Customer Reviews for

Invasion (C.H.A.O.S. Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A must read!

In a a galaxy far far awa-wait a minute, its hapenning right here and right now,and there will be an Invasion. Giant robots, aliens, flying motorcycles,this book has it all! Colt McAlister thinks he is a regular teenage boy, but is he? Colts parents are killed in an "ac...
In a a galaxy far far awa-wait a minute, its hapenning right here and right now,and there will be an Invasion. Giant robots, aliens, flying motorcycles,this book has it all! Colt McAlister thinks he is a regular teenage boy, but is he? Colts parents are killed in an "accident" or so he thinks untill he gets a phone call that will send him on an adventure full of action and aliens,and his grandpa maybe the Phantom Flyer!Oh and he might have more in common with the girl of his dreams than he thinks...This book is full of CHAOS!

posted by Joshua89 on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Invasion- a tween,sci-fi loving book

I really didn¿t care for this book very much. It¿s not what I expected. I thought is would be alien invasion or something related to that theme.It was rather a disappointment.
I mean it would be okay for those who are tweens and young teens and are into comic books and...
I really didn¿t care for this book very much. It¿s not what I expected. I thought is would be alien invasion or something related to that theme.It was rather a disappointment.
I mean it would be okay for those who are tweens and young teens and are into comic books and science fiction, but I don¿t believe anyone who is not of this age or into these types of books would care for it much.
The book deals with a boy who loses his family and he gets caught up in a comic book world of heroes and villains. Almost to much fake fiction for me. It¿s really not even imaginary believable in the fiction world.
After the first chapter I pretty much lost interest as it was obvious that it was for the younger crowd and filled with way to much comedic alien goobldy goop. (Nice words huh?)
If you have a pre-teen or teenager who is into sci-fi this is probably right up their alley and they would also enjoy some of the pictures in the book,but it clearly is not an adult book by all means.

posted by marybeth46 on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Invasion- a tween,sci-fi loving book

    I really didn¿t care for this book very much. It¿s not what I expected. I thought is would be alien invasion or something related to that theme.It was rather a disappointment.
    I mean it would be okay for those who are tweens and young teens and are into comic books and science fiction, but I don¿t believe anyone who is not of this age or into these types of books would care for it much.
    The book deals with a boy who loses his family and he gets caught up in a comic book world of heroes and villains. Almost to much fake fiction for me. It¿s really not even imaginary believable in the fiction world.
    After the first chapter I pretty much lost interest as it was obvious that it was for the younger crowd and filled with way to much comedic alien goobldy goop. (Nice words huh?)
    If you have a pre-teen or teenager who is into sci-fi this is probably right up their alley and they would also enjoy some of the pictures in the book,but it clearly is not an adult book by all means.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    When I first picked up Invasion by Jon S. Lewis, I was very hesi

    When I first picked up Invasion by Jon S. Lewis, I was very hesitant because I have been warned that it is very out there and hard to follow for such reasons. I thought this may be the cases with the flying motorcycles described on the back of the book, but I still took a shock and glad I had.

    Colt was a normal child until his life changed with an “Accident” that took the life of his parents. When deaths occur many say that you life has ended and others say it is just the beginning and for Colt, it was just the beginning as he was forced to start over knowing a single soul, but meeting another he couldn’t shake off the feeling that he knew. Everything changes with the discovery that life was more than what was seen and his parents were agents that fought to keep it that way. They were a group that fought to prevent the invasion of aliens. In this discovery he discovers different realities, weapons that are unable to be comprehended by our human minds and of course other life that have been impacting human’s without our knowledge.
    This book brings comic books to life in an imaginative and quite different piece of literature (maybe it is just different because I don’t do comic books) that keeps you intrigued during the whole book. I would recommend picking it up. I am happy that Booksneaze had put this story in the books that I could get a free copy from. This is a good way to find new writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Mixing teenagers, sci-fi and evil corporations trying to take over the world one book at a time

    Colt McAlister has always been a fan of the Phantom Flyer comics, on his spare time he likes to think about the aliens and C.H.A.O.S. agents from the comic books. After McAlister's parents are killed in what seemed like a car accident his life changes radically, from moving from sweet California to the hot hot times of Arizona, learning the truth about why his parents where killed and learning that all those comics he has been reading may be more true then he thought.
    Now Colt with the help of his friends Oz and Danielle will have to fight against the Trident a million dollar company that is taking us to the next age in technology and may want to obliterate all of man kind in the process.

    This is one of those books that you say "I liked it but..." I mean the story is original and it plays around with history, more specifically world war II, the characters are entertaining and I must confess I grew rather fond of Danielle because she is smart and doesn't really play the part of the victim, she takes the bull by the horns.
    But it just seemed like the Jon S. Lewis left some ideas unfinished around the book, parts that you would expect to read more, for example this training scene that promises to be harder and more kick-ass the next time around, but we never get to see it or read from it again in the book. Maybe it was because the author had so many ideas he liked to share with us, but that left a hole in the story and we where left with few hooks to catch the reader and make him/her not want to be teared apart from the book.
    Overall the book leaves us with a promise for redemption and a great message, I would like to see the growth in Jon S. writing and so I will be reading the second book from this series, I'll be telling you how that goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Great read for a teenage science fiction fan!

    Thrill, suspense and flying motorcycles will captivate you while immersed in the pages of Invasion by Jon. S. Lewis. The first of the C.H.A.O.S. Trilogy, this exciting story delves into a world beyond our reach. After suffering through the traumatic loss of his parents, 16-year-old Colt McAlister is transplanted from sunny, ocean front San Diego to his childhood home of Arizona. McAlister must learn not only to live without his friends and frequent surfing trips, but with his grandfather and an amazing secret that is not his own to share with the world. Attending a new school, and having no car, are the challenges one would expect for McAlister to face. However, he is suddenly thrown into a life of comic book heroes, robotic assassins and shape shifting aliens. McAlister, along with a childhood friend and a new friend he hopes he can trust, must navigate a possibly fatal line between what he once considered truth and fiction. They are, after all, the only things standing between us and CHAOS. Somewhat reminiscent of Out of the Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis, Invasion is a wonderful story for a young science fiction fan. Although the dialogue can be a bit difficult to follow in the first few chapters, the overall flow is smooth. The constant suspense helps make this a quick and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    An Interesting Read for Sci-fi Fans

    This is a very interesting sci-fi novel dealing with an alien invasion. Although the story is somewhat cliché, with Colt McAlister and his newfound friends battling evil aliens intent on destroying all humanity, it is quite original as well. I liked the idea that Colt finds that what he's been reading in his comic books is actually true. I haven't read many novels that put such an emphasis on a hero obsessed with comic books, and I think this will add in its appeal for younger readers. And, yes, while it is a little cliché that the hero is "nerdy" in that aspect, owning memorabilia from the comics, etc., Lewis also makes Colt a strong, self-assured character. He's even quite attractive, according to the girls in the novel. But, that aside, this novel's fast pace and interesting situations make is a great read, especially for those in love with sci-fi. Although I personally found the "love-story" portion of this novel a little bit out of place, slowing the pacing to a near standstill for me, overall, I thought this was a good read and recommend it to anyone who enjoyed I Am Number Four. Three stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Fun, though not fulfilling enough

    Colt McAlister is not your ordinary surfer dude from San Diego. Well, he used to be until his life suddenly made a turn for the worst-or so it seemed at first. After moving to Arizona to live with his grandfather following the death of his parents, Colt gradually realizes that everything he read in his father's comicbook stash were gospel truth-that aliens do exist and they're out to conquer the world. This book shows how the lines between reality and sci-fi can easily be blurred and how the consequences may or have already affected the world on such a wide scale, it'll make you doubt your own reality. After reading this book, you may never look at people in power the same way again. Every corner of your room may pose a threat of opening a gateway to an alien planet. And your closest friend or family just may turn out to be a part of a secret organization fighting to keep this world safe and oblivious to alien invasion- Of course, it'll do you good not to forget this is just fiction made for the sole purpose of entertainment. And all the claims it made on history are amusing at most, but are not necessarily true-then again, we can never really be sure, right? Teehee! A fun (though not exactly fulfilling) read for all the fans of the genre, and probably the beginning of a new series of books to watch out for. *I got a free copy of this book to review from BookSneeze.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fun lighthearted read.

    I am of 2 minds about Invasion. While the main characters are extremely likable, some of their behaviour or achievements just seems to stretch the limits of my credulity. For instance, Colt seemed way too young for a 16-year old. But then again, this could be a prejudice formed from reading too many books where kids are incredibly mature for their age. And it is that very "good kid" aura of Colt and his friends that forms a major part of Invasion's charms. And while Invasion wasn't boring or slow, nothing really important occurs until near the story's end. Even the death of Colt's parents feels like nothing more than a footnote. But it does do a good job of building up the secret world Colt suddenly finds himself in, with all the legendary monsters and cool gadgets any superhero could want. We're also given plenty of hints of an existing internal conflict and the maybe not so noble war that humanity is waging. All of which seems to be building up to some epic conflict. Then again while the story was good enough to whet my curiosity, the pacing as well as the lack of that extra something to set this story apart from others, isn't motivating me to put the next book on my wish list. All in all, Invasion makes for some nice, light reading. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I am not required to write a positive review; the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with FTC regulations.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    INVASION

    'Invasion' by J. S. Lewis is the first installment in the C.H.A.O.S. series, a science fiction / fantasy genre whose second volume is due in January 2012. The hero Colt McAlister is a cross between James Bond and an ordinary teenager. The story is too fast paced for older people but I'm sure most kids and teens would love it. The ideas expressed in the book and the plot is quite innovative, though at the beginning it seems like just another adventure story. The sketches at the end are interesting.
    The cover design and getup is ideally suited to the mood of the plot and puts an eerie shiver up the spine of the reader. I am looking forward to the next installment due in January 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    Invasion by Jon Lewis

    The author does a fine job setting up a sci fi story line but then he drops the ball on character development and plot development. The story arc is flawed in several places BUT ive seen much worse go tothe top of the charts because kids like fast action and this book has that. It reads like a cross between the motion pictures WANTED and the BOURNE series. Lots of action, lots of futuristic technology, and a hint of RESIDENT EVIL like corporate power out of a company called Trident.
    If you have a teen who enjoys reading, this book is ok, but I think the writer might be a tad schizo, due to all the mind control hogwash.
    People prefer differnt story lines. Please understand that I am a die hard Star Trek, fan and everything else falls below par. On a good point, it is well edited and easy to read and fast paced. A teenager could call it pretty good use of time to spend a few hours curled up with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Quite a good book for young adults!

    "Invasion" by J.S Lewis is a science fiction, suitable for the young adults and the teens. I think it is quite well written in terms of the language, it's casual and easy to understand.

    The fiction is about a young boy, Colt losing his parents in one night and surprisingly discovered during the funeral that his parents might be murdered instead of killed by accidents.

    A series of events unfolded and Colt soon to realize the world he had known before was totally different from what the reality really was. There were aliens involved in the process, and his family was involved in exterminating those vicious aliens from invading the Earth.

    As he was trying to avenge his parents, he was soon to be drawn into the CHAOS, helping them to fight against the biggest threat on Earth.

    The story was nicely told in a simple yet clear language usage. However, I personally think that the author could have added more twists and climax into the story line. The introductory part of Colt's life and his family was rather too long thus causing the fiction to be dull in the beginning. The real action part towards the end when all the aliens appeared was rather a bit short I suppose.

    Nevertheless, it's a good book to read, especially for the teens. Definitely a healthy book to keep them occupied.

    Food for thought
    The part in the fiction where Lily started sharing to Colt about her real background touches me in a way. Lily never shared with anyone about her background until she met Colt. The reason that she trusted Colt so much was because Colt had the same background as her "Because you are the only person I've known could understand".

    We always like to listen to our friends sharing about their deepest doubts or pains, and expecting them to trust you as they are willing to share with you. However, that's not the case always. There are things that people might not want to share with you, not that they don't trust you or treasure you, just that sometimes they didn't think that you could understand as you might not have gone through what they have experienced. Not that you wouldn't want to understand, just that you couldn't understand. :)

    Have a nice day peeps! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    Invasion- A Fast paced read...

    Invasion by J.S Lewis is about Colt McAllister who is thrown into a war against things he thought only existed in comic books and movies. After the accident that claimed the lives of his parents, Colt went to live with his grandfather, and learned that his parents' death is nothing but a conspiracy.

    You see, Colt's mother was a journalist, and she was actually preparing to write a story that will expose what's supposed to be confidential. So in other words, his parents were murdered, and the accident was not an accident after all.

    Plot thickens and things started to get far-fetched from that point onwards, and I find that the story is rather fast-paced and rushed, apart from being rather. impossible. But I guess that's an element that's supposed to be in a science fiction thriller.

    This story is a good science fiction and enjoyable story nevertheless. There's room for characters' and plot development. Perfect for people who loves science fiction as well as and a good dose of mystery.

    Highly recommended for teenagers who loves science fiction and thriller. Guaranteed to bring you for some fast paced and head spinning ride.

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1