BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Invisible (Ivy Malone Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(400)

4 Star

(404)

3 Star

(206)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(82)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

Not every heroine has to be 20 and beautiful. Here we have Ivy a 60+ widow who will keep you laughing & on the edge of your seat wondering what trouble she'll find next. I've already purchased the next two books.

posted by McDr on July 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

Too Many Sermons

I liked this mystery well enough, although it's somewhat predictable. The character is fairly intriguing, and she did some things that surprised me. Unfortunately, I saw no warnings that the book would be pushing church on people every few pages. I've read books that ha...
I liked this mystery well enough, although it's somewhat predictable. The character is fairly intriguing, and she did some things that surprised me. Unfortunately, I saw no warnings that the book would be pushing church on people every few pages. I've read books that had "Christian" protagonists, but the authors didn't let that get in the way of the story. It's not a bad book, but there's too much proselytizing here, too much shoving people towards religion. At this point, I don't know if I'll read more of the series, even though I liked the book overall.

posted by LeenaLily on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Too Many Sermons

    I liked this mystery well enough, although it's somewhat predictable. The character is fairly intriguing, and she did some things that surprised me. Unfortunately, I saw no warnings that the book would be pushing church on people every few pages. I've read books that had "Christian" protagonists, but the authors didn't let that get in the way of the story. It's not a bad book, but there's too much proselytizing here, too much shoving people towards religion. At this point, I don't know if I'll read more of the series, even though I liked the book overall.

    70 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    INVISIBILITY is a highly useful skill

    This was another one of my freebie finds, which fell into the Christian fiction chasm. At the time, I wasn't aware that I was grabbing books all classified by the CF genre; but since I went on a mad downloading spree, I decided to read them anyhow. This one had the added twist of being a mystery.
    Of all the CF books I've read, I enjoyed this one the most. Ms. McCourtney writes a clean mystery (no swearing, violence, gratuitous sex) that has a fun, quick witted style/pace. Ivy is a real hoot. Picture a scatterbrained Agatha Christie. Her humor gave me a chuckle or two & the mystery (although I solved it before the end) had some surprising twists and turns. Best of all, Ivy addresses the issue of aging and becoming an 'invisible' part of our oversexed, 'Bay Watch'- brainwashed culture.
    I would recommend this book...if you don't mind the 'God Speak' to anybody looking for an easy to read mystery. It is best described as 'cute' (and I mean that in a good way). It will give you a laugh or two for sure. As a bonus, the first book gives you a chapter peek into book II, where Ivy is still dealing with the same sinister clan she thought she'd taken down in book I. From what I read, the transition is very smooth. Plus, the books are very reasonable (in eBook format).

    54 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Fun character, but misleading category and book description

    I selected this book because it was a Free Friday mention. The description of the book sounded like a fun mystery that I might enjoy. However, it is not categorized as a Christian book and should be. Not a chapter goes by that the main character is not talking about church, going to church, convincing someone to go to church with her, or quoting the Bible. It has nothing to do with the main plot and frankly, is distracting. I'm sure there are many Christian readers who would love a book like this and will never find it because it isn't categorized correctly.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    Glad I got this free

    Ivy is a terrific character: interesting, resourceful, intrepid, and smart. My problem came with the way her religion is handled. I'd hoped to watch a woman steeped in her religious faith solve a mystery. But what the author does is sprinkle in a handful of mentions that remind us that Ivy is a SUPPOSED to be religious. The mentions seem to come out of nowhere. The book is a fast read, but I don't plan to read any more Ivy Malone books.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Emjoyable

    This was really interesting. I recommended this to a friend. Very good reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    This is a fun read.  It's not an intellectual read, but as a qui

    This is a fun read.  It's not an intellectual read, but as a quick, change of pace, light book, it fills the bill.  It is on par with Evanovitch sans sex and that is OK.  The Christian focus of the character did not bother me; it was how she views the world.  I like that not every book and character has to share my personal world view.  I would recommend this as a fun, light read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Good Book

    Good Book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Entertaining

    It was nice to see a senior citizen having a little adventure. I enjoyed the book. Her perception of being invisible is probably not so far fetched as many elderly are forgotten, or deemed invisible, by their families. It's very sad really. The book has some humerous moments and how she views the events is entertaining. Over all a very nice read. I would enjoy more adventures that involve Miss Ivy Malone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    light humor and mystery

    If you are in the geriatric set, you may relate to her premise of being "invisible". It was both humorous and intriguing at the same time. Light and fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Cute, spiritual

    Religion, mystery and comical. From a senior citizen's view. 272 pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    I thought it was a very enjoyable summer read, but I have to agr

    I thought it was a very enjoyable summer read, but I have to agree, there is more talk about church than is necessary for either character or plot development. Those points could have been made without all the gratuitous references to church activities. That the niece and her family, for example, were active in their church really didn't contribute to the plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Recommend

    Clever and fun story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I had a difficult time getting into this one and there are some slow spots. But it is worth sticking to. Good story. I can identify with the "invisible-ness".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    fun to read...

    This is a fun book to read but had a little difficulty getting started with it. I enjoyed the senior citizen detective character very much. It was a great book to read after busy day and just wanted to relax. I'm looking forward to the second book to see how Ivy handles all her situations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Good book

    This book was really good, and reminded me of my grandmother and mother. Ivy is a senior citizen with no children and it seems when she is out and about, she feels invisible due to no one paying attention to her. I think alot of the seniors these days feel this way. Ivy gets involved in trying to solve a murder, but gets tangle up with the other people involved in the book. Was a fun book to read.
    I always try to at least smile to a senior citizen I meet during the day on errands I run daily. If one is coming in the door, I always try to hold the door and say something to them, even it if it "Have a good day".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Quick page turner

    Invisible is a quick read with a good balance of characters and plot twists. Not taking itself too seriously as a mystery, the book follows Ivy, the aging heroine, through the death of a close friend, the meddling matchmaking of a well-meaning neighbor and keeping the right balance between independence and family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Nice light read

    Entertaining story. The angle of the invisible LOL (little old lady) was great. The ending was a little forced, like the author just decided to finish the book already. Given that, good waiting room reading material.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Fun, light reading

    Ivy Malone is a youthful, fun senior citizen who is into solving crimes. I thought the book was well written and it made me laugh throughout. Yes, religion is constantly being infused into the story, but if you can get past that, it's a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    totally recommend

    Good read, kept my interest and it was a book about an older woman...Closer to my age so it made it more relevant to me.I would enjoy reading more Ivy Malone boods!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    It was an alright as far as mysteries go but with a whole lot le

    It was an alright as far as mysteries go but with a whole lot less preaching and a little more story development it could have been outstanding .I was really looking forward to a mystery series with an older heroine but this is not it. Don't get me wrong to write a novel with your faith in mind is great and wonderful things have been written but you don't turn your cute story into a lengthy sermon. I know some very devoted people who don't sermonize at every opportunity (it tends to chase people away instead of recruiting them). So mostly a good read if you can get past the pulpit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11