BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Invisible Bridge

Average Rating 4
( 440 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

WW2 historical fiction masterpiece!

This novel takes place in Paris and Hungary between 1936 and the end of WW2. It is the story of two devoted Hungarian brothers, their families and friends, and the love of one of those brothers for an older woman. The story is full of suspense, grace, survival and sac...
This novel takes place in Paris and Hungary between 1936 and the end of WW2. It is the story of two devoted Hungarian brothers, their families and friends, and the love of one of those brothers for an older woman. The story is full of suspense, grace, survival and sacrifice without the melodrama that often accompanies a novel with these themes.

It is beautifully written and so well-researched that I had to keep reminding myself that it was fiction. The novel had a sepia-toned feel and was haunting but uplifting. I think it will make an excellent book club choice; there is much to be discussed. I loved it and will recommend it to everyone I know.

posted by BookHussy on May 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best Books I have ever read!!!!

The Invisible Bridge is an Epic Novel moving through Paris and Hungary. I can't get the charachters out of my mind like they were friends of mine that I have known all my life. I could not put this book down and when I just had to finish to see how it ends, I stayed up...
The Invisible Bridge is an Epic Novel moving through Paris and Hungary. I can't get the charachters out of my mind like they were friends of mine that I have known all my life. I could not put this book down and when I just had to finish to see how it ends, I stayed up until 1:30 in the morning just to finish. I cried a few times because I felt I knew the characters and their struggles. A definite read. And by the end, you will have learned more and you will want to add seeing Budepest to your bucket list. Amazing!!!!

posted by Reader-GirlMD on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    Hard to Put Down!

    On my nook, I'm currently reading an amazing book called "The Invisible Bridge" by Julie Orringer. The problem is, I have a hard time putting it down, so it's on my bedside table, and I read it before going to bed each night, which actually has done wonders for helping to put me to sleep (can't say much for the staying asleep bit). It's a very fluid novel, save some of the parts that go into architectural mumbo jumbo that I just sort of breeze by. The focus of the novel is a Jewish gent from Budapest who heads to Paris for architectural school in pre-war times. He rallies around a group of Jewish fellows, falls for a mysterious woman with a scarred past, and eventually ends up back in Budapest (which is where I am now, and I still have a ton left to read, so I have no idea what's going to happen, so no worries about spoilers). The narrative and dialogue are brilliantly written, very period appropriate, and my only beef with the novel, as I said, is the random tangents on architectural stuff (also, sometimes the Jewishly peppered stuff seems forced). So, I know he's in architectural school and that the goings on at the Ecole d'Especial is very important, but the detail is a little obnoxious at times. I'm sort of mesmerized, however, with Orringer's attention to detail, and I'm really mystified as to where this novel is going, what with the war having started and me still having half the book left to read. The characters are so vivid, I feel like I'm walking the streets of Paris with them, eating at the same bars as them, and smelling the fresh bread they're purchasing. Pick this up, stat.

    (Note: I wrote this about 100 pages short of the end -- my sentiment stands: READ THIS STAT!)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Loved it, didn't want it to end.

    Enjoyed this book very much! Loved the characters and felt very much that I was involved in their lives. This book draws some very poignant conclusions about life, and human nature that make reading it very memorable. Its a love story, but if you look past that (if your not into them) , its a very good historical presentation of the time with more than the obvious message.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    An engaging read

    This was more and less than I expected. The details and situations made me want to find out more about the circumstances of the war. Being of Hungarian descent, but not a speaker of the language, I could identify with some of the foods and customs, but think an outsider might find the excess information cumbersome. I had difficulty accepting the connection of the two major characters, but the action held my attention and compelled me to keep reading until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Unique insight into the experience of Hungarian Jews in WWII

    I really liked this book for the story and insight into the plight of Hungarian Jews, which most of us know little about. The characters and story were a little too romantic and idealized for me, but the overall book was very compelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Good Read

    If you liked "Sarah's Key," you will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Great Book

    While painful, this book is an account of events at the beginning of the The 2nd World War and The Holocaust. If you love historical fiction, this is a not to be missed reading experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Wonderful Story

    It will take you through many ups and downs, jerk your heartstrings and show you a great story of human triumph.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    Awesome

    Incredible book! I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Definiately a must read!

    I found this book to be extemely well written and it held particular interest for me since my own family went through these things in Hungary during the war. The sufferings of the Levi family in Ms. Orringer's novel was true history multiplied by the hundreds of thousands of Jews in Hungary who were abused and murdered by Hitler and his Nazi thugs. Definately held my interest from beginning to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great story

    This was one of my favorite reads of the last couple of years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    How

    How many pages does this book have?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    Beautiful writing and characters

    This author paints very vivid pictures with her pen. Understanding her characters, empathizing with them, seeing through their eyes is all very easily accomplished with her words as guides. The story is heartbreaking and unforgettable. Loved it and will go back and read anything else that she has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6