BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Invisible

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great book!!!!

I thought this was a really good book because it teaches that you can stand up to your fears and follow a different road. Just like Jasmine, you can keep trying, and when you're done you have new friends and a whole new (and better) life!
--CR--


Btw, please let me kno...
I thought this was a really good book because it teaches that you can stand up to your fears and follow a different road. Just like Jasmine, you can keep trying, and when you're done you have new friends and a whole new (and better) life!
--CR--


Btw, please let me know if this was a helpful review! Thanks

posted by 17425302 on May 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wow

Well written. intreaging point of view.

posted by 16755545 on June 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     This was a good read and really made me think about the choices

     This was a good read and really made me think about the choices that people make.  I liked Jazmine, even though I was frustrated with her at times.  I lost my dad at 17 after a short illness, so I understand why she wanted to turn off all her feelings and her emotions.  Since she was only 9 when her dad died, and he died suddenly, there would be no time to prepare for the emotions that you would have.  Her mom was dealing with her own demons regarding his death and so was not a strong support for her daughter during this time.  She actually gave her daughter the idea to not share her problems with other people. 




    It was hard for me to picture the kids in this book being just 12-13 years old.  To me it read more like it was high school kids.  Maybe I am just kidding myself to think that 12 year olds can't be as mean or destructive as Shalini - but having had 2 girls go through middle school already - and only recently hearing some of the bullying that went on - I guess I should pull my head out of the sand.




    Miss Fraser was great for Jazmine - just giving her the confidence that she needed (which it sounds like she did for all the kids - not just Jazmine).  It was the boost that Jazmine needed at just the right time to start to live again.




    The play that Jazmine was involved in was The Secret Garden and I loved the way the author compared Jazmine to Mary through out the book.  Jazmine even starts her own garden and through it helps to feel alive again.  




    As I mentioned, I got frustrated with Jazmine at times, especially after Shalini came back and she wouldn't tell anyone that she was being bullied by her. I get why kids don't tell, because they are not mature enough to see the big picture and only think that by telling that things will get worse for them.  Jazmine even thought that her new friends wouldn't want to have anything to do with her if they find out that she had been a part of Shalini's destructive behavior. So rather than tell them the truth, she tries to keep it all a secret, and in so doing starts to push them away herself.




    All in all this was a quick read and I would recommend it to any middle grade/high school student who has felt like they were alone, that they didn't fit in, or has been a victim of bullying.  I liked that Jazmine started making choices in the end, even if they terrified her.  She chose to live.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    I enjoyed reading this story and I liked the way she went from


    I enjoyed reading this story and I liked the way she went from being invisible to being visible. It is a nice story for very young teens on how to deal with issues that sometimes seem more than what it really is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Avid reader

    This is a really good book. I would recommend this to any youngster that was having a hard time fitting in at school or just confused about where to go with themselves. Being a preteen, or young teenager can be veryconfusing without havingtramatic events in thier lives. I thought this book covered many issues that youngkids may not feel comfortable talking about with an adult,but they may benefit from reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Wonderful

    It is a wonderful book about second chances and doing what you love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Great

    This was a very good book and had a good plot. Great easy read for the summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    mostly good except.....

    Good except the characters dont really act like they are13. Also it kept making me cry. All in all it was a good book (otherwise i would have stopped reading it the first time it made me cry).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1