Customer Reviews for

Into the Wilderness (Wilderness Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Into the Wilderness series is hands down, one of my all time favorites. If you haven't read these, you are in for such a treat. The last book in the series comes out this month (January). Run, don't walk, to pick up all of these amazing books!

Sara Donati (aka Rosina Lippi) is a fabulous writer and her tale of Elizabeth Bonner in early America (Saratoga Springs) is captivating. Once started, you will not be able to put it and all the books that follow in the series down. Rosina is a local author (Bellingham...
Sara Donati (aka Rosina Lippi) is a fabulous writer and her tale of Elizabeth Bonner in early America (Saratoga Springs) is captivating. Once started, you will not be able to put it and all the books that follow in the series down. Rosina is a local author (Bellingham WA) and whip smart (former professor of linguistics). If you like high quality historical fiction, you are in luck. This series has been compared to the Diana Gabaldon series and I can see why, but it is superior. It holds together better and all of the characters are more compelling. I never wanted it to end and there will be a lot of us in mourning this month (January 2010) when her last book comes out.

posted by JEhrlichman on January 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good Read but no originality!

As I am reading this book, I keep thinking of Outlander! Then I see that so many other readers have compared it to Outlander! THEN...the Outlander characters appear in the novel! Well I wasn't impressed. If I already thought Nathaniel Bonner was an American version of J...
As I am reading this book, I keep thinking of Outlander! Then I see that so many other readers have compared it to Outlander! THEN...the Outlander characters appear in the novel! Well I wasn't impressed. If I already thought Nathaniel Bonner was an American version of Jamie Fraser, this sured it up for me. Elizabeth (the main female character) is basically another Claire Fraser. She is even given the name (Bone in her Back). So I guess it is a mild version of Oulander but to be honest, it's more like Sara Donati picked up the Frasers, dusted them off, and plopped them in Nathaniel and Elizabeth Bonners clothes...no origality! Plus...if you are an avid Jane Austen fan...be prepared, this author has also stole several of her scenes from Pride and Prejudice as well. When Richard Todd first asks Elizabeth to marry him I had to look at the front of the book again to be sure I was still reading Into the Wilderness...come on! This author has a wonderful writing style. She can pull you into the book, and the characters SHE created and didn't borrow from other authors are very good. My suggestion to Ms. Donati is keep writing BUT trust yourself! You don't need someone elses characters! I would recommend the book, truthfully I loved both Outlander and Pride and Prejudice so I liked the book, but I would like to see more of this authors work, her original work. In the end a good book and I think I will read the next one. Hope this helps other readers.

posted by AustenfanCH on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read but no originality!

    As I am reading this book, I keep thinking of Outlander! Then I see that so many other readers have compared it to Outlander! THEN...the Outlander characters appear in the novel! Well I wasn't impressed. If I already thought Nathaniel Bonner was an American version of Jamie Fraser, this sured it up for me. Elizabeth (the main female character) is basically another Claire Fraser. She is even given the name (Bone in her Back). So I guess it is a mild version of Oulander but to be honest, it's more like Sara Donati picked up the Frasers, dusted them off, and plopped them in Nathaniel and Elizabeth Bonners clothes...no origality! Plus...if you are an avid Jane Austen fan...be prepared, this author has also stole several of her scenes from Pride and Prejudice as well. When Richard Todd first asks Elizabeth to marry him I had to look at the front of the book again to be sure I was still reading Into the Wilderness...come on! This author has a wonderful writing style. She can pull you into the book, and the characters SHE created and didn't borrow from other authors are very good. My suggestion to Ms. Donati is keep writing BUT trust yourself! You don't need someone elses characters! I would recommend the book, truthfully I loved both Outlander and Pride and Prejudice so I liked the book, but I would like to see more of this authors work, her original work. In the end a good book and I think I will read the next one. Hope this helps other readers.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nice Try

    Well...I was very hopeful with this book since I'm a big fan of Gabaldon's Outlander. But...It wasn't as I expected. The characters seem promising at first, but then it all gets too predictable. Yes, it has the touch of romance and adventure, but it stays short, and sometimes I found myself trying to skip on pages (something that never ever happened with Outlander). Not a good review...sorry.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A mental escape.

    I really enjoyed Into The Wilderness. Every time I had to put the book down I couldn't wait till I was about to pick it back up. I know it's a good book when after I put the book down I keep thinking about the characters and reliving the scenes I have just read, and wondering what could possibly happen next. I like that there was a little real history involved, but not so much that it over shadowed the love story. I was so happy to find out that Into The Wilderness is the first in a series of book involving Nathaniel, Elizabeth, and the rest of residents of Paradise.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    The Into the Wilderness series is hands down, one of my all time favorites. If you haven't read these, you are in for such a treat. The last book in the series comes out this month (January). Run, don't walk, to pick up all of these amazing books!

    Sara Donati (aka Rosina Lippi) is a fabulous writer and her tale of Elizabeth Bonner in early America (Saratoga Springs) is captivating. Once started, you will not be able to put it and all the books that follow in the series down. Rosina is a local author (Bellingham WA) and whip smart (former professor of linguistics). If you like high quality historical fiction, you are in luck. This series has been compared to the Diana Gabaldon series and I can see why, but it is superior. It holds together better and all of the characters are more compelling. I never wanted it to end and there will be a lot of us in mourning this month (January 2010) when her last book comes out.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2000

    Excellent!

    I think it is probably the best book I have read in a long time. I could not put it down! It's a exciting mixture of romance and adventure. I am looking forward to her next novel.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Ever seen the movie (or read) The Last of the Mohicans? That is

    Ever seen the movie (or read) The Last of the Mohicans? That is where the premise of this book picks up, with Cora and Hawkeyes' son as the love interest and hero which I picked up on in the first 3 chapters. It was a great movie!!! This book is good for a light and fast read with tasteful romance and a decent plot. Elizabeth & Nathaniel don't remind me at all of Claire and Jamie Fraser, but fans of Outlander would like the story I'm sure.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Many plot twists

    Gabaldon recommended this series and that made me interested in it. It is a long novel with many plot twists that kept it interesting and made it worth reading. It also had a nice connection to the Outlander series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Just finished Diana Gabaldon's Outlander Series and was looking for something else to read. I am really enjoying this series. I am already reading the second book in the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    Outstanding!

    I just finished this 1st book of the series, set in 18th Century New England, & can't wait to read the rest. I, too, am a huge fan of Gabaldon's Outlander books so am happy to find another historical fiction series that keeps me coming back for more. Nathanial & Elizabeth, like Jamie & Claire, find themselves facing one challenge after another. I couldn't wait to see what happened next & how they would get themselves out of whatever fix they're in. If you're a fan of Historical Fiction with likable characters, great story & descriptive writing, this is definitely for you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Snuggle up with hot chocolate and escape to another time...

    Well-written period piece set in the late 1700s in upstate New York - includes a great love story. Recently re-released in this beautiful trade paper edition. Highly recommended - worth reading more than once.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Very good

    Great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Breathtaking!

    Reading this story makes one feel as if they are in the story. As if the reader is a character invited to listen to a conversation. I need to read the entire series now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Awesome read!

    Couldn't put it down! LOVED it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This was a long read, but it was well worth the time. Very interesting characters, well developed. Also an interesting insight into the world of the Native Americans in the 1700's as well as the life of the early settlers. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys historical fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    I am in the middle of this book and can't put it down. I will read all in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    A Favorite

    Excellent - will read the next one in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Started slow but ended well.

    I began this series because it was recommended after reading the Outlander series. It started slow. It picks up the pace around page 200. It was almost painfully slow up until this point. All in all though, it was a great book. I can't wait to read the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    ENJOYED VERY MUCH

    Once you start reading this book it will be hard to put down. I have already ordered the second book in the series. Reminds me of Diane Gabaldon series, if you liked them you will like this too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    A page turner that flowed

    Loved the characters...at first it seemed predictible but there were so many twists and turns in the story that I couldn't wait to read on. I'm anxious to start #2. Donati is a very graceful, smooth writer with a flair for the language and customs of the era.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    As close to Diana Gabaldon as a book can get....

    If you have read all Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series and are aching for more, this is your author. Very closely related yet different enough to enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13