Customer Reviews for

Invisible Life: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Writer Dazzles in Every Way

E. Lynn Harris does an amazingly skillful job addressing the most sensitive and complex issues within the black gay community very well. In each of his books, he is able to effortlessly entertain and educate at the same time and deliver such a fine narrative that flows...
E. Lynn Harris does an amazingly skillful job addressing the most sensitive and complex issues within the black gay community very well. In each of his books, he is able to effortlessly entertain and educate at the same time and deliver such a fine narrative that flows as beautifully as he writes. His characters shine with much intelligence, charm, wit, and sophistication, and they are truly believable. Readers are bound to be drawn to Raymond Tyler, his younger brother Kirby, and they may come to both love and loathe John "Basil" Henderson. One is never disappointed with a novel that E. Lynn Harris has written with such unsparing elegance, lyricism, and an original style that remains so fresh and contemporary. Pick up a E. Lynn Harris book and you will become mesmerized like his multitude of fans!

posted by Writergeek on February 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Boring as Hell

I was excited to read this book when I checked it out. It started out kinda good than it just got plain ridiculous a man who was once straight moves to new york and doesnt know what the his sexuality is, that was foolish I understand he had a sexual experience with anot...
I was excited to read this book when I checked it out. It started out kinda good than it just got plain ridiculous a man who was once straight moves to new york and doesnt know what the his sexuality is, that was foolish I understand he had a sexual experience with another man but he just isolated himself from people. This book was just not what I was expected it to be. This man lived a very boring life.Also I did not like the fact when Raymond's friend Kelvin gave Candace AIDS she excepted it like it was cancer. I understand that this author he is trying to spread the message about AIDS. but please don't treat AIDS like a disease that is aceptable for a dying woman to except who got it from her gay husband. Sorry AIDS is devestating and its not cancer. Thank goodness I did not purchase this book.

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Writer Dazzles in Every Way

    E. Lynn Harris does an amazingly skillful job addressing the most sensitive and complex issues within the black gay community very well. In each of his books, he is able to effortlessly entertain and educate at the same time and deliver such a fine narrative that flows as beautifully as he writes. His characters shine with much intelligence, charm, wit, and sophistication, and they are truly believable. Readers are bound to be drawn to Raymond Tyler, his younger brother Kirby, and they may come to both love and loathe John "Basil" Henderson. One is never disappointed with a novel that E. Lynn Harris has written with such unsparing elegance, lyricism, and an original style that remains so fresh and contemporary. Pick up a E. Lynn Harris book and you will become mesmerized like his multitude of fans!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Boring as Hell

    I was excited to read this book when I checked it out. It started out kinda good than it just got plain ridiculous a man who was once straight moves to new york and doesnt know what the his sexuality is, that was foolish I understand he had a sexual experience with another man but he just isolated himself from people. This book was just not what I was expected it to be. This man lived a very boring life.Also I did not like the fact when Raymond's friend Kelvin gave Candace AIDS she excepted it like it was cancer. I understand that this author he is trying to spread the message about AIDS. but please don't treat AIDS like a disease that is aceptable for a dying woman to except who got it from her gay husband. Sorry AIDS is devestating and its not cancer. Thank goodness I did not purchase this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    MUST READ BOOK FOR OPEN MIND INDIVIDUALS

    This book introduces you to the various levels in which a man goes through in life. Starting with this book and onto the sequences which follows. I saw through someone else eyes things that happenned to me. It was so real reading about each character and the events that they encountered. Most people are in a denial state when trying to discover themselves. Invisible Life shows its reader how to come to grips with the real you and be happy with yourself. Do what makes you happy, don't do anything because its expected but you will only be miserable. I recommend this book to all of my family and friends. Once you read it you gonna buy the next book to read more about the character(s). Its a walk through life from college teenage years to adult hood. I hope you'll enjoy this as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    God loves everybody

    IT DOES NOT SAY GOD HATES GAY PEOPLE SO GET YOUR FREAKING FACTS ST8 YOU IMMATURE LITTLE BASTARD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This was a very good read. It shows the different views in the different lifestyles that we live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Overall a bit dull

    There was soo much dialogue it almost bored me to death...Very graphic and makes you take life or things that you can relate to into perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Listen

    One man + one woman equals correctness. God wants love relationships to be between one man and one woman

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Hey

    Being gay is a sin. God has decreed it and He is not changing his mind. Satan wants to ensnare your souls so that you get to share the eternal experince of damnation. Don't yield to Satan. Cleave unto God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Garbage

    God hates faggots

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Cfbcvfgff

    ydtvdhdjjgjh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Finally!!!!!!!

    I am brought to tears . E lynn Harris is in e-book forum now i can finally read them again and again...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the "Invisible Life" Series...

    These books are a must read for any and everyone. Love the characters Raymond and Basil! Loved reading about pro-athletes and their lives!! I loved theme and plot about the "Down Low"!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    a must read!!

    Great book!!! I loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    This is my first time reading something by E. Lynn Harris, but it definitely isn't my last time. I was extremely impressed, and upset with myself, that it's taken this long for me to read something of his!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    Captivating!

    I am ashamed to say that it has been too long since I have read a "whole" book. As a senior staff educator (in years of service only), I am often called on to speak, to review, to see what you think or to give us your opinion. So I skim, not taking in the entire essence of the expected reading material. But, it was so amazing that when I began to read Invisible Man, I could not put it down! I read the book from cover to cover in a couple days because of interruptions. Mr. Harris captured where a large number of Black men live and struggle everyday. The honesty and soul put into the writing was as none I have experienced in a long time. Just As I Am is my next conquest. THANKS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    ok i like read this book in like 4day but only becuz i was strechin it. like i knew there was a 2nd book and ididnt have so i didnt wnat to finish this one with out it so i just keep pushin it back. it took me like 3 hours 2 read the last chapter. and like sumbody else said . i didnt relaly like the last chapter. wat happened to QUINN i'm inluv with him. lol jk but old gurl wat her name, nicole. i dont likeher. she needs to b dropped from the novel. lol but i know she is in the other ones. rite??? idk i just say that evryone should read this novel. best book ever. cnat wiat to read the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    Bomb!!!

    I love this book because it gave me insight on the mind of a gay man!!!At first this was about just having sex with men on the down low, but this book takes on many streotypes and issues in the black and gay community like AIDS!!! REad it because not only because its good but because it was insightful!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    Must Read

    This book is very good, even though it makes you think if this is really happen in your life because there are lots of confused men out here today. But, it is a very good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2005

    outstanding...

    What more can be said. the characters are so real! The story is so real. some one some where in America, is living that invisible life... The readers on the audio book are awsome!!! If you haven't heard his book on tape, you're missing out on a treat...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    Somebody finally said it all!

    As an African-American, a lesbian and a writer, I found this book to be very refreshing. It's hard to find quality writing in books written about the gay lifestyle, but this book definitely takes the cake. I think this book could even be a great movie! E. Lynn Harris really touched on alot of subject matter within the gay community that really has never been written about in such a positive, candid way. His writing skills and style should both be commended, and his characters came to life right before my eyes. I finished the book in three days and was satisfied, but still eagerly wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5