BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Invisible Man: A Grotesque Romance

Average Rating 4
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This book is the best book I have read!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is a man who wants to learn how to turn things invisible.He turns himself invisible,he has been living thi way forever.He is robbing to live his life.Some one is betraying him and telling what he does. What will happen to the invisible man!I recomend this book bec...
This is a man who wants to learn how to turn things invisible.He turns himself invisible,he has been living thi way forever.He is robbing to live his life.Some one is betraying him and telling what he does. What will happen to the invisible man!I recomend this book because it's mysterious and it's addicting!!!!!!!

posted by Mr_Porter on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I have to start out by saying I was sorely mistaken as to what I

I have to start out by saying I was sorely mistaken as to what I thought this book (“The Invisible Man” by H. G. Wells) was about! Honestly, I thought it was more something like the adventures of an invisible man, light and humorous. Was I ever wrong!

Maybe I should ...
I have to start out by saying I was sorely mistaken as to what I thought this book (“The Invisible Man” by H. G. Wells) was about! Honestly, I thought it was more something like the adventures of an invisible man, light and humorous. Was I ever wrong!

Maybe I should have gotten the hint that it wasn’t some happy-go-lucky story from the following:

“He’s deadly. He’s insane. He’s standing beside you. And you won’t know – until he strikes. . .” – from the cover of my edition

and . . .

“. . . invisibility is good for one thing. . . creating terror. An invisible man can kill people. . .” – from the back cover of my edition

Unfortunately in this case, I normally stay away from reading a synopsis for fear that the summary will give something away.

“The Invisible Man” by H. G. Wells is a classic book published in 1899, so while it fulfills the requirement of a classic book from the 19th century for my Classics Challenge, besides that, I wasn’t impressed.

“The Invisible Man” is a story about a man, Griffin, who is invisible and angry with the world. He realizes that if he wears clothing or eats, his clothing and food are seen. If he moves, he’s heard. So basically, an invisible man is good for causing terror and abuse. Thus, Griffin proceeds to cause terror and harm to the people in the story.

I greatly disliked the invisible man, Griffin. He’s an evil character, but not even a villain you enjoy, like the Joker in Batman. He’s just ruthless, unfeeling, angry, selfish, and really rude to people.

I recommend this book to people who want to read the classics, but I didn’t enjoy it myself. It’s a quick read, I just wasn’t a fan.

I’d prefer to recommend “The Island of Dr. Moreau” by H. G. Wells if you are looking for a short classic by the same author. And although I disliked this book, I still have on my list, and will read another one of his books, “The Time Machine.”

What are your thoughts on “The Invisible Man” and H. G. Wells as an author? Go to my LoveAtFirstBook blog and tell me what you think!

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca

posted by RebeccaScaglione on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Dude

    I read the book in 3rd grade. But another really good book by H.G.Wells is The War of the Worlds. Try that one out. Its great.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    This book ISN'T invisible!

    Great book, awesome movie...
    Here we go gathering nuts in May...

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Classic In H. G. Wells' classic novel, a scientist turns himself

    Classic
    In H. G. Wells' classic novel, a scientist turns himself invisible and wreaks havoc in rural England. This book is a versatile classic because it could be read by someone who is young or who simply wants to read fluff, but it can also be appreciated by more careful readers who are looking for undercurrents of meaning. It's a tragi-farcical romp in 19th century England, but it's also a warning about what people might do simply because they can get away with it. This is a classic that anyone interested in science fiction should read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    is a great read

    This book seemed to have that classic touch to it. It was one of those brilliant tales of a gifted scientist going mad over his experiments. My favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Invisability revealed.

    Good story. Easy read that makes me want to go back and watch the movie I saw as a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    PRETTY COOL

    Some if the things they say are hard to understand. But all in all it was pretty cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Whoa!!!!!!

    U can call me an idiot as much as u like because i didnt know the following statement but IDC.

    I had no idea there were Nooks in 2000!

    If you agree with this reply to Blaconhooper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Wolf eyes

    Watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    NOOOOO

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Help!!!!

    HOW DO YOU DELETE A NOOK BOOK?? THIS IS URGENT. SOMEONE HELP ME!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    ROOM THREE

    HERE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Cool for a summer reading for ahs 7th graders

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    In reply to the "reviews" nether:

    try Adderall, please :)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Rrally interesting

    This book was really suprising and good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Story of an Anti-Hero

    The Invis­i­ble Man by H.G. Wells is a sci­ence fic­tion clas­sic writ­ten in 1897. The novella was first seri­al­ized in Pearson’s Weeklythe same year it was published.

    Grif­fin is a sci­en­tist who devotes him­self to the field of optics. While work­ing in his research Grif­fin dis­cov­ers that he can change the body’s refrac­tive index to absorbs all light and reflect none, which makes him invisible.

    The sci­en­tist uses him­self as his first exper­i­men­ta­tion sub­ject but fails to reverse the process. After his friend betray him, Grif­fin decided to mur­der him and begins his own per­sonal “reign of terror”.

    What if what you con­sider a bless­ing is also a curse?
    The Invis­i­ble Man by H.G. Wells touches on this very same question.

    How many of us wouldn’t like to be invis­i­ble? That’s what the pro­tag­o­nist, Grif­fin, thought when he became invis­i­ble only to find it to be the bane of his exis­tence. Yes, there are some pos­i­tives aspects but H.G. Wells con­cen­trates mostly on the neg­a­tive ones.

    I thought Wells did a good job build­ing up the eerie atmos­phere that is promi­nent through­out the story. Actu­ally, the atmos­phere is the star of the book as none of the char­ac­ters res­onated with me and the sto­ry­line, which mainly con­sisted of wreck­ing havoc for havoc’s sake, was not very inspired. The story itself is also quite funny, I thought and many of the scenes played in my mind as slapstick.

    How­ever, one could cer­tainly tell that Wells is a mas­ter sto­ry­teller and I find myself engrossed in the story for sev­eral chap­ters (mainly at the begin­ning and end). I also found the period details in the book very interesting.

    The Invis­i­ble Man is the ulti­mate story of an insane anti-hero, before insane anti-heroes became pop­u­lar. Grif­fin him­self becomes more and more pathetic as the story progress and from the com­i­cal start Wells moves away to a darker, sub­tle satire of small minds in small towns can be just as dan­ger­ous as any psychopath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Invisible Man

    The Invisible Man starts off a bit slow, but quickly gains speed as the man starts to go insane. This is a thrilling book, full of suspense, and reflects the way society treats people who are different, like the invisible man, even before he turns invisible. I would recommend this book to anyone who can stand the occasional big word and "old-fashiond" language that can be a bit confusing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Read This for a School Project

    I read 'The Invisible Man' by H. G. Wells and I absolutely loved it. I found this story interesting and loved it all the way through. It is a great classic book and I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Invisible greatness

    The invisible man is the story of a scientist with a horrible secret. He arrives at a small town inn and becomes the talk of the town. He turns his room into a lab and begins his experiments. When the invisible man runs out of money he begins to rob people and soon the inns owners call the police and that¿s when they learn his secret. He gets away from them and begins a search for his assistant. He finds a homeless man and makes the man his assistant. the man betrays him and steals his books. After that he finds an old friend begins his evil rampage. I really like this book because I love the idea of being invisible and being able to do what ever you want and no one could see you. I also like this book because at times it will make the reader wonder whether the invisible man is a good guy or a bad guy. Another reason I like this book is because everyone in the village thinks he¿s been in an accident or deformed or something and no one figures it out till he shows them. The one thing I dislike about the book is the switches between time but aside from that the book was great. the ending is really surprising and I would recommend this book to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    My Rewiew of the Invisible Man

    The Invisible Man, written by H.G. Wells, is an outstanding book. I give it a 4 out of 5. The characters in this book are amazing to read about. Especially the Invisible Man himself. Wells is a master at shaping the feelings and emotions of the characters. Mrs. Hall, caretaker of the inn, was not properly greeted one day by a man who showed no skin an all. He wore a hat and large blue sunglasses and kept his whole head covered by a white bandage. He also wore a tan overcoat and gloves so you could not see his feet or hands. He demanded that he would need a room and Ms Hall gave him one. The strange occurrences that happened throughout the book are too many to name, bt some were the 1001 bottles that the Invisible Man ordered to do tests and experiments to find out if he could reverse his invisibility, or the disturbing interview with the Invisible Man where the interviewer could see, or well, couldn't see under the cloak of secrecy where the Invisible Man hid. I will not give away the fantastic climax to this book so you will have to buy or check out a copy yourself and experience the fantastic story of the Invisible Man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2004

    This is the best of the H.G.Wells novels

    Personally, I'm not an H.G.Wells fan. I can't say that this book continues a legacy, but had anything half as decent followed, it could have started one. Witty, intriguing, captivating, well structured and organized; it's only major weakness is some lexical repetition that gets a bit tiring; also, it seems to drag on a bit at times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3