Customer Reviews for

The Invisible Bridge

Average Rating 4
( 438 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

WW2 historical fiction masterpiece!

This novel takes place in Paris and Hungary between 1936 and the end of WW2. It is the story of two devoted Hungarian brothers, their families and friends, and the love of one of those brothers for an older woman. The story is full of suspense, grace, survival and sac...
This novel takes place in Paris and Hungary between 1936 and the end of WW2. It is the story of two devoted Hungarian brothers, their families and friends, and the love of one of those brothers for an older woman. The story is full of suspense, grace, survival and sacrifice without the melodrama that often accompanies a novel with these themes.

It is beautifully written and so well-researched that I had to keep reminding myself that it was fiction. The novel had a sepia-toned feel and was haunting but uplifting. I think it will make an excellent book club choice; there is much to be discussed. I loved it and will recommend it to everyone I know.

posted by BookHussy on May 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best Books I have ever read!!!!

The Invisible Bridge is an Epic Novel moving through Paris and Hungary. I can't get the charachters out of my mind like they were friends of mine that I have known all my life. I could not put this book down and when I just had to finish to see how it ends, I stayed up...
The Invisible Bridge is an Epic Novel moving through Paris and Hungary. I can't get the charachters out of my mind like they were friends of mine that I have known all my life. I could not put this book down and when I just had to finish to see how it ends, I stayed up until 1:30 in the morning just to finish. I cried a few times because I felt I knew the characters and their struggles. A definite read. And by the end, you will have learned more and you will want to add seeing Budepest to your bucket list. Amazing!!!!

posted by Reader-GirlMD on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 221 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Could not put it down!

    Excellent read, real characters! My top summer book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Excellent read

    This is a well-written novel that takes place in wwll Hungary. The characters are wonderful.If you are a fan of historical fiction/love story this is for you! Ill definitely read the other novels by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoyed this book - the story advanced over several years and the characters were written with such richness. One of the best of 2011!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    A GEM OF A BOOK

    I bought this book and could not stop reading. The author kept me mesmerized from page 1. Very thought provoking as well as a beautiful story of family loyalty.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Awesone

    An incredible story with characters with depth. I couldnt put it down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    Not your typical WWII novel

    Great Read! I loved the plot line and the weaving of characters personalities throughout the story. This novel is different from other WWII novels because it doesn't throw you right into the middle of the Holocaust. It starts off well before everything turns sour. I won't say too much more for fear of spoiling it, but it isn't the stereotypical Holocaust/Concentration Camp story line but looks at another country's affects brought on by Hitlers Reich.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Great Story

    Often people don't think about the reach WWII had and the events that ran up to it. This book helped bring those events to life. So much is forgotten about the horrible laws that led up to the Holocaust, and the countries that imposed them. Very sad and thought provoking, a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Just amazing

    What a wonderful read. I was sad to have it end. It was just amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Yhbhh

    Cool

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    A book to remember about a time never forgotten

    Looking for a different story? This is told by a protagonist who is an outsider looking-in: a Hungarian Jew in pre-WW II Paris. One travels with him as he enters school, falls in love and learns the cruelties of war. Get past the first 100 pages and you won't want to put the rest down. This book stays with you long after you've read the last line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Historical Fiction

    A long book but well worth the read. Excellent character development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Excellent

    I read this book in two days - couldn't put it down. You become completely lost in the characters and their lives. I became angry, laughed, and cried with the characters. This is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    One of the best books I've read this year and I read a book every two weeks.

    This is a page turner. Heartbreaking, powerful - A love story - not only between husband and wife but also family and friends. One you won't forget.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Excellent Story

    I love historical fiction and this book is one the best I've read. The author has a very graceful way of writing. Though the book was not filled with exciting moments it was hard to put down and held the reader's interest. I think it dragged just a little bit at the end, but all in all an excellent story encompassing many facets of the history of WWII in Hungary. I highly recommend adding it to your library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Best book ever!

    I was truly amazed at the depth of characters and history brought to life in a way that I was rejoicing and crying with the fate of the Levi family. I will highly recommend this book to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Best book I ever read!

    This was the longest,shortest book I've read. I couldn't waite to pick it up and start reading but was affraid of what was about to happen next, knowing some of the history of WWII. I will tell anyone who loves a story,to feel like they're living a part of history,to please read this book.I'm a daughter of WWII.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    Won't Disappoint

    Outstanding Book! Excellent development of characters and the plot moved to keep one's interest. It is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I laughed and I cried

    No matter how many times I read a book about the Holocaust I never fail to be shocked and moved to tears. But through the articles of a humorous newspaper the main character writes while he was in the labor camps, I also laughed out loud. The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer is the tale of three Hungarian-Jewish brothers, each with their own unique artistic talents, whose dreams were derailed as Hitler ravaged through Europe. Prior to the war, Andras Lévi, the main character, travels to Paris since he was unable to study architecture in his own country due to Jewish quotas. In Paris, he excels at school and falls in love with a woman in exile. When his visa expires and he must return to Hungary, his life becomes unrecognizable. He tries to make the best of his circumstances as he searches for meaning in what his life has become. This is an excellent book for a book club. Several issues that can be discussed include the differences among the classes, control over one's destiny, as well as the role of coincidence and chance. Whether for a book club or not, I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    extraordinary book

    storytelling at its finest: strong characters; truly gives insight to the time period; unbelievable descriptions; great story and such magic with words. Yes, I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    A masterpiece. 

    A masterpiece. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 221 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12