Customer Reviews for

Into the Wilderness (Wilderness Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A mental escape.

I really enjoyed Into The Wilderness. Every time I had to put the book down I couldn't wait till I was about to pick it back up. I know it's a good book when after I put the book down I keep thinking about the characters and reliving the scenes I have just read, and won...
I really enjoyed Into The Wilderness. Every time I had to put the book down I couldn't wait till I was about to pick it back up. I know it's a good book when after I put the book down I keep thinking about the characters and reliving the scenes I have just read, and wondering what could possibly happen next. I like that there was a little real history involved, but not so much that it over shadowed the love story. I was so happy to find out that Into The Wilderness is the first in a series of book involving Nathaniel, Elizabeth, and the rest of residents of Paradise.

posted by 3499399 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good Read but no originality!

As I am reading this book, I keep thinking of Outlander! Then I see that so many other readers have compared it to Outlander! THEN...the Outlander characters appear in the novel! Well I wasn't impressed. If I already thought Nathaniel Bonner was an American version of J...
As I am reading this book, I keep thinking of Outlander! Then I see that so many other readers have compared it to Outlander! THEN...the Outlander characters appear in the novel! Well I wasn't impressed. If I already thought Nathaniel Bonner was an American version of Jamie Fraser, this sured it up for me. Elizabeth (the main female character) is basically another Claire Fraser. She is even given the name (Bone in her Back). So I guess it is a mild version of Oulander but to be honest, it's more like Sara Donati picked up the Frasers, dusted them off, and plopped them in Nathaniel and Elizabeth Bonners clothes...no origality! Plus...if you are an avid Jane Austen fan...be prepared, this author has also stole several of her scenes from Pride and Prejudice as well. When Richard Todd first asks Elizabeth to marry him I had to look at the front of the book again to be sure I was still reading Into the Wilderness...come on! This author has a wonderful writing style. She can pull you into the book, and the characters SHE created and didn't borrow from other authors are very good. My suggestion to Ms. Donati is keep writing BUT trust yourself! You don't need someone elses characters! I would recommend the book, truthfully I loved both Outlander and Pride and Prejudice so I liked the book, but I would like to see more of this authors work, her original work. In the end a good book and I think I will read the next one. Hope this helps other readers.

posted by AustenfanCH on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Ever seen the movie (or read) The Last of the Mohicans? That is

    Ever seen the movie (or read) The Last of the Mohicans? That is where the premise of this book picks up, with Cora and Hawkeyes' son as the love interest and hero which I picked up on in the first 3 chapters. It was a great movie!!! This book is good for a light and fast read with tasteful romance and a decent plot. Elizabeth & Nathaniel don't remind me at all of Claire and Jamie Fraser, but fans of Outlander would like the story I'm sure.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Snuggle up with hot chocolate and escape to another time...

    Well-written period piece set in the late 1700s in upstate New York - includes a great love story. Recently re-released in this beautiful trade paper edition. Highly recommended - worth reading more than once.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Many plot twists

    Gabaldon recommended this series and that made me interested in it. It is a long novel with many plot twists that kept it interesting and made it worth reading. It also had a nice connection to the Outlander series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Very good

    Great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This was a long read, but it was well worth the time. Very interesting characters, well developed. Also an interesting insight into the world of the Native Americans in the 1700's as well as the life of the early settlers. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys historical fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Started slow but ended well.

    I began this series because it was recommended after reading the Outlander series. It started slow. It picks up the pace around page 200. It was almost painfully slow up until this point. All in all though, it was a great book. I can't wait to read the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    As close to Diana Gabaldon as a book can get....

    If you have read all Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series and are aching for more, this is your author. Very closely related yet different enough to enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Loved it!!!!

    I have read the entire series twice and I am sure I will read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Wonderful series

    I picked this historical fiction book because it had Diana Galbadon's recommendation on the cover. I loved this book on it's own merit. I have read each of the books in this series and am currently on the final book and will be sorry to have it end. The characters are people that you enjoy rooting for, holding your breath for, crying for and rejoicing with. It celebrates diversity during a time when diversity was not welcome and shares one family's belief that all people are people and should be treated according to one's behavior rather than the color of one's skin or nationality. A great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Gupha nale ke pasa {[ Cave beside brook ]}

    Where the queens live until their cubs have reached 6 moons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    I've enjoyed the first two books of this series. I am absolutel

    I've enjoyed the first two books of this series. I am absolutely no fan of Diana G, which is so inaccurate on Scots & over the top in sex. It seems this author has done more research & the romance angle is within reason, believable. In other words, it's not trashy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Early american life

    Historical yet not boring and full of life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    Wonderful adventure with rich characters

    I enjoyed this book so much I have read the next 4 in the series. I love the characters and being in on the adventures they encounter throughout their rich and diverse lives. Women and men alike!

    The historical backdrop is also very exciting to me. I love to learn details about periods that I don't know much about.

    I look forward to the next book by Sara Donati!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Really enoyed this author

    Great story very similar to Last of the Mohicans but it keeps you interested. Will read more of Sara Donati.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Enjoyable read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The only criticism I have of this this book is the innacuracy between this book and the novel The Last of the Mohicans. She followed the movie plot of Mohicans. Other than that I found the story highly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    LIFE IN THE DEEP WOODS

    Very Lengthy, quite lusty.... These folks had a lot of time on thier hands. NO TV!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Highly recommended-love the the time period.

    I am still reading the Series#1 book of "Into The Wilderness". I'm only on page 380-something. I love the time period & find her writing an easy read. However, I find it to be quite wordy & descriptive, which slows me down quite a bit. I am a slow reader as it is, & it takes a long time to get into an event. I think this is more my failings than the author's. I am enjoying the characters & the story, but find it all slow-going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    If you like long lasting series....

    If you couldn't get enough of The Outlander Series by Diana Gabraldon,
    this will take you in that direction. Not quite as spell binding as
    The Outlanders but second best. A good read for those that want characters in a book to go on & on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely a Good Historical Fiction Read

    If you enjoyed the Outlander series this book is a must. She even name drops Ian Murray, Claire, and Jamie into this book. I really enjoy these two new characters and the relationship that has been formed between them. I have already bought the second as a back up so I don't have to wait anytime to continue reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Not as graphic..

    I thought this was a great read. Sara Donati put a lot of feeling into her characters that I felt I could relate to. I read this book because some people compared it to Diana Gabaldons books and I would have to say that it sort of relates. It has the same character feel. The connections to them is real.

    I didn't feel that it was as graphic as Diana Gabaldons. So if you thought the Outlander was too much to stomach then this is a book for you, but if you thought the Outlander series was amazing and you were fine with the amount of graphic scenes then this book will seem a little soft.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4