Customer Reviews for

Invisible

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    MASTERFUL, INVENTIVE, ORIGINAL

    For this reader Paul Auster is one of the most brilliant writers working today. He is a total original who pens intriguing, beguiling prose of great depth and intensity. There are some books that one may scan and pretty much capture the author's narrative. Not so with Auster, his work requires concentration, thoughtfulness as one plumbs his intentions. His novels are complex yet totally satisfying. Auster's narrative voice is so rich, so distinctive that you can almost hear it. Such is the case with his fifteenth novel INVISIBLE.

    Relating his story in four parts we are introduced to Adam Walker in 1967 when he is 20, a second year student at Columbia, a self-described "know-nothing boy with an appetite for books and a belief (or delusion) that one day I would become good enough to call myself a poet...." He was at a party where he met Rudolf Born, an enigmatic man who would change the course of Adam's life. With Born was Margot, a French woman dressed all in black who was more than attractive to a young student.

    As the relationship between the three deepens Born offers Adam a large sum of money, $25,000, to start a literary magazine. What a piece of luck for a cash poor student! Then one evening as the two are strolling to dinner along Riverside Drive they are suddenly mugged. Born defends them by pulling a switchblade knife from an inside pocket and stabbing the assailant. Adam runs for help but returns to find the body gone. Shortly thereafter a body is found in a park with multiple stab wounds, and Born has gone to France.

    Part 1 has ended on a tense note as do each of the succeeding sections which take us from that time in 1967 through 2007. Three different narrators relate periods in Adam's life. What is truth? How fallible is memory? What are the forces that drive us or destroy us?

    Reading INVISIBLE is an unforgettable experience, both exhilarating and unsettling. It is classic Paul Auster, which is to say it is the finest today's literature can offer.

    - Gail Cooke

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Great story told very well.

    This book is not only a great story but the way it is told is just amazing to me. Even though the point of view changes a lot throughout Invisible it is still very easy to follow and the reader get a chance to view certain events through several different characters perspectives. Invisible is story that really shows how differently human beings can live their lives for good or bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Recommended

    Paul Auster's Invisible was a novel that challenged the human mind to almost develop a new way of thinking. This novel truly enraptured itself around the concept of "haunted". Auster's style was one of the factors that truly made this book a step ahead of every other. He never used quotations, rather wrote out intrigue sentences that makes the reader follow each conversation closely. His division of the novel into different narrations left the reader begging for more of another character's thoughts. If I had to describe Auster's style with one word I would use brilliant. His words flow out onto pages which almost forces the reader into another mode of reading. Auster's intended audience would be anyone who is mature enough to appreciate the beauty of his brilliant, yet disturbing novel. I recommend caution to anyone who reads this novel: do not judge the book until you have read the entire novel. The title of this novel truly reflects a major element of Invisible. One of the biggest themes in this book is love and the other memories. After the end of the novel I found myself questioning what I had even read for the last 100 or so pages. The novel flows so quickly that by the end of reading it is easy to find yourself wondering what makes sense in the world. Were all Adam's, (the main character) thoughts true? Or were they just distorted thoughts from a twisted soul? The love relationships presented in this novel also reflect around an almost "invisible" theme. Afterall the most interesting part of this novel was the relationships between Adam and the other characters. The relationship between Adam and his sister was particularly haunting, but certainly keeps the reader on the edge of his or her seat. The other relationships in this novel were just as interesting, but they were presented in different ways which made them worth understanding. It would be impossible to pick the most exciting part of the novel because each part kept me excited in this book. Now that I am done reading it, it is easy for me to appreciate Auster's work fully. His characters, the setting, the narrations all contributed to the greatness of his novel. The way the story ended was arguably one of the better endings of great novels. The conflicted information presented throughout the novel sums together at the end of the novel to leave the reader what in the world happened. The ending was enchanting, and left the reader begging for more to read, which in my opinion, is the best way to end a superb novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    don't waste your time

    not worth the paper it's printed on!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Recommended

    The author's style of the book is certainly a unique one. The book is broken down into four individual parts, and not broken down into chapters. Each of the four parts is told in a new perspective by a new person. This adds depth and detail to the book as you get to read about the four different sides. Also, the book does not use quotation marks to show a person speaking. Each time someone speaks it becomes its own new paragraph in regular sentence form. One of the more interesting parts of the book was how Adam coped with the death of his little brother. Adam's little brother was six years old and drowned in a lake due to his inability to swim. After this incidence Adam's family started to deteriorate. Through all of the grievances Adam found himself closer to his sister. They escaped all of the problems in the family by being with each other. One night through it all, some sexual play occurred between the two. Adam and Gwyn only seem to be happy with they are with each other. One of the most exciting parts of the book is when Born murdered Cedric Williams. Adam and Born were walking down a down road when approached by a young boy asking them for their money. Born suddenly pulls out a pocket knife and stabs Cedric in the stomach. Cedric was still alive so Adam ran to the phone booth up the road to call for help, but when he came back both Born and Cedric were gone. The next day Cedric's body was found at the local park with over a dozen knife stabs in his stomach. Adam received a threat note from Born, which made Adam hesitant to turn Born into the police. After one week, he decided to but it was already too late, Born had escaped back to France. This incident affects Adam for the rest of his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I think that the author created this book for mature teenagers and up. Some of the context is not appropriate for younger children. There are a lot of sexual references that are for mature audiences. I think the title is peculiar for the book, yet it is just right. It shows how someone can come into Adam's life and become invisible, yet, he is an extremely prominent figure in his life. Even though he is not present in Adam's life he is always there. It's like he is there, but invisible. I liked the ending. I think it tied everything together really well with all of the different perspectives. However,I wish Margot's perspective would have been included in the book. The most interesting part of the book was the way it was broken up into the different points of view. That added great dimension to the book and kept it interesting. The most exiting part of the book was when Borne just kind of ran off after the murder he committed. Then he just kind of randomly disappears. It was very suprising and I did not see that coming at all. I did not think he would kill that boy and then just run off. It creates the story because that incident affects the rest of Adam's life. I would describe the author's style as fresh and interesting. There was never a dull moment in the book, and everything tied together well with elements of suprise at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Amazingly Compelling

    This book takes your mind to places that you may have delved but not for long. The book provides a basis for thinking of events so horrid on one sense and titillating and even compelling on another. This was the first book I have read by this author and it has made me seek out other writings of his. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thoughtfully structured, Invisible is just the kind of brain candy that a true reader craves.

    The story itself is simple. Adam Walker is dying. Before doing so, he decides to share his life story with an acquaintance from his years at Columbia. Jim, who has agreed to read the story and provide feedback where needed, is given the story in parts.

    The first part is innocent enough. It's where Adam meets Rudolf Barn and Rudolf's mysterious girlfriend, Margot. The couple takes an immediate liking to Adam. The relationship is complicated in that Rudolf has offered Adam a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.to start-up a magazine. This is an offer that Adam cannot refuse, but wait. there is an attraction to Margot. That's where it gets complicated.

    As Adam's story is delivered in parts, Jim is not sure what to think. The story centers around a violent act, incest and these rather eccentric characters. What at first appears to be Adam's life story, sort of morphs into what Jim thinks might be fiction or fantasy, but he can't be sure, so he does a bit of his own research to find out.

    Invisible is complicated in structure.there are multiple narrators, passages told in flashbacks, etc. However, it's not a difficult read. In fact, it's quite short for a novel and goes quite quickly, but there's something about it that piques the senses. Auster's use of language is admirable, but his ability to keep you slightly on the edge of your seat is what I enjoyed the most. This is not a mystery or thriller by any means but when he touches on incest I was like, "What? Did he just go there?" Yes, he goes there and gives you just enough to be utterly creeped out and disturbed and then pulls back to allow you a moment of reprieve.

    It's that delicate use of tension that pulls you in. I found myself hanging on every word. At times, it reminded me of The Talented Mr. Ripley. There's the larger than life Born, the sexual tension, the lure of adventure. It's packed with ambiguity, yet when you finish the novel, you somehow know how things turn out. When I finished it, I immediately wanted to read it again. Not because things were not clear, but because it's just that kind of novel. It's multi-layered and complex but in the best possible way.

    You should know that there are some sex scenes that could be considered graphic. However, it's the incest that will most likely disturb you the most, if you happen to be sensitive to that sort of thing. I am usually not, but there was one point where I remember squirming a bit in my seat. That said, I quickly got over it and felt that Auster's handling of that particular scene was quite well done. If you enjoy sophisticated fiction and complex structure, you will definitely enjoy Invisible. It is one of my favorites for 2010.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    The Borderline between Memoir and Fiction

    In 1967, Adam Walker was a student at Columbia, an aspiring poet, when he meets a visiting professor of International Affairs, Rudolf Born, and his French girlfriend Margot at a party. They start a friendship, and Born offers to hire Walker to start a new literary magazine. This comes to a sudden halt when Born commits an act of violence and Walker refuses to cover it up. Born flees the country to his native France. Margot had preceded him there, after their relationship had ended, after she and Walker had a brief affair and Born announced that he was marrying a French woman. Walker then travels to Paris for a semester abroad, where he meets up again with Margot and Born.
    This story is told primarily through a memoir being written by Walker in the present day, where he is dying of cancer. He sends two chapters of his manuscript to an old college buddy he had not been in contact with since those days. Some other details of the story are told by two other players in Walker's story.
    What we are presented with raises questions about the borderline between memoir and fiction. How much can we trust what each of the characters in this story says about their life and motives? The story itself is an interesting one, and the book is a very quick read. At just over 300 pages it was easily completed on the quiet weekend that devoted to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    Unsatisfying

    After reading "Moon Palace" years ago, I keep picking up Auster's newest books and reading them. They consistently disappoint me. Maybe I just don't get them. He's a skillful writer, and he keeps you intrigued, but ultimately he does not satisfy. Reading his novels is like having great sex... that you fail to have an orgasm at the end of.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3