Customer Reviews for

The Invention of Hugo Cabret

Average Rating 4.5
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(187)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Two Thumbs Up!

I immensely enjoyed this book. I promise that you'll find yourself engaged in the story. It was really captivating. If you think it starts out slow or is confusing in the beginning, keep on reading! The story just gets better and better, with one suspenseful moment afte...
I immensely enjoyed this book. I promise that you'll find yourself engaged in the story. It was really captivating. If you think it starts out slow or is confusing in the beginning, keep on reading! The story just gets better and better, with one suspenseful moment after another. The drawings in the book are absolutely MASTERPIECES. They really help you picture the story. I think that Brian Selznick has a very creative, imaginative mind for thinking up this story and making its illustrations. FIVE STARS! A GREAT READ! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

posted by Book-Worm_x3 on March 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pictures keep you engrossed, but plot leaves you wanting more

This is a good book, but it is not one that I would highly recommend to others. The author has wonderful pictures in the text, but I wonder if others would think the book would have received so much publicity if it didn't have the pictures. I will keep it on my shelf ...
This is a good book, but it is not one that I would highly recommend to others. The author has wonderful pictures in the text, but I wonder if others would think the book would have received so much publicity if it didn't have the pictures. I will keep it on my shelf and recommend it to students, but it will not be the first book I choose to reread.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Pictures keep you engrossed, but plot leaves you wanting more

    This is a good book, but it is not one that I would highly recommend to others. The author has wonderful pictures in the text, but I wonder if others would think the book would have received so much publicity if it didn't have the pictures. I will keep it on my shelf and recommend it to students, but it will not be the first book I choose to reread.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    A quirky little story.

    Upon first flipping through the book, I was a little disappointed that there were so many pictures and so little text, and my opinion wasn't changed too much after I finished it. The pictures are well-drawn and add an extra element to the story, but they do so at the expense of plot and character development, and while the prose isn't exactly bad, it's clear that the author's talent lies in his art, not in his writing. Also, the story didn't exactly thrill me- I'm not a big fan of early Hollywood movies- but there were parts that I found intriguing. I don't think this book is going to revolutionize literature the way the dust jacket seems to claim, as illustrated novels aren't exactly new, but it's a worthwhile way to spend an afternoon.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Terrible service!!!

    I ordered the book from this site over a month ago, and the item still has not shipped. I just received an email stating that it would be at least 30 more days until they would be able to ship it. I had to cancel my order because I did not want to wait OVER 2 months for the book to ship. I have ordered books from here in the past, but I will most likely never order a book from this website ever again.

    Regards to the book itself, it is simply a wonderful book! The illustrations are beautiful and it has an intriguing story. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Mixed feelings about this one

    This is the first time I've read a book that had more drawings than words (except when I was young). It could have been a flip book. The drawings were really, really good, but some of the pages with words only had like one sentence or a small paragraph. I feel like it was a bunch of art instead of a book to read. If all the drawings were removed, I wonder how thick the book would be? The story was good though, but I wanted more writing and less of the drawings. I bought this online. If I had looked at it in a store, I probably wouldn't have bought it after seeing that it was mostly drawings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    Good but too Many Pictures

    The book's story was perfectly fine, and likable. What I didn't like about this book is that it was over done with too many pictures. If you took out all the illustration pages, it'd probably be maybe 50 pages of story, about. I finished this book in one long sitting. After a while you get tired of flipping the pages, and aches your hand. This is just my opinion. I do recommend this book (especially the young, reluctant readers since there's many pictures and hardly any words), somehow it's like a movie on pages, and it helps you imagine it better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    the invention of hugo cabret to you

    the invention of hugo cabret is a great book filled with tons of pictures to help tell the story. It was hard to put it down. take your favorite book and doublw that.That is how good it is. Hugo is a brave boy who lives alone in a train station running the clocks for his uncle who left him. Sad about his fathers death in a fire in the museum trying to fix the 'auto man'. Hugo tries to fix the auto man and tries to stay safe at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1