Customer Reviews for

Invincible (Chronicles of Nick Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 541 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(329)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Sherrilyn Kenyon's fans of all ages will enjoy Nick's efforts to survive high school and a world turned paranormally upside down.

New Orleans high school student Nick Gautier has not had an easy laid-back life as he and his mom live in abject poverty while his father resides in prison convicted of murder. He attends a private school, but has no friends as he fails to fit in with the affluent soci...
New Orleans high school student Nick Gautier has not had an easy laid-back life as he and his mom live in abject poverty while his father resides in prison convicted of murder. He attends a private school, but has no friends as he fails to fit in with the affluent social scene.

Until yesterday Nick assumed he was a normal disenchanted teenage outcast. His perspective was devastated when he learned that the supernatural exist. His boss is a Dark Hunter and near the place where his mom strips, shapeshifters surrounded him. Nick has powers though in the embryonic stage, but two sides want him, dead or alive. The Meloch, his Uncle Ambrose guides him to make the right choice. Nick fears what his Uncle Ambrose teaches him in the use of his powers. The demon Caleb and the Chthonian Xenon are Nick's guardians who try to steer him to make the right choices. Xenon, known as Kody helps Nick try to stop a demon from slaughtering people. Now if they somehow survive he hopes she will be his girlfriend, but then again he hopes not.

The latest Chronicles of Nick in his teenage urban fantasy (see Infinity) is a creative intriguing off shoot of the Dark Hunter Saga similar in concept to the F, Paul Wilson's Young repairman Jack series. Nick is a good soul, but the dark powers want to turn him to manipulate him to assault humanity. While unanswered questions remain, fans will want to know how his destiny plays out especially if this freshman finally gets a girl who is not trying to kill him? With an action-packed story line, Sherrilyn Kenyon's fans of all ages will enjoy Nick's efforts to survive high school and a world turned paranormally upside down.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I love the author but this was not the best.

I have read the entire Dark Hunter series and the entire Chronicles of Nick series. I have to say that first off this book seems short to me. I wanted much more. I also thought that this book has two purposes. One purposes is to progress the overall Dark Hunter stor...
I have read the entire Dark Hunter series and the entire Chronicles of Nick series. I have to say that first off this book seems short to me. I wanted much more. I also thought that this book has two purposes. One purposes is to progress the overall Dark Hunter story and introduce new characters. The other purpose is to tell the story of Nick as a child. These two purposes do not come together in a cohesive way. Part of the book is spent discussing what Nick is and why things happened they way they did. The other part of the book is this football coach story. The second part only serves to push the characters into confessions they didn't seem to want to make. I would appreciate if she could tie in the current experiences with how they shape Nick's future a little better.

posted by AdultReadingYA on March 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 329 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sherrilyn Kenyon's fans of all ages will enjoy Nick's efforts to survive high school and a world turned paranormally upside down.

    New Orleans high school student Nick Gautier has not had an easy laid-back life as he and his mom live in abject poverty while his father resides in prison convicted of murder. He attends a private school, but has no friends as he fails to fit in with the affluent social scene.

    Until yesterday Nick assumed he was a normal disenchanted teenage outcast. His perspective was devastated when he learned that the supernatural exist. His boss is a Dark Hunter and near the place where his mom strips, shapeshifters surrounded him. Nick has powers though in the embryonic stage, but two sides want him, dead or alive. The Meloch, his Uncle Ambrose guides him to make the right choice. Nick fears what his Uncle Ambrose teaches him in the use of his powers. The demon Caleb and the Chthonian Xenon are Nick's guardians who try to steer him to make the right choices. Xenon, known as Kody helps Nick try to stop a demon from slaughtering people. Now if they somehow survive he hopes she will be his girlfriend, but then again he hopes not.

    The latest Chronicles of Nick in his teenage urban fantasy (see Infinity) is a creative intriguing off shoot of the Dark Hunter Saga similar in concept to the F, Paul Wilson's Young repairman Jack series. Nick is a good soul, but the dark powers want to turn him to manipulate him to assault humanity. While unanswered questions remain, fans will want to know how his destiny plays out especially if this freshman finally gets a girl who is not trying to kill him? With an action-packed story line, Sherrilyn Kenyon's fans of all ages will enjoy Nick's efforts to survive high school and a world turned paranormally upside down.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    yay....

    yay....

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    Synopsis

    Taken directly from Sherrilyn Kenyon's Website


    Just when he thought things couldn't get any worse...

    Nick Gautier's day just keeps getting better and better. Yeah, he survived the zombie attacks, only to wake up and find himself enslaved to a world of shapeshifters and demons out to claim his soul.

    His new principal thinks he's even more of a hoodlum than the last one, his coach is trying to recruit him to things he can't even mention and the girl he's not seeing, but is, has secrets that terrify him.

    But more than that, he's being groomed by the darkest of powers and if he doesn't learn how to raise the dead by the end of the week, he will become one of them...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You have to read this!!

    I was unable to stop reading this!! This book has what ever you want: Comedy, Horror, Mystery, Action, Romance, and much more! This book kept me up at night and I couldnt rest untill I finnished it. Nick is one of those characters that make you laugh so loud that people around you think "What is wrong with person!?" I have enjoyed and almost ate the book *wink*. As nick grows stronger and becomes more self aware he also gets closer to Nekoda (aka Kody). Lots of new characters are featured and Death himself comes to pay Nick a visit. Even Nick's mom gets another chance in life and begins to make something of herself. While Nick stuggles to learn to controle his powers we see a whole new side of Ambrose who reveals why he really came to the past and hints at some other events in the future. My favorite lines from this book were: "I know this clown," Grim said in an evil tone. "He keeps teasing me with these near death experiences. One day, I'm going to take his butt down even when I'm not supposed to. You can't keep knocking on my door and then slamming it im my face. It's just not right." Lol even Death has a sences of humor!!! Ayway I totally recomend this book to any fantasy fan and to the fans of all the other genres that I listed before. But before reading this book you have to read the first in the series Called: Infinity. You have to read this!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Awesome!!!

    I give this book a 5 star because of the never ending epicness, all the time life lessons, and the romance every other paragraph. Get This Book Right Away!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Amazing!!

    Its for young readers but when my mom said he didnt like the sex stuff in it i just laughed!
    I loved her book bad moom rising and love the chronicles of nick!
    Im 13 and love to read but my friend doesnt. When i gave him this book he didnt want to give it back! He read like he was playing a video game so that just tells how good it is!
    Love much,
    CAM

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    A must read even for Dark Hunter fans

    I have read all 5 (so far) and they are fast paced and fun. My daughter has also read them and is embarking on the Dark Hunter series and finding some discrepancies in "Nick's life". My son is also now ready this series and truly likes it, that is hard to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Anonymous

    Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Yay

    I just got done with the first book and let me just say loved it. Iloved they way how the zombies kept on coming and at the end that nick and cody kissed. And he found out how to defeat the zombies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Funnnnnny

    Best one yet i almost had to laugh evry page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    Nick's learning and adventures into the supernatural world conti

    Nick's learning and adventures into the supernatural world continue. The arrival of Coach Divas who singles Nick out as his lackey adds a new wrinkle to Nick's life as well.

    Richly described scenes and characters fill the story. Characters from previous episodes continue to develop and grow while new characters are introduced who also develop.

    The narrative has multiple focuses with the shorter resolving within this book and the overarching storyline continuing onward. Plenty of action is present throughout the book which adds to the intensity of the story. However, humor is interspersed enough to allow for greater enjoyment.

    Overall, a fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Okay I must correct hartan First off Xenon is not Kody Kody is s

    Okay I must correct hartan First off Xenon is not Kody Kody is short for Nekoda Xenon is a seperate character that helps Nick, Caleb, and Kody To stop the coach and to free a little girl's trapped heart. That is all I wanted to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Great

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nick learns some of the valuable information about what is to co

    Nick learns some of the valuable information about what is to come for him and his future as the Malachai. The most important lesson he learns is that he is not 'Invincible'. Young Nick can show us all a little something about growing, no matter our age

    REPEAT - This is most definitely not Dark Hunter status in the action/sex/romance, but it is important to the Dark Hunter Universe series. All the the Chronicles of Nick will lead to the unveiling of Nick's DH book. This is book 2 of the series and you can already see some important changes in young Nick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    I want this guy

    And i want hi$ butt!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book

    Another great book YA, Contemporary, Paranormal, New Orleans, Louisiana


    Nick Gautier managed to survive zombie attacks but by doing that he now finds himself in a world of shapeshifters and demons. Demons that out to claim his soul.

    His coach is trying to recruit him for things he can’t talk about and his newest principal is convinced Nick is even more of a trouble maker than his last principal thought he was. The girl he is kind of seeing has secrets that she is hiding and that terrifies him.

    He also needs to learn how to raise the dead before the end of the week so that he doesn’t end up joining them. And the darkest of powers is trying to groom him for themselves. Just when he thought things were going to get better.


    This second book in this series that picks up right after the first one left off and keeps the story moving at a fast pace. This also keeps the sarcasm and quips that the first book had which makes this a very fun book to read. The story line is interesting and different but with these characters readers are sure to wish they could meet them in real life. The world in this book is such that when readers have to put it down they will be disappointed to find themselves back in the real world. This is a book that once it is started it is very hard to put down. It will also have readers eagerly reaching for the next one in this series just to see what will happen to Nick next and how he will manage to get out his latest bout of trouble. This series makes for a wonderful escape from the real world and will have imaginations taking flight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    His life sucks

    So sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Donut bea squidward

    Great book luv it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    OMG

    This book is so d** awsome i do not know if i can survive reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Insight on poor nick!

    This book gives a lot more insight on Nick's character, mystery, past, future and just his story. Its an interesting perspective, and it is good for both a critical thinker, as well as a laidback reader. It contains Kenyon's usual creativity and her ability to bring out the intense tradegy, while ading in just enough humor to make it such a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 329 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17