Customer Reviews for

Invisible Man (Modern Library Series)

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

To Be Seen

When I first began reading this book, I admit that it was almost overwhelming...so many pages. But as I continued I realized that the journey was necessary. It was a time that needed to be fully understood in all it's primal glory. Racism truly has permeated society. A ...
When I first began reading this book, I admit that it was almost overwhelming...so many pages. But as I continued I realized that the journey was necessary. It was a time that needed to be fully understood in all it's primal glory. Racism truly has permeated society. A great book and great read!

posted by Anonymous on September 1, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Really, NO Stars

Misleading. The abstract does not clarify if this is the real book or a "Cliff's Notes" issue. This is simply a Student synopsis for those who need assistance with the book. WHY have this avaiable if you do not sell the real eBook? Very disappointing.

posted by mrs_moo_2u on July 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great novel

    One of the best novels I've read to date

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Love it

    I have read and reread this book and get something new out of it every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Question

    How many pages?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Foundational America Novel

    One of the most entertaining but still profound American novels, "The Invisible Man" was good to read in my old age as it was in my youth. The humour is raw but subtle. The tragedy of racism never got better exposure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Highly recommended.

    Ralph Ellison has an excellent command of English.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Its an amazing book!

    I'm only an 8th grader but this is deffintly an amazing book and although the concepts of this book are kinda hard for me to grasp I deffinetly LOVE this book. Its one of the better books I've reas in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Invisible Man is Great!

    Invisible Man is a very good book that really changes your perspective on what African Americans were feeling at the time. I really like how this book shows how some Americans at the time did care about all people but some hated African Americans. I recommend this book to anyone who wants a first person account of how African Americans lived in the 1930s. I gave Invisible Man 4 out of 5 stars because of the truth it tells.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is awesome !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Anonymous

    The most helpful thing for book reports. It helps me with notes and the overall essay. Must Have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    love this book!

    this is one of my favorite books ever! so many deep statements are made about race and America, and many still apply today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More Than Great

    One of the best books every written. I had my college students read it. No matter your race, this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended

    Someday this will be considered a classic. It is a well-told story although i admit I had no idea the sadness of the tale I was about to read, the title does not lend itself to this type of book! But worth the read for anyone who wants to think and feel about our world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    One of the best books i read

    Invisible Man by Ellison is a really great book.It talks about racism and how people got treated in the old days. I recomend this book for anyone because they would love it just like i did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Good book to read even for beginners

    To tell you the truth I havent read many books but the books I have read do not even come close to touching this book on a knowledge level. This book will teach you alot of things that you probably wouldnt know about unless you were just crazy about past race relations. Very good comprehinsive text, not hard to follow what so ever. Love this book... Read it you wont be sorry...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    great book

    this is the second time that i have read this book. However, this book has great power, the power to take your imagination and understanding of african american history into a whole new understanding. this book is great for anyone interest in race relations and the knowledge of the past. this book i thought was better understood when i read it for the second time, when reading again i caught some things that i missed the first time. great book highly recommendend for anyone interested........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    Remarkable !!!

    I thought that this book was a very powerful book. Ralap Ellison really done a great job on the way he protrayed the narrator in this book.He should how we can sometime ask other people question that you and only you can answer. All in all I love the book and it has some great themes that you can carry with you through out life. You will not be disapointed. It is truly a phenomeal book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    'Invisible man'

    Ralph Ellison¿s life was always very complicated he was always looking for himself and asking everyone except himself questions that only he would know, he states that he finally figure that he is an invisible man, not because of a biochemical accident, but for the fact that people just refuse to see him. He lived a racial life, which for him was a nightmare journey, he always remember his dead grandfather message that followed him through high school and his entire life. He travel from the south to Harlem from a terrible ¿battle royal¿ where black folks use to be force to fight to entertain white people, he finally gets a scholarship and goes to college , he first faced with the disillusionment which will overcome him by the end. He is kicked out of college and not able to get a job to support himself and had to face many problems. I really like this book, because even though I¿m not an African American I really enjoy history and this book shows very clear and with details about problems between blacks and whites during the depression era. I like that the language was very simple but very explanatory, and also the book is not boring because it has a little bit of fun moments where I actually laugh. I would recommend this book to everybody even people that don¿t usually like to read, because I have to say that I¿m one of them. I usually look for ways so I don¿t have to read but this time I actually enjoyed this book, and I think this would lead me to try to read other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    Brilliant!

    I thought this book was awesome! It is the best book I've read in a while about the problems between blacks and whites during the Depression Era. It's kind of cool, too, because the main character's name is never revealed throughout the entire book. Ralph Ellison takes the reader on a journey through the eyes of a young , black man. There is mystery, friendship, betrayal, etc. I definitely recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    very powerful book

    ME BEING AN AFRICAN AMERICAN THIS BOOK MEANS A LOT TO ME AND IT LETS ME UNDERSTAND AND IM ABLE TO FIND MYSELF MORE AND KNOW MY PLACE IN THE WORLD THE BOOK IS SO POWERFUL IT'S A MUST READ AND IT'S SO GOOD I COULD READ IT OVER AND OVER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Awesome Book

    After completing the book the Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison, i would definately recommend this book. It has an interesting story as is about a black man whos trying to find his individuality in this world. He comes out in the white world and finds himself invisible. I would definately recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11