Customer Reviews for

Into the Woods: Tales from the Hollows and Beyond

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What a wonderful collection of short stories from Kim Harrison!

What a wonderful collection of short stories from Kim Harrison! Not only do we get to revisit the world of The Hollows, but there are also four stories set outside The Hollows.

With the exception of Million Dollar Baby, all of The Hollows stories have been previously r...
What a wonderful collection of short stories from Kim Harrison! Not only do we get to revisit the world of The Hollows, but there are also four stories set outside The Hollows.

With the exception of Million Dollar Baby, all of The Hollows stories have been previously released and I was pleased to find that there were a couple of the stories that I hadn't read yet. But the main draw was Million Dollar Baby. This story focuses on the elf quest to steal baby Lucy that Trent and Jenks take during Pale Demon. I was never really a Trent fan during the majority of The Hollows books, but he started to change my mind during Pale Demon and I really enjoyed his POV in Million Dollar Baby. We see more of his motiviations and how much he really does value Rachel, although I did miss the interaction between the two of them. I also enjoyed seeing Trent learn to work with Jenks and come to value the skill set that the pixie provides.

While Million Dollar Baby makes Into the Woods a must-buy, I enjoyed the Beyond the Hollows stories as well. Pet Shop Boys is a cross between vampires and fae, Temson Estates and Spider Silk both focus on dryads, and finally Grace focuses on a portion of the population who can harness the electrical currents in their bodies to affect the physical world around them. They are all a definite departure from The Hollows world, and I would be happy to read more for any and all of them.

posted by MadHatterReads on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

explained alot

Having read everything she writes this did tie in some loose ends and explained some of the characters better.

posted by KyloeGriffGirl on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    What a wonderful collection of short stories from Kim Harrison!

    What a wonderful collection of short stories from Kim Harrison! Not only do we get to revisit the world of The Hollows, but there are also four stories set outside The Hollows.

    With the exception of Million Dollar Baby, all of The Hollows stories have been previously released and I was pleased to find that there were a couple of the stories that I hadn't read yet. But the main draw was Million Dollar Baby. This story focuses on the elf quest to steal baby Lucy that Trent and Jenks take during Pale Demon. I was never really a Trent fan during the majority of The Hollows books, but he started to change my mind during Pale Demon and I really enjoyed his POV in Million Dollar Baby. We see more of his motiviations and how much he really does value Rachel, although I did miss the interaction between the two of them. I also enjoyed seeing Trent learn to work with Jenks and come to value the skill set that the pixie provides.

    While Million Dollar Baby makes Into the Woods a must-buy, I enjoyed the Beyond the Hollows stories as well. Pet Shop Boys is a cross between vampires and fae, Temson Estates and Spider Silk both focus on dryads, and finally Grace focuses on a portion of the population who can harness the electrical currents in their bodies to affect the physical world around them. They are all a definite departure from The Hollows world, and I would be happy to read more for any and all of them.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you have not read The Hollows or also known as Rachel Morgan

    If you have not read The Hollows or also known as Rachel Morgan series, I would suggest that before reading this book. The first book is Dead Witch Walking. The stories about The Hollows, are more enjoyable and make more sense if you are already familiar with that world. But if, not, they wouldn't make a bad read and Harrison has introductions to all the tales, so you get the background information on the story. The tales focus on Rachel, Ivy, Jenks, and Trent.
         The other tales cover two versions of Dryads, or tree spirits, fairy's who are bit more bloodthirsty, and people who can gather and manipulate energy.
         This is one of the best short story anthology's I have read. Definitely worth checking out. 
         

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Great

    The best short story book i have read in a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Loved it!

    Now I finally know who Daryl is!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    explained alot

    Having read everything she writes this did tie in some loose ends and explained some of the characters better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm usually not one for short stories, yet I keep requesting the

    I'm usually not one for short stories, yet I keep requesting the collections of them. However, Into the Woods was a pleasant surprise. I really enjoyed each story, and this collection is a must-have for the millions of Kim Harrison fans out there! These stories will grab you and not let you go! There are some new and some old stories in here, and while you may have read some of them, you haven't read them all. Also, not all of these are Hollows stories, and it's nice to see Harrison branch out and create other worlds. You won't want to miss this anthology.

    My favorite story was "Ley Line Drifter," mainly because I love Jenks so much. I really enjoyed getting to see Jenks and Matalina interact. It added a whole new level to the series for me. I also enjoyed "Million Dollar Baby," even though it also crushed my hopes a bit. I enjoyed seeing things from Trent's perspective, and I adored his interactions with Jenks. As far as the non-Hollows stories, I think I liked "Pet Shop Boys" the best, and not just because it reminds me of the band. I really liked learning about new vampires. These guys were extremely interesting, and I'd love to see her write at least one full-length novel about them. 

    Overall, I'd recommend this to all Kim Harrison fans. I really believe there is something for everybody in this collection. I enjoyed each of the stories, and I hope to see Harrison branch out further into some of these new worlds in the future. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Nice

    Good read and compilations of stories, some I would love to see be full blown books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Great for Fans of the Hollows

    This anthology of short stories fills in some of the gaps in the Hollows stories, and includes some stories not related to that series. A good read, very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    Never Disappointed

    A good book to sate the appetite of Hollows fans. Fills in some missing pieces and timeline with short quick stories of the characters. Anxiously awaiting 'Ever After'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2012

    very good

    I like it alot. I gave me come background stories that I allways woundered about. Thanks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Excellent!

    As usual Kim writes stories that have great characters, storylines and I love the world she created! Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Sparrowstar

    "Maficalpaw go get one if the evil cats to come here so we can fivht them. Dont forget kestrel is one if them."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    An owl

    Flies overhead

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Mistyheart

    Starts walking around

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Genn

    Manny?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Reruns

    These are all good but they have been out before. What a waste of my money to buy this when I aready read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Enderfur

    Darts in

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Tiffany

    Sighs and walks off shaking my head.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Anna

    Whoa people are impersanting me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Alex

    No!!!!!!!!!!!! no no no no no!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3