BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Invisible Man: A Grotesque Romance

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This book is the best book I have read!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is a man who wants to learn how to turn things invisible.He turns himself invisible,he has been living thi way forever.He is robbing to live his life.Some one is betraying him and telling what he does. What will happen to the invisible man!I recomend this book bec...
This is a man who wants to learn how to turn things invisible.He turns himself invisible,he has been living thi way forever.He is robbing to live his life.Some one is betraying him and telling what he does. What will happen to the invisible man!I recomend this book because it's mysterious and it's addicting!!!!!!!

posted by Mr_Porter on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I have to start out by saying I was sorely mistaken as to what I

I have to start out by saying I was sorely mistaken as to what I thought this book (“The Invisible Man” by H. G. Wells) was about! Honestly, I thought it was more something like the adventures of an invisible man, light and humorous. Was I ever wrong!

Maybe I should ...
I have to start out by saying I was sorely mistaken as to what I thought this book (“The Invisible Man” by H. G. Wells) was about! Honestly, I thought it was more something like the adventures of an invisible man, light and humorous. Was I ever wrong!

Maybe I should have gotten the hint that it wasn’t some happy-go-lucky story from the following:

“He’s deadly. He’s insane. He’s standing beside you. And you won’t know – until he strikes. . .” – from the cover of my edition

and . . .

“. . . invisibility is good for one thing. . . creating terror. An invisible man can kill people. . .” – from the back cover of my edition

Unfortunately in this case, I normally stay away from reading a synopsis for fear that the summary will give something away.

“The Invisible Man” by H. G. Wells is a classic book published in 1899, so while it fulfills the requirement of a classic book from the 19th century for my Classics Challenge, besides that, I wasn’t impressed.

“The Invisible Man” is a story about a man, Griffin, who is invisible and angry with the world. He realizes that if he wears clothing or eats, his clothing and food are seen. If he moves, he’s heard. So basically, an invisible man is good for causing terror and abuse. Thus, Griffin proceeds to cause terror and harm to the people in the story.

I greatly disliked the invisible man, Griffin. He’s an evil character, but not even a villain you enjoy, like the Joker in Batman. He’s just ruthless, unfeeling, angry, selfish, and really rude to people.

I recommend this book to people who want to read the classics, but I didn’t enjoy it myself. It’s a quick read, I just wasn’t a fan.

I’d prefer to recommend “The Island of Dr. Moreau” by H. G. Wells if you are looking for a short classic by the same author. And although I disliked this book, I still have on my list, and will read another one of his books, “The Time Machine.”

What are your thoughts on “The Invisible Man” and H. G. Wells as an author? Go to my LoveAtFirstBook blog and tell me what you think!

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca

posted by RebeccaScaglione on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    This book is the best book I have read!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a man who wants to learn how to turn things invisible.He turns himself invisible,he has been living thi way forever.He is robbing to live his life.Some one is betraying him and telling what he does. What will happen to the invisible man!I recomend this book because it's mysterious and it's addicting!!!!!!!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Dude

    I read the book in 3rd grade. But another really good book by H.G.Wells is The War of the Worlds. Try that one out. Its great.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    This book ISN'T invisible!

    Great book, awesome movie...
    Here we go gathering nuts in May...

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Amazing!!

    This book is very well written and kept me intrested the whole way through. I had read alot of reviews saying how boring it is but it is my personal opinion that this book is very much the opposite of boring. Definetly a great read. :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have to start out by saying I was sorely mistaken as to what I

    I have to start out by saying I was sorely mistaken as to what I thought this book (“The Invisible Man” by H. G. Wells) was about! Honestly, I thought it was more something like the adventures of an invisible man, light and humorous. Was I ever wrong!

    Maybe I should have gotten the hint that it wasn’t some happy-go-lucky story from the following:

    “He’s deadly. He’s insane. He’s standing beside you. And you won’t know – until he strikes. . .” – from the cover of my edition

    and . . .

    “. . . invisibility is good for one thing. . . creating terror. An invisible man can kill people. . .” – from the back cover of my edition

    Unfortunately in this case, I normally stay away from reading a synopsis for fear that the summary will give something away.

    “The Invisible Man” by H. G. Wells is a classic book published in 1899, so while it fulfills the requirement of a classic book from the 19th century for my Classics Challenge, besides that, I wasn’t impressed.

    “The Invisible Man” is a story about a man, Griffin, who is invisible and angry with the world. He realizes that if he wears clothing or eats, his clothing and food are seen. If he moves, he’s heard. So basically, an invisible man is good for causing terror and abuse. Thus, Griffin proceeds to cause terror and harm to the people in the story.

    I greatly disliked the invisible man, Griffin. He’s an evil character, but not even a villain you enjoy, like the Joker in Batman. He’s just ruthless, unfeeling, angry, selfish, and really rude to people.

    I recommend this book to people who want to read the classics, but I didn’t enjoy it myself. It’s a quick read, I just wasn’t a fan.

    I’d prefer to recommend “The Island of Dr. Moreau” by H. G. Wells if you are looking for a short classic by the same author. And although I disliked this book, I still have on my list, and will read another one of his books, “The Time Machine.”

    What are your thoughts on “The Invisible Man” and H. G. Wells as an author? Go to my LoveAtFirstBook blog and tell me what you think!

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Classic In H. G. Wells' classic novel, a scientist turns himself

    Classic
    In H. G. Wells' classic novel, a scientist turns himself invisible and wreaks havoc in rural England. This book is a versatile classic because it could be read by someone who is young or who simply wants to read fluff, but it can also be appreciated by more careful readers who are looking for undercurrents of meaning. It's a tragi-farcical romp in 19th century England, but it's also a warning about what people might do simply because they can get away with it. This is a classic that anyone interested in science fiction should read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    Interesting short story

    The concept of invisibility has been the source of much theory and conjecture. If there was a way to bend light or to have a garment (or skin, as in the case of the Invisible Man), be able to reflect all colors of the visible spectrum, it could be used for good or evil. The story deals with the ramification of unique power and the use of that power. In the case of the Invisible Man, the main character is both brilliant and tragic. You find yourself asking what kind of path you would follow had you been in the Invisible Man's place. This was the first of many classic stories by H.G. Wells, and it is worth the read. I did find it a bit shorter than I would have liked, but Wells was never one to waste words. I still liked it, but not as much as his other works.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    A small clearing

    Fulled with small nuts and seeds. A stream also runs on the side filled with fish. The seeds and nuts draw about lots of prey.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    is a great read

    This book seemed to have that classic touch to it. It was one of those brilliant tales of a gifted scientist going mad over his experiments. My favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    best book ever

    good for teens and fun to read some bigh words but a good book buy it!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    What is with these people trying to act like they're cats in warriors?

    I came tp the review section to see how other people thought this book was not to see people act like cats from warriors you people really need to stop. It is seriously getting on my nerves and I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one who feels this way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Invisability revealed.

    Good story. Easy read that makes me want to go back and watch the movie I saw as a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2014

    Featherfur

    Noded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    PRETTY COOL

    Some if the things they say are hard to understand. But all in all it was pretty cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Whoa!!!!!!

    U can call me an idiot as much as u like because i didnt know the following statement but IDC.

    I had no idea there were Nooks in 2000!

    If you agree with this reply to Blaconhooper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Is there any sane person here?!

    Can someone please please please tell me their opinion of this book? Not someone that's doing stupid cat warrior roleplays... there's a reason we have chat rooms! I've heard from my friend that this book is quite good and I am a fan of other H. G. Wells and Jules Verne works. Reply to Bibliophile15... Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Fire

    May ijoin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    To catnappers

    Can u go cat nap rain at ethics shes human/cat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Wolf eyes

    Watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Black

    Hello Red, Grey, Fire?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11