Customer Reviews for

The Invisible Man

Average Rating 4
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

This book is the best book I have read!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is a man who wants to learn how to turn things invisible.He turns himself invisible,he has been living thi way forever.He is robbing to live his life.Some one is betraying him and telling what he does. What will happen to the invisible man!I recomend this book bec...
This is a man who wants to learn how to turn things invisible.He turns himself invisible,he has been living thi way forever.He is robbing to live his life.Some one is betraying him and telling what he does. What will happen to the invisible man!I recomend this book because it's mysterious and it's addicting!!!!!!!

posted by Mr_Porter on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting short story

The concept of invisibility has been the source of much theory and conjecture. If there was a way to bend light or to have a garment (or skin, as in the case of the Invisible Man), be able to reflect all colors of the visible spectrum, it could be used for good or evil...
The concept of invisibility has been the source of much theory and conjecture. If there was a way to bend light or to have a garment (or skin, as in the case of the Invisible Man), be able to reflect all colors of the visible spectrum, it could be used for good or evil. The story deals with the ramification of unique power and the use of that power. In the case of the Invisible Man, the main character is both brilliant and tragic. You find yourself asking what kind of path you would follow had you been in the Invisible Man's place. This was the first of many classic stories by H.G. Wells, and it is worth the read. I did find it a bit shorter than I would have liked, but Wells was never one to waste words. I still liked it, but not as much as his other works.

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    This book is the best book I have read!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a man who wants to learn how to turn things invisible.He turns himself invisible,he has been living thi way forever.He is robbing to live his life.Some one is betraying him and telling what he does. What will happen to the invisible man!I recomend this book because it's mysterious and it's addicting!!!!!!!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Dude

    I read the book in 3rd grade. But another really good book by H.G.Wells is The War of the Worlds. Try that one out. Its great.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    This book ISN'T invisible!

    Great book, awesome movie...
    Here we go gathering nuts in May...

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Amazing!!

    This book is very well written and kept me intrested the whole way through. I had read alot of reviews saying how boring it is but it is my personal opinion that this book is very much the opposite of boring. Definetly a great read. :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have to start out by saying I was sorely mistaken as to what I

    I have to start out by saying I was sorely mistaken as to what I thought this book (“The Invisible Man” by H. G. Wells) was about! Honestly, I thought it was more something like the adventures of an invisible man, light and humorous. Was I ever wrong!

    Maybe I should have gotten the hint that it wasn’t some happy-go-lucky story from the following:

    “He’s deadly. He’s insane. He’s standing beside you. And you won’t know – until he strikes. . .” – from the cover of my edition

    and . . .

    “. . . invisibility is good for one thing. . . creating terror. An invisible man can kill people. . .” – from the back cover of my edition

    Unfortunately in this case, I normally stay away from reading a synopsis for fear that the summary will give something away.

    “The Invisible Man” by H. G. Wells is a classic book published in 1899, so while it fulfills the requirement of a classic book from the 19th century for my Classics Challenge, besides that, I wasn’t impressed.

    “The Invisible Man” is a story about a man, Griffin, who is invisible and angry with the world. He realizes that if he wears clothing or eats, his clothing and food are seen. If he moves, he’s heard. So basically, an invisible man is good for causing terror and abuse. Thus, Griffin proceeds to cause terror and harm to the people in the story.

    I greatly disliked the invisible man, Griffin. He’s an evil character, but not even a villain you enjoy, like the Joker in Batman. He’s just ruthless, unfeeling, angry, selfish, and really rude to people.

    I recommend this book to people who want to read the classics, but I didn’t enjoy it myself. It’s a quick read, I just wasn’t a fan.

    I’d prefer to recommend “The Island of Dr. Moreau” by H. G. Wells if you are looking for a short classic by the same author. And although I disliked this book, I still have on my list, and will read another one of his books, “The Time Machine.”

    What are your thoughts on “The Invisible Man” and H. G. Wells as an author? Go to my LoveAtFirstBook blog and tell me what you think!

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Classic In H. G. Wells' classic novel, a scientist turns himself

    Classic
    In H. G. Wells' classic novel, a scientist turns himself invisible and wreaks havoc in rural England. This book is a versatile classic because it could be read by someone who is young or who simply wants to read fluff, but it can also be appreciated by more careful readers who are looking for undercurrents of meaning. It's a tragi-farcical romp in 19th century England, but it's also a warning about what people might do simply because they can get away with it. This is a classic that anyone interested in science fiction should read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    Interesting short story

    The concept of invisibility has been the source of much theory and conjecture. If there was a way to bend light or to have a garment (or skin, as in the case of the Invisible Man), be able to reflect all colors of the visible spectrum, it could be used for good or evil. The story deals with the ramification of unique power and the use of that power. In the case of the Invisible Man, the main character is both brilliant and tragic. You find yourself asking what kind of path you would follow had you been in the Invisible Man's place. This was the first of many classic stories by H.G. Wells, and it is worth the read. I did find it a bit shorter than I would have liked, but Wells was never one to waste words. I still liked it, but not as much as his other works.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    A small clearing

    Fulled with small nuts and seeds. A stream also runs on the side filled with fish. The seeds and nuts draw about lots of prey.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    is a great read

    This book seemed to have that classic touch to it. It was one of those brilliant tales of a gifted scientist going mad over his experiments. My favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    best book ever

    good for teens and fun to read some bigh words but a good book buy it!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2015

    Alexei

    She yelped as someone fired a tranquilizer dart at her, dropping into unconsciousness.<p>{Yeah...Again, danke.}

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2015

    O.o

    Not funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2015

    Rohan

    ((Fu<_>ck you. I hate trolls. -_-))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2015

    Rohan

    Picks her up, running back to the main bunker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2015

    Great but hard

    The plot of the book was great but it was also very cunfusing at times when the narrator wiuld almost break off to talk about something. It was hard to follow and at times made me even tired. Though the plot was amazing and really portrayed the human mind in how things we think are great really arnt. It also shows how the mind can be so different when given the burden of being invisible when really it should be seen as a gift. Glad i read the book but a very hard read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Girl

    Doupt entered her mind with a click. The shot was wearing off. She blinked slowly before snapping to realization. She pushed the lady away and struggled toward the door. "Help!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Mistress

    She kept cu**ing, kissing her even deeper. Her hands played with Girl's nip<_>ples as she kissed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Master

    He was up in a flash, darting toward her and pinning her to the floor. He dragged her back and gave her an overdose, this one lasting all day. He strapped a choking collar onto her neck and shoved his di** deep into her. "Submit, child."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2015

    CLICK FOR NOOK FRIENDS!JOIN STAR CHAT

    G0 2:; ME TAWK FUNNY BY NEIL MCFARLANE 2 JOIN STAR CHAT A CHAT PLACE FOR EVERY ONE HOPE 2 C U THER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2015

    Great book.  No idea why it's being sold for 10 dollars though.

    Great book.  No idea why it's being sold for 10 dollars though.  It's literally free on other sites as the copyright has expired.  Do not pay money for it on your Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12