his adventures through interviews, his own journals and photographs, and the letters and postcard he sent to those whom he held dear as he makes his way around America living, for the majority of his time, out of his backpack, with minimal money, the clothes on his back, and the brian in his head. It is masterfully written in both the first, second, and third person from the perspectives of many people, people he went to school with, lived with, stayed with, traveled with, and all whom he marked with his unique and bright mark. The book begins with the end in some cases, as the very first chapters chronicle his death, then jump back two years to his college graduation, the start of an odessey. This is why the book struck me so deeply, because for me it was a metaphor for life, that even when you are gone, the end for you may simply be the beginning for some other woul who will chase you to the ends of the Earth to find out your story. Also, I was struck by Chris himself, and how much he pushes himself, enduring hardships voluntarily that others woudl not dare to comprehend on their own. Into the Wild was a masterful art piece that should be cherished and read by every boy between the ages of 12 and 20 who has a free, wandering spirit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Awesome book

    Jon Krakauer really did a swell job with this book Into the Wild. He had extensive research and interviewed the McCandless family. The book was great from beginning to end. The only downside I would see to this book is that the middle was dragging too much. I think Mr. Krakauer was trying to prove a point, but I started to get bored after Waterman and McCunn. In a way it made me read faster so I could get back to the part about Chris McCandless. I also liked how he had all those maps to show where Chris was on his trip. The best thing I found about this book was the many journal entries that Mr. Krakauer added to the book to show us exactly how Chris was feeling and what his thoughts were. I also liked the little passages that started every chapter. It must've taken a ton of effort and perseverance to take all those little passages and put them in the right chapter. Jon Krakauer has done quality research that makes this book both interesting and accurate. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    An incredible read!!!!

    This is a book that will keep you one the edge of your seat. It's a great book to discuss! I would HIGHLY recommend reading it. This book is thought provoking in every sense of the term and makes you question your own life. It makes you question the steps that you have taken in your own life in order to achieve something. Read this book! You won't regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely engrossing. This will haunt you for weeks after you finish it.

    This is a must read if you are into story lines that jerk you out of your element.To feel like you are along for the ride and witness all the emotional joys and terrors that this young man went through; wow. I loved the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Insightfulness to the max

    This book really opens up the eyes of the reader. By the time I finished it, I wanted to retreat from my current life and go on an Alaskan adventure myslef! It is easy to relate to because all of us go through times where we need to escape.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    INto My wild

    This is a story of a young man born in California who left all his worldy possessions behind. His name was Alex Supertramp, and reinvented himself as Chris McCandless. He left his middle class family and a promising future. Gave his money to charity and burned the rest. He set out to find Alaska, with just a backpack and head full of dreams. He survived in seclusion, keeping a journal of his journies. Unfortunately, he died of starvation and was found in an abandoned bus. This book shows the inspiring story of a man who wanted to hinf himself. Some described him as impulsive and idiotic. I like to think of this book as a disturbing and interesting book. It inspires us all to look within ourselves and wonder if we are truly living our lives the way we want to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    Wonderfully written, Captivatingly emotional storyline

    Into the Wild is the emotional tale of a young man's two-year journey across the United States, from Atlanta, Georgia to Fairbanks, Alaska. When the book begins, we learn that the man's body was found dead in Alaska. The writer, Jon Krakauer, then spends the rest of the book uncovering and explaining what happened to Christopher Johnson McCandless.

    Many who have heard of Christopher McCandless only know of part of his journey, the end. However, in this book Krakauer describes his entire journey, from changing his name to Alexander Supertramp to working at McDonald's in Bullhead City, Arizona. Krakauer explains that McCandless stopped and stayed at other places before he made it to Alaska- completely changing his direction at one point by contemplating the idea of going south instead- following each and every one of his footsteps the entire way. Krakauer did an amazing job in writing and researching this piece. He took the time to sit down and talk to some of the people that Chris met and grew close to on his journey. Each person interviewed has first hand knowledge of the boy that adds to the intensity of the story, giving it a more realistic feel.

    Very few complaints can be made about this incredible book- the writing is excellent, the story itself is phenomenal, and the research Krakauer did for it is rather impressive- and if this were a book of Chris McCandless's story alone, it would be an astounding read. However, it must be noted that almost midway through the book, Krakauer gets off topic and goes into detail about the stories of three other men. He says that these men are comparable to McCandless, when the only parallel that can be made is that they all had a desire to be alone on an adventure in the wild. Krakauer also spends a considerable amount of time describing his own journey to climb a mountain; a section that feels like it was a copy and paste job from Krakauer's Into thin Air. It is not that these extra stories and accounts are uninteresting, but they take away from the intensity of the story. Additionally, while this story is detailed and descriptive, it is also non-conclusive. McCandless journey is explained in great detail, but it is never understood why Chris decided to do this. You never learn the reason behind this young man's decision to leave his life behind and go west.

    One may open Krakauer's book with no prior knowledge of McCandless or his journey and be just as captivated by this tale as someone who has researched the young man. With only the first paragraph, there is little reason to put the book down; Krakauer's descriptive writing gives life to the peculiar story. Jon Krakauer has written the entrancing story of Christopher Johnson McCandless magnificently well. This book's popularity will certainly be around for many more years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Into the Wild (Maureen Bakis)

    Into the Wild is truely a riveting novel.A page turner, once you start you reading you will not put it down!I felt as though I was Chris McCandless struggling to survive on the fruits of nature. This story shows the true meaning of independence,endurance and capability. One doesn't realize how capable one's self is until one is in a position like Chris McCandless. Pushing yourself to your limits everyday, trying to survive solely on what nature has to offer. As long as oneself is in society there is a peer pressure and a set order of how to live. But being alone in the heartland of America depending on live animals for dinner is a whole different ball game. This story is highly recommended for anyone who enjoys a great adventure story. I promise you will be overly satisfied.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    I'm not so sure how good it was for me to have read this book. I want to do what chris did. It's hard for me to explain the affect this book had on me... but I can tell you that it was very powerful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    Darius

    Follows her calmly knowing it was a dead end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    Tom waits for anna

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 396 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20