Customer Reviews for

Invisible Eden: A Story of Love and Murder on Cape Cod

Average Rating 2
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bleh!

    The story might very well have been good if written by a better writer who could give enough details and plot to keep it interesting. It was excruciating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Boring waste of money

    Boring .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    If you like the 'Styles' section, you'll love this book

    If she hadn't had money and hadn't written well for WWD, we would have never had read of this very troubled woman whose problems are otherwise unremarkable in both sexes of every station in life.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    a weird book

    This author seems to switch from vulgar to prudent and back again at the drop of a hat. also, she makes constant idolatrous reference to WASPs as if they are superior to the rest of the poor humans on the earth -- im 3/4 done and sorry i started it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Dissapointing

    I was excited to read this book and was disappointed once I started. The book was monotonous and tiresome. Flook repeated herself so many times..... I feel that justice was not done for the character. It was poorly written and did not portray characters acurately. There was too much history about the Cape and not enough details about the crime and the crime scene. I found it a struggle to complete...and once I did I was releived it was over.....truly disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Big disappointment

    I was intrigued by the murder mystery of Christa Worthington when I first heard about it on the news and was anticipating reading this book. What a big disappointment it turned out to be. I found it so hard to get through this book, it was almost like a chore. I finally put it down about a third of the way through. The author repeats herself so much and goes on about the history of Cape Cod and it's settlers. Who cares?? I wanted to read about the investigation into the murder, I didn't need a history lesson. This was one of the worst books I've picked up in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    True Grime

    Hastily produced and apparently unedited, 'Invisible Eden' is a smirking, gossip-driven account of the murder of fashion-writer Christa Worthington. The facts of the murder and its stalled investigation are gripping, but author Maria Flook treats these details as mere asides. Instead, Flook spends most of the book¿s 400 pages drooling over the victim¿s sexual history, pausing only to ridicule various real-life residents of outer Cape Cod (they¿re a remarkably venal, lustful and stupid lot, if Flook can be believed). Even the book¿s nominal hero, Cape and Islands Assistant D.A. Michael O¿Keefe, is skewered¿ turns out, according to Flook, he¿s a hyper-macho sexist as much inclined to blame the victim as to pursue the killer. Only local homme fatale Tony Jackett escapes Flook¿s derision: ¿Each day,¿ Flook simpers, ¿almost as soon as [Jackett] has rinsed his razor, his brimming testosterone gives him a blue chin by lunchtime.¿ This not-quite sentence isn¿t the book¿s worst sin against the prose gods. In one of several passages about Worthington¿s college classmates, Flook writes: ¿Some of these Vassar women were well adjusted, but others bristled at being face-to-face with decisions they had once made and had tried to ignore were permanent.¿ Such sentence-level flubs abound, as do misspellings of the undergraduate, spell-check variety: ¿pedaled¿ is rendered as ¿peddled¿ half a dozen times, and so on. There are other problems as well¿anecdotes are repeated, the book¿s central metaphors are relentlessly flogged. Was the rush to print so urgent that Broadway Books chose to forego even the most superficial proofreading process? Were there so many problems, Flook¿s (heavily medicated? Dyslexic?) editor simply threw in the towel? As bad as the proofreading meltdown is, it¿s nothing compared to the book¿s larger, structural issues. Flook can¿t decide if the tone should be lyrical/literary, or ¿hard-boiled¿ and factual: one minute she¿s a Truman Capote ¿wannabe¿ (a favorite word of Flook¿s), the next she¿s posing as a tough-talking crime reporter. Worse yet, neither mode seems to work: attempts at lyricism tend to collapse under the weight of preposterous tropes (¿¿the safe haven of childhood dissolved like Kleenex in a glass of water¿), while the more ¿journalistic¿ passages are devoted to breathless, tabloid-style discussions of the victim's sex life. In the end, one feels a certain embarrassment for Flook, who can¿t seem to create a voice for Worthington that¿s distinct from her own, can¿t help inserting herself into the sexual drama (O¿Keefe, she claims, makes a pass at her), and insists on talking about her own romantic failures, as though such banal confessions might somehow inform the story of Christa Worthington¿s brutal murder. The circumstances of Worthington's death are tragic, and deserve a comprehensive, dispassionate, respectful telling. Unfortunately, ¿Invisible Eden¿ isn¿t it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    The Worst Summer Book I've Read

    Invisible Eden is the worst 'summer book' I've read, and I'm a librarian so I've read some awful books. The author is a snob and can not remove herself from Christa's story. She overuses metaphors in a sophomoric way and uses words only a Junior English major would use. The story doesn't flow and is filled with useless information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1