Customer Reviews for

Into the Woods: Tales from the Hollows and Beyond

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What a wonderful collection of short stories from Kim Harrison!

What a wonderful collection of short stories from Kim Harrison! Not only do we get to revisit the world of The Hollows, but there are also four stories set outside The Hollows.

With the exception of Million Dollar Baby, all of The Hollows stories have been previously r...
What a wonderful collection of short stories from Kim Harrison! Not only do we get to revisit the world of The Hollows, but there are also four stories set outside The Hollows.

With the exception of Million Dollar Baby, all of The Hollows stories have been previously released and I was pleased to find that there were a couple of the stories that I hadn't read yet. But the main draw was Million Dollar Baby. This story focuses on the elf quest to steal baby Lucy that Trent and Jenks take during Pale Demon. I was never really a Trent fan during the majority of The Hollows books, but he started to change my mind during Pale Demon and I really enjoyed his POV in Million Dollar Baby. We see more of his motiviations and how much he really does value Rachel, although I did miss the interaction between the two of them. I also enjoyed seeing Trent learn to work with Jenks and come to value the skill set that the pixie provides.

While Million Dollar Baby makes Into the Woods a must-buy, I enjoyed the Beyond the Hollows stories as well. Pet Shop Boys is a cross between vampires and fae, Temson Estates and Spider Silk both focus on dryads, and finally Grace focuses on a portion of the population who can harness the electrical currents in their bodies to affect the physical world around them. They are all a definite departure from The Hollows world, and I would be happy to read more for any and all of them.

posted by MadHatterReads on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

explained alot

Having read everything she writes this did tie in some loose ends and explained some of the characters better.

posted by KyloeGriffGirl on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    Into the Woods- Chapter One

    ((Merci for all the postive reviews, you guys! And I apologize if I didn't use your character app in this chapter, I'll be sure to use it in the next one.))
    <br>
    AshWisp ran as fast as he could up the mountain, and FawnTail cried out in pain, as a contraction hit her head on. Ash kept running, although he slowed his pace slightly. "Fawn, we're almost there. CrimsonLeaf will help you, I promise." Just as her name was mentioned, Crimson poked her head out of the cavern. "Hurry!" She whispered, just as AshWisp swung FawnTail off his back. "Remember, I love you." He murmured, before bounding down the mountain to join the fight. A tear slid down FawnTail's cheek, and she slipped into the cavern. CrimsonLeaf stuck her head out, checking if the coast was clear, and with that, shut the carvern entrance with a large, flat rock.
    <p>
    Back at WindClan's camp, every cat was easily holding their own against BlazeClan. However, Emeraldpaw, a small apprentice, was busy trying to hide from BlazeClan's attacks. Emerald didn't mean to get left behind, however, the fighting kind of intrigued her. That is, until an apprentice-sized BlazeClan cat pounced on her. EmeraldPaw turned, and slid out from underneath the cat's grip, crouching, and ready. The cat came at her, and EmeraldPaw jumped, and then kicked the cat backwards. She slashed at the fur underneath his belly, and then giggled as she watched him slink back. SparrowStar, whom had been fighting ScorchStar, BlazeClan's leader, kicked him in the stomach, and gestured for Emerald to get to where the other cats were in hiding. Emerald nodded, scampering up the rocks at a steady pace.
    <p>
    FawnTail let out a yowl, as a small, grey and white kit slid out of her. She sighed, and let out a deep breath. "Oh, Fawn." Silverkit mewed, coming to her side. "She's beautiful." FawnTail smiled in relief, and waited for the next contraction. But none came.
    <p>
    EmeraldPaw ran as fast as she could up the rocks, and then whispered through the crack, "Crimson, it's me, EmeraldPaw! Let me in!" The hole became larger, and Emerald shimmied into the cavern. FawnTail was laying down with a newborn kit, and Emerald smiled. Night was fast approaching, and tomorrow, the fighting would be finished, and they could go back to camp.
    <p>
    Sorry that this was a bit short, but I didn't really have time to write today. Anywho, if you like it, tell me! And yes, I'm still looking for character apps.
    <br>
    ~Galaxy &star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Mysterious man

    When first i appear i seem delerious but when explained im nothing serious

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Sparrowstar

    "Maficalpaw go get one if the evil cats to come here so we can fivht them. Dont forget kestrel is one if them."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    An owl

    Flies overhead

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Mistyheart

    Starts walking around

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Genn

    Manny?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Reruns

    These are all good but they have been out before. What a waste of my money to buy this when I aready read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Enderfur

    Darts in

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Tiffany

    Sighs and walks off shaking my head.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Anna

    Whoa people are impersanting me

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Alex

    No!!!!!!!!!!!! no no no no no!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    A kid

    *looks up from the fire and stands up*do you need something?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4